Elections Canada logo
Site menu

Registering and Voting in a Federal Election

Interested in helping your community members get ready for the next federal election?

Here are steps you can follow to help your community learn about registering and voting in a federal election.

Let us help you help your community!

Registering and Voting
in a Federal Election (PDF)

Inspire Democracy

Inspire Democracy is an Elections Canada program. It's designed to help community organizers spread the word about taking part in federal elections.

The Inspire Democracy program helps reduce information barriers by providing tools to engaged community members, such as you. In this way, Canadians can learn from people in their own communities.

This guide is part of our third toolkit. Two more toolkits are available to help you inform your communities about participating in federal elections:

All three toolkits are found on the Inspire Democracy website.

Overview

Elections are important: when you vote, you choose the person who will represent you in the federal government. This person will make decisions that affect you and your community. By actively participating in the electoral process and by sharing information about elections, your community's needs can be better represented.

As a community organizer, you have a role to play in getting your community members ready for the next federal election. We know that this election if called during the pandemic will be different from previous ones.  Members of your community will likely have lots of questions about the voting process and how to vote safely.   

The following journey map provides you with detailed information on when, where and the ways to register and vote in this federal election. As well, you will see some suggestions on activities and available tools.

Knowing all the options to register and vote in a federal election allows you and your community to create a plan so your community has the best voting experience possible. During a pandemic, things can take a bit more time. It will be more important than ever that members of your community plan ahead as deadlines may apply. Some will consider voting by mail for the first time, others may want to know about how to stay safe when they vote at their assigned polling station in advance or election day polls. Measures are in place to keep you and your community safe no matter how you choose to vote. Make sure you know your options to register and vote safely.

Let's get started!

Here are some guidelines to help you plan for your community's journey to the ballot box. There are five steps:

  1. Learn about the barriers that electors might face in your community
  2. Discover the tools to help address barriers to registering and voting

Read the Elector's Guidebook to Registering and Voting

  1. Make a plan
  2. Carry out your plan
  3. Tell us how it went
To the top ↑

Élections Canada logo
Menu du site

S'inscrire et voter lors d'une élection fédérale

Laissez-nous vous aider à aider votre communauté!

S'inscrire et voter lors d'une
élection fédérale (PDF)

Inspirer la démocratie

Inspirer la démocratie est un programme d’Élections Canada qui est conçu pour aider les organisateurs communautaires à faire connaître l’importance de participer aux élections fédérales.

Le programme Inspirer la démocratie contribue à réduire les obstacles à l’information en fournissant des outils aux membres engagés de la communauté, comme vous. De cette façon, les Canadiens peuvent apprendre des membres de leur propre communauté.

Ce guide fait partie de notre troisième trousse d’outils. Il existe deux autres trousses d’outils pour vous aider à informer les membres de votre communauté sur la participation aux élections fédérales.

Vous trouverez les trois trousses sur le site Web d’Inspirer la démocratie.

Aperçu

Les élections sont importantes : en votant, vous choisissez la personne qui vous représentera au gouvernement fédéral. Cette personne prendra des décisions qui vous concernent, vous et votre communauté. En participant activement au processus électoral et en transmettant de l’information sur les élections, vous vous assurez que les besoins de votre communauté sont mieux représentés.

En tant qu 'organisateur communautaire, vous avez un rôle à jouer en ce qui a trait à la préparation des membres de votre communauté en vue de la prochaine élection fédérale. Cette élection, si elle est déclenchée durant la pandémie, sera certainement différente des précédentes. Les membres de votre communauté auront sans doute bien des questions au sujet du processus de vote et de la manière de voter en toute sécurité.

Grâce à la carte de parcours suivante, vous saurez quand, où et comment vous inscrire et voter à cette élection fédérale. Vous y trouverez également des suggestions d’activités et d’outils disponibles.

En étant informés sur les différentes façons de s 'inscrire et de voter, les membres de votre communauté pourront vivre la meilleure expérience de vote possible. On le sait maintenant, pendant une pandémie, bien des choses prennent davantage de temps. Il sera plus que jamais important que les membres de votre communauté soient préparés, car des dates limites s'appliquent dans certains cas. Certains envisageront de voter par la poste pour la première fois. D'autres voudront savoir comment voter en toute sécurité à leur bureau de scrutin, que ce soit par anticipation ou le jour de l'élection. Des mesures ont été mises en place pour garantir votre sécurité et celle de votre communauté, peu importe la manière dont vous choisissez de voter. Assurez-vous de connaître les options vous permettant de vous inscrire et de voter en toute sécurité.

Commençons!

Voici quelques lignes directrices qui vous aideront à planifier le parcours de votre communauté jusqu’aux bureaux de vote. Il y a cinq étapes à suivre.

  1. Renseignez-vous sur les obstacles auxquels pourraient faire face les électeurs de votre communauté.
  2. Familiarisez-vous avec les outils qui vous aideront à surmonter les obstacles à l’inscription et au vote.

Lire le Guide d'inscription et de vote de l'électeur

  1. Dressez un plan.
  2. Mettez votre plan en œuvre.
  3. Faites-nous savoir comment tout s’est déroulé.
Vers le haut ↑