Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Inspire Democracy Workshop Series
Highlights Report –Montréal, September 25–26, 2014

The eighth Inspire Democracy workshop was held on September 25–26 in Montréal, Quebec. The purpose of the workshop was to help youth-serving organizations understand the issue of declining youth civic engagement, equip them with tools to address it, and invite them to take action to ensure youth are ready to vote in the 2015 general election.

A total of 33 participants representing 24 organizations attended the workshop (see appendix for a list of participating organizations). Participants were active throughout the workshop, and contributed to discussion on the causes of declining youth participation and the actions that organizations can take to re-engage youth in civic and democratic life.

Below is a short summary of workshop highlights. Reports for other workshops held to date are also available on the Inspire Democracy website under Events. A final report on the Inspire Democracy Workshop Series will be released later in 2014.

Day 1: Thursday, September 25

Morning session

Session A: Participants began by developing a common understanding of youth civic engagement and the barriers that prevent youth from participating fully in civic life. Miriam Fahmy from the Institut du Nouveau Monde (INM) provided an overview on citizen participation and civic engagement.

Several key points were highlighted:

  • The INM defines citizen participation as the exercise and expression of citizenship through active social, public and electoral participation. Social participation happens throughout citizens' everyday activities, public participation takes place in spaces where public decisions are made, and electoral participation relates to the voting and political processes.
  • While it forms the base of democracy, citizen participation is not limited to elections and the voting process: it is a way of life. Participation can be motivated by a number of factors, including interest, culture, values, education or skills to participate, personal finances, social networks, and seeing the impact of one's participation.

Following Ms. Fahmy's presentation, the group discussed barriers and obstacles to civic engagement. Barriers included the following:

  • Limited civic education: youth lack knowledge, resources and access to information about the political process and elections. They do not understand the workings of government, lack information about political parties, and are confused about the mechanics of voting (e.g. where students should vote if they moved to attend school).
  • Lack of representative role models: candidates and politicians do not represent the diversity of the population. Young role models are particularly absent, as are female representatives.
  • Cynicism and a lack of interest and confidence in the electoral system: parties are seen as competitive and focused on older voters. Youth do not relate to the issues discussed in electoral campaigns, nor are they discussed in a "youth-friendly" way. There is a lack of genuine dialogue both between politicians and citizens as well as within family and peer circles.
  • Competing priorities: both youth and other socio-economically disadvantaged groups (such as recent immigrants) are focused on meeting basic survival needs.

Afternoon sessions

Experiences promoting participation


Experiences promoting participation

Session B: Elections Canada (Miriam Lapp) presented trends in youth electoral participation, what the research says about barriers, and the type of knowledge and action that supports youth electoral engagement. Research shows that youth face both access and motivational barriers to voting. Organizations can take action to help youth overcome these barriers both between and during elections.

After Ms. Lapp's presentation, the group discussed the experiences and knowledge that are necessary in order to be ready to vote for the first time, including the following:

Experiences

  • Participating in practical and experiential activities before attaining the voting age, such as election simulations (e.g. Électeurs en herbe, mock parliaments, and accompaniment of parents to polling places)
  • Discussing political and electoral issues of relevance with parents and peers, and having positive role models encouraging participation from within these groups
  • Participating in other forms of civic engagement, such as signing a petition or getting involved in a cause
  • Becoming and staying informed about issues by, for example, reading the newspaper and attending debates
  • Developing an attitude of voting as a responsibility

Knowledge promoting participation

Knowledge promoting participation

Knowledge

  • Who the candidates are, key issues, and the platforms of candidates and political parties
  • How the political system works and differences between levels of government
  • Information about the voting process, such as eligibility, how to register, the different voting options, how to locate their polling place, and rules about where students may vote
  • Criteria they can use to decide who to vote for
  • The understanding that each vote in valuable

Session C: Ms. Fahmy from the INM gave a presentation on how to overcome obstacles to youth engagement. She explained the various civic engagement programs that the INM offers and the lessons it has learned.

As a result of its work, the INM has developed a proposal to consider voting as a "civic rite of passage." This proposal, which is intended to spark discussion and debate, comprises five complementary reforms:

  • Nationwide implementation of a Grade 9 civics course
  • Lowering of the voting age to 16
  • Voluntary civic service for 16- to 24-year-olds
  • Compulsory voting, including the ability to cast a blank ballot
  • A semi-proportional voting system

In the group discussion that followed, participants discussed a range of support and opposition to the INM's various proposals. Participants agreed that major electoral changes are needed to make civic participation more appealing to youth. The system must be more inclusive and accessible. Participants encouraged the idea of making voting a community-based activity.

Day 2: Friday, September 26

Day 2 of the workshop included presentations and discussions on good practices in youth engagement and actions that organizations can undertake to encourage youth to participate. Participants were encouraged to share their engagement tools with Elections Canada for inclusion on the Inspire Democracy website.

Morning sessions

Session D: Effective Methods for Increasing Youth Electoral Engagement (Stakeholder Presentations)

Marie-Laure Landais, Forum jeunesse de l'île de Montréal (FJIM)

  • The FJIM is a consultative, non-partisan body representing over 500 youth groups in the Montréal area. Ms. Landais presented challenges to youth participation and projects implemented during various elections to mobilize youth to participate. These projects included in-person activities, such as debates, and the release of YouTube videos to reach less engaged youth.

Francis Sabourin, Électeurs en herbe

  • From 2009 to 2014, Électeurs en herbe (Voters in Training) reached over 300,000 young people in Quebec through parallel elections in schools and related civic education programming (including 60,000 participants in the last Quebec provincial election). Youth vote results from the parallel elections often closely resembled the actual election outcomes. Mr. Sabourin encouraged participants to engage youth on campaign issues by inviting them to candidates' debates and encouraging them to participate.

Ilona Dougherty, Apathy is Boring (AisB)

  • As a national organization, AisB has reached over 5,000 youth between 2008 and 2013. Through extensive conversations with youth, AisB has found that more attention needs to be paid to chronically unengaged youth and that it is important to not assume that youth do not care about politics. Various election-time projects were presented, including an e-mail outreach project in Alberta, a peer-to-peer registration project in British Columbia, street teams and Aboriginal youth outreach.

Sylvia Martin-Laforge, Quebec Community Groups Network (QCGN)

  • The QCGN is a not-for-profit organization linking 41 English-language community organizations across Quebec. English-speaking youth in Quebec face lower political participation and representation compared to their Francophone counterparts. During the 2014 Quebec election, QCGN launched "Vote it Up" to encourage young English-speaking Quebecers to vote. The initiative used a well-known spokesperson as the face of the campaign. It included TV and radio interviews; development of the Put on Your Pants, Go Vote video; attendance at youth-driven events; and an interactive Facebook contest.

Annie Marier, Fédération étudiante universitaire du Québec (FEUQ)

  • The FEUQ discussed the importance of making the voting process accessible to youth and the various challenges this group experiences, such as mobility, the less-than-ideal location of polling places and a lack of proper ID.
  • Ms. Marier highlighted work that the FEUQ and the Fédération étudiante collégiale du Québec undertook in the last provincial election to encourage students to vote. This included organizing on-campus debates and running a promotional campaign (through advertising, e-mail and social media) that encouraged students to vote at polling stations on campus. The newly legislated requirement to place polling stations on every Quebec campus during the last provincial election was viewed as particularly successful in increasing student turnout. The presentation also emphasized the importance of reaching out to schools outside the main metropolitan regions.

Session E: Group Activity – Encourage Youth to Act! Actions and Strategies for Future Elections

Following the stakeholder presentations, participants discussed the actions that could be taken to increase youth engagement for the 2015 general election, and the information and tools required to support such actions.

Organizations recommended or committed to undertaking the following actions:

  • Organizing discussion sessions and debates with elected representatives to build a rapport and discuss issues of relevance to youth (e.g. on campuses)
  • Motivating families and communities to become more involved in encouraging youth to vote (e.g. community events on voting days to create a fun and less intimidating voting process)

  • Participants talk about what works in youth engagement

    Organizing recruitment drives for 16- to 18-year-olds to work in elections
  • Creating groups of youth who can explain the issues and process to other young people
  • Reaching out to youth less likely to be reached or less likely to vote (e.g. at sporting or art events, citizenship ceremonies, trade schools, or on the streets)
  • Encouraging young leaders to become candidates and holding information sessions on the process
  • Locating polling stations in more accessible spaces, such as schools or YMCAs
  • Holding more activities to explain the electoral process to community-based organizations, for networking, to highlight the work of organizations, and to share existing tools (e.g. workshops like Inspire Democracy) – and encouraging media to profile this work
  • Creating a centralized mailing list for community groups to use during elections to encourage voting
  • Organizing youth-focused events about the electoral process, such as vote camps and the INM's École d'été
  • Creating a unique voter information card for first-time voters (e.g. congratulating them or communicating different messages)
  • Automatically registering all electors (as is done provincially in Quebec)


Participants discuss actions they can take to encourage youth to participate

Participants identified a need for the following tools and information to support these activities:

  • Videos about the electoral system and process, and interactive tools
  • Summaries of existing election programs and tools that others can use
  • Social media presence by Elections Canada and a more user-friendly website
  • More readily accessible research and statistics for the public
  • Use of celebrities as spokespeople and in videos to encourage voting
  • Dynamic tools about where, when and ways to vote that groups can use
  • Support for family voting (e.g. child care for parents while voting and a mock voting station within the real polling place for youth to practice voting)

At the end of the workshop, Ms. Lapp demonstrated Elections Canada's online registration system. As the agency's Assistant Director of Outreach, she reaffirmed its commitment to reaching out to youth to ensure they know how to register and vote in the upcoming 2015 federal election.

Ms. Lapp emphasized the importance of building an engagement community and working together to advance youth participation in the lead-up to the 2015 election. Elections Canada will stay in contact with participants (e.g. through newsletters) and, as the election gets closer, will make tools available that organizations can use to promote where, when and ways to vote.

Appendix: Participating organizations

  • Apathy is Boring
  • Centre d'encadrement pour jeunes femmes immigrantes
  • Comité des jeunes de la Centrale des syndicats du Québec
  • Concordia University, Centre for the Study of Democratic Citizenship
  • Conseil jeunesse de Montréal
  • Fédération des associations étudiantes du campus de l'Université de Montréal
  • Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec, Travailleurs et travailleuses unis de l'alimentation et du commerce 501
  • Fédération étudiante universitaire du Québec
  • Forum jeunesse de la Vallée-du-Haut-Saint-Laurent
  • Forum jeunesse de l'île de Montréal
  • Forum jeunesse des Laurentides
  • Forum jeunesse Estrie
  • Forum jeunesse Lanaudière
  • Forum jeunesse Longueuil
  • Génération d'idées
  • Institut du Nouveau Monde
  • La Maison d'Haïti
  • McGill University, Centre for the Study of Democratic Citizenship
  • Montréal Urban Ecology Centre
  • Mouvement pour une démocratie nouvelle
  • Quebec Community Groups Network
  • Table de concertation des forums jeunesse régionaux du Québec
  • Ville de Montréal
  • YMCAs of Québec

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

Série d'ateliers « Inspirer la démocratie »
Rapport sommaire – Montréal, les 25 et 26 septembre 2014

Le huitième atelier « Inspirer la démocratie » s'est tenu les 25 et 26 septembre à Montréal (Québec). L'atelier visait à aider des organismes jeunesse à comprendre le déclin de la participation citoyenne des jeunes, à leur fournir des outils pour résoudre ce problème, et à les encourager à prendre des mesures concrètes pour s'assurer que les jeunes sont prêts à voter à l'élection générale de 2015.

En tout, 33 représentants de 24 organismes ont participé à l'atelier (voir la liste des organismes participants en annexe). Tout au long de l'atelier, ils ont participé activement aux discussions sur les causes du déclin de la participation et sur les mesures pouvant être prises par les organismes afin de raviver l'intérêt des jeunes pour la vie citoyenne et démocratique.

Voici un résumé de l'atelier. Les rapports sur les ateliers tenus jusqu'à maintenant se trouvent sur le site Web d'« Inspirer la démocratie », sous l'onglet Événements. Un rapport final sur la série d'ateliers sera publié plus tard en 2014.

Jour 1 : Le jeudi 25 septembre

Séance de la matinée

Séance A : Les participants ont commencé par définir la participation citoyenne des jeunes et déterminer les obstacles qui empêchent ces derniers de participer pleinement à la vie citoyenne. Miriam Fahmy de l'Institut du Nouveau Monde (INM) a donné un aperçu de la participation citoyenne.

Plusieurs points ont été soulevés :

  • Selon l'INM, la participation citoyenne est l'exercice et l'expression de la citoyenneté par une participation active à la vie sociale, publique et électorale. La participation à la vie sociale se fait au quotidien, alors que la participation à la vie publique se déroule dans des lieux de décision publique et que la participation électorale concerne le processus de vote et le processus politique.
  • Bien qu'elle soit au cœur de la démocratie, la participation citoyenne ne se limite pas aux élections et au processus de vote : c'est un mode de vie. La participation peut être motivée par un certain nombre de facteurs : intérêts, culture, valeurs, éducation, compétences, situation financière personnelle, réseaux sociaux, et l'observation de l'incidence de la participation.

Après la présentation de Mme Fahmy, le groupe a discuté des obstacles à la participation citoyenne, par exemple :

  • Le manque d'éducation civique : les jeunes manquent de connaissances, de ressources et d'information sur le processus politique et les élections. Ils connaissent mal les rouages du gouvernement, les partis politiques et les règles sur le vote (p. ex. circonscription dans laquelle devraient voter les étudiants qui ont déménagé pour leurs études).
  • L'absence de personnes modèles représentatives : les candidats et les politiciens ne reflètent pas la diversité de la population. Les jeunes modèles sont particulièrement rares, tout comme les femmes parmi les représentants.
  • Le cynisme et un manque d'intérêt et de confiance à l'égard du système électoral : on considère que les partis ont un esprit de rivalité et sont concentrés sur les électeurs plus âgés. Les jeunes ne se sentent pas concernés par les enjeux des campagnes électorales, qui ne sont pas abordés sous un angle intéressant pour eux. Il n'y a pas de véritable dialogue entre les politiciens et les citoyens, ni en famille ou entre pairs.
  • Les priorités concurrentes : les jeunes et d'autres groupes défavorisés (comme les nouveaux arrivants) sont surtout préoccupés par leurs besoins vitaux.

Séances de l'après-midi

Séance B : Miriam Lapp (Élections Canada) a présenté les tendances relatives à la participation des jeunes, les conclusions de la recherche concernant les obstacles, et le type de connaissances et de mesures qui favorisent la participation électorale des jeunes. La recherche a démontré que des obstacles liés à l'accès et à la motivation empêchent les jeunes de voter. Les organismes peuvent prendre des mesures pour aider les jeunes à surmonter ces obstacles pendant et entre les élections.

Des expériences favorisant la participation


Des expériences favorisant la participation

Après la présentation de Mme Lapp, le groupe a discuté des expériences et des connaissances qu'il faut avoir pour être prêt à voter pour la première fois :

Expériences

  • Participer à des activités pratiques avant d'atteindre l'âge de vote, comme des élections simulées (p. ex. Électeurs en herbe, des simulations parlementaires et l'observation du processus lorsque leurs parents vont voter).
  • Discuter avec ses parents et ses pairs des enjeux politiques et électoraux qui présentent un intérêt, et avoir pour modèle des membres de ces groupes qui encouragent la participation.
  • Prendre part à d'autres activités civiques, comme signer une pétition ou défendre une cause.
  • S'informer et demeurer informé sur les enjeux, par exemple en lisant les journaux et en assistant à des débats.
  • Considérer le vote comme un devoir.

Des connaissances favorisant la participation


Des connaissances favorisant la participation

Connaissances

  • les candidats, les principaux enjeux ainsi que les plateformes des candidats et des partis politiques;
  • les rouages du système politique et les différences entre les ordres de gouvernement;
  • le processus de vote : conditions à remplir pour avoir qualité d'électeur, méthodes d'inscription et de vote, façon de trouver l'adresse de son lieu de vote, règles qui déterminent où les étudiants peuvent voter;
  • les critères sur lesquels les électeurs peuvent baser leur choix;
  • l'importance de chaque vote.

Séance C : Mme Fahmy de l'INM a fait une présentation sur la façon de vaincre les obstacles à la participation des jeunes. Elle a présenté les différents programmes de participation citoyenne qu'offre l'organisme, et les leçons qu'il a retenues.

Par suite de ses travaux, l'INM a proposé de faire du vote « un rite de passage civique ». Cette proposition, qui vise à alimenter le débat, compte cinq mesures de réforme complémentaires :

  • la mise en œuvre d'un cours d'éducation civique en 9e année (3e année du secondaire) à l'échelle nationale;
  • le droit vote à 16 ans;
  • un service civique volontaire pour les jeunes de 16 à 24 ans;
  • l'institution du vote obligatoire (avec possibilité de vote blanc);
  • l'instauration d'un mode de scrutin partiellement proportionnel.

Par la suite, les participants ont discuté en groupe d'un éventail d'arguments pour et contre les diverses mesures proposées par l'INM. Ils étaient d'accord pour dire que d'importantes réformes électorales sont nécessaires pour rendre la participation citoyenne plus attrayante aux yeux des jeunes. Le système doit être plus ouvert et accessible. Les participants étaient favorables à l'idée de faire du vote une activité communautaire.

Jour 2 : Le vendredi 26 septembre

Le deuxième jour de l'atelier a donné lieu à des présentations et à des discussions sur les pratiques exemplaires en matière de participation des jeunes, et sur les mesures que peuvent prendre les organismes pour les encourager à participer. Les participants ont été invités à transmettre leurs outils de mobilisation à Élections Canada afin qu'ils soient intégrés au site Web d'« Inspirer la démocratie ».

Séances de la matinée

Séance D : Méthodes efficaces pour accroître la participation électorale des jeunes (présentations d'intervenants)

Marie-Laure Landais, Forum jeunesse de l'île de Montréal (FJIM)

  • Le FJIM est un organisme consultatif et non partisan qui représente plus de 500 groupes jeunesse de la région de Montréal. Mme Landais a parlé des obstacles à la participation des jeunes et des projets mis en œuvre lors des diverses élections pour mobiliser les jeunes, comme des activités en personne (p. ex. des débats) et la diffusion de vidéos sur YouTube pour joindre les jeunes qui participent moins.

Francis Sabourin, Électeurs en herbe

  • De 2009 à 2014, Électeurs en herbe a joint plus de 300 000 jeunes Québécois grâce aux élections parallèles dans les écoles et à des programmes d'éducation civique connexes (auxquels ont participé 60 000 jeunes lors de la dernière élection provinciale au Québec). Les résultats des élections parallèles organisées auprès des jeunes se rapprochent souvent de ceux des vraies élections. M. Sabourin a encouragé les participants à susciter l'intérêt des jeunes pour les enjeux des campagnes, en les invitant à des débats des candidats et en les encourageant à participer.


Ilona Dougherty, L'apathie c'est plate

  • L'apathie c'est plate, un organisme national, a réussi à joindre plus de 5 000 jeunes de 2008 à 2013. À la suite de discussions approfondies avec les jeunes, l'organisme a conclu qu'il faut accorder davantage d'attention à ceux qui ne participent jamais et qu'il est important de ne pas supposer que les jeunes ne s'intéressent pas à la politique. Divers projets menés en période électorale ont été présentés : rayonnement par courriel en Alberta, inscription de pair à pair en Colombie-Britannique, recours à des équipes de rue et rayonnement auprès des jeunes Autochtones.

Sylvia Martin-Laforge, Quebec Community Groups Network (QCGN)

  • Le QCGN est un organisme à but non lucratif qui regroupe 41 organismes communautaires anglophones du Québec. Les jeunes anglophones du Québec sont moins nombreux à participer à la vie politique et sont sous-représentés par rapport à leurs concitoyens francophones. Lors de l'élection québécoise de 2014, le QCGN a lancé la campagne « Vote it Up » pour encourager les jeunes anglophones à voter. Cette campagne, dont le porte-parole était une célébrité, a été l'occasion d'accorder des entrevues à la télévision et à la radio, de produire une vidéo intitulée « Put on Your Pants, Go Vote », d'assister à des activités pour les jeunes et de lancer un concours interactif sur Facebook.

Annie Marier, Fédération étudiante universitaire du Québec (FEUQ)

  • La FEUQ a discuté de l'importance de rendre le processus de vote accessible aux jeunes ainsi que des divers obstacles auxquels ils se heurtent (problèmes de mobilité, lieux de scrutin situés à des endroits qui laissent à désirer, aucune pièce d'identité acceptée).
  • Mme Marier a souligné le travail accompli par la FEUQ et la Fédération étudiante collégiale du Québec lors de la dernière élection provinciale pour encourager les étudiants à voter. Les deux fédérations ont notamment organisé des débats sur les campus et mené une campagne promotionnelle (en faisant de la publicité, par courriel et dans les médias sociaux) pour encourager les étudiants à voter au bureau de scrutin situé sur leur campus. Lors de la dernière élection provinciale, la nouvelle disposition de la loi exigeant que des bureaux de scrutin soient établis sur tous les campus du Québec a été jugée particulièrement efficace pour augmenter la participation des étudiants. La présentation a aussi mis l'accent sur l'importance de joindre les établissements d'enseignement à l'extérieur des grandes régions métropolitaines.

Les participants discutent des mesures efficaces en matière de mobilisation des jeunes


Les participants discutent des mesures efficaces en matière de mobilisation des jeunes

Séance E : Activité de groupe – Encourager les jeunes à agir! Actions et stratégies à mettre en place pour les prochaines élections

Après les présentations, les participants ont discuté des mesures pouvant être prises pour accroître la participation des jeunes à l'élection générale de 2015, ainsi que des renseignements et des outils nécessaires à cette fin.

Les organismes ont recommandé de prendre les mesures suivantes ou se sont engagés à le faire :

  • organiser des discussions et des débats (p. ex. sur les campus) avec des élus pour établir des liens et traiter des enjeux importants pour les jeunes;
  • inciter les familles et les communautés à prendre part plus activement aux efforts visant à encourager les jeunes à voter (p. ex. organiser des activités communautaires les jours de vote pour rendre le processus de vote plus amusant et moins intimidant);
  • organiser des campagnes de recrutement de travailleurs électoraux auprès des jeunes de 16 à 18 ans;
  • créer des groupes de jeunes qui peuvent expliquer les enjeux et le processus à d'autres jeunes;
  • établir un contact avec les jeunes plus difficiles à joindre ou moins susceptibles de voter (p. ex. lors d'activités sportives ou artistiques, lors de cérémonies de citoyenneté, dans les écoles de métiers ou dans la rue);
  • encourager les jeunes chefs de file à se porter candidats et tenir des séances d'information sur le processus;
  • installer les bureaux de scrutin à des endroits plus accessibles, comme des écoles ou des YMCA;

  • Les participants discutent des gestes qu'ils peuvent poser

    organiser plus d'activités (p. ex. des ateliers comme ceux d'« Inspirer la démocratie ») pour expliquer le processus électoral aux organismes communautaires, faire du réseautage, souligner le travail des organismes et échanger des outils, et encourager les médias à en parler;
  • créer une liste d'envoi centralisée que les groupes communautaires pourraient utiliser en période électorale pour encourager le vote;
  • organiser pour les jeunes des activités sur le processus électoral, comme des camps sur le vote et l'École d'été de l'INM;
  • créer une carte d'information de l'électeur spéciale pour ceux qui voteront pour la première fois (pour les féliciter ou leur communiquer des messages différents);
  • inscrire automatiquement tous les électeurs (comme on le fait au Québec, au niveau provincial).

Les participants ont indiqué avoir besoin de ce qui suit pour soutenir ces activités :

  • des vidéos sur le processus et le système électoral, et des outils interactifs;
  • de courtes descriptions des programmes et des outils électoraux que d'autres peuvent utiliser;
  • la présence d'Élections Canada dans les médias sociaux et un site Web plus convivial;
  • des rapports de recherche et des statistiques plus facilement accessibles au grand public;
  • la participation de célébrités, à titre de porte-parole et dans des vidéos pour encourager le vote;
  • des outils dynamiques qui indiquent aux électeurs où, quand et comment voter;
  • des services pour les familles (p. ex. des services de garde pour permettre aux parents d'aller voter, de faux bureaux de scrutin dans les lieux de vote, auxquels les jeunes pourraient s'exercer à voter).

À la fin de l'atelier, Mme Lapp a fait une démonstration du système d'inscription en ligne offert par Élections Canada. En tant que directrice adjointe du Rayonnement, elle a réitéré l'engagement de l'organisme à établir le contact avec les jeunes afin de s'assurer qu'ils savent comment s'inscrire et voter à l'élection fédérale de 2015.

De plus, elle a souligné l'importance de créer une communauté axée sur la participation citoyenne et de collaborer pour favoriser la participation des jeunes en prévision de l'élection de 2015. Élections Canada demeurera en contact avec les participants (p. ex. en envoyant des bulletins d'information) et, à l'approche de l'élection, fournira aux organismes des outils pour indiquer aux électeurs où, quand et comment voter.

Annexe : Organismes participants

  • Centre d'écologie urbaine de Montréal
  • Centre d'encadrement pour jeunes femmes immigrantes
  • Comité des jeunes de la Centrale des syndicats du Québec
  • Conseil jeunesse de Montréal
  • Fédération des associations étudiantes du campus de l'Université de Montréal
  • Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec – Travailleurs et travailleuses unis de l'alimentation et du commerce 501
  • Fédération étudiante universitaire du Québec
  • Forum jeunesse de la Vallée-du-Haut-Saint-Laurent
  • Forum jeunesse de l'Île de Montréal
  • Forum jeunesse des Laurentides
  • Forum jeunesse Estrie
  • Forum jeunesse Lanaudière
  • Forum jeunesse Longueuil
  • Génération d'idées
  • Institut du Nouveau Monde
  • La Maison d'Haïti
  • L'apathie c'est plate
  • Mouvement pour une démocratie nouvelle
  • Quebec Community Groups Network
  • Table de concertation des forums jeunesse
    régionaux du Québec
  • Université Concordia – Centre pour l'étude de la citoyenneté démocratique
  • Université McGill – Centre pour l'étude de la
    citoyenneté démocratique
  • Ville de Montréal
  • YMCA ­– Québec