Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Inspire Democracy Workshop Series
Highlights Report – Québec, September 18–19, 2014

The seventh Inspire Democracy workshop was held on September 18–19 in Québec City, Quebec. The purpose of the workshop was to help youth-serving organizations understand the issue of declining youth civic engagement, equip them with tools to address it, and invite them to take action to ensure youth are ready to vote in the 2015 general election.

A total of 19 participants representing 14 organizations attended the workshop (see appendix for a list of participating organizations). Participants were active throughout the workshop and contributed to discussion on the causes of declining youth participation and the actions that organizations can take to re-engage youth in civic and democratic life.

Below is a short summary of workshop highlights. Reports for other workshops held to date are also available on the Inspire Democracy website under Events. A final report of the Inspire Democracy Workshop Series will be released later in 2014.

Day 1: Thursday, September 18

Miriam Fahmy discusses barriers to civic engagement
Miriam Fahmy discusses barriers to civic engagement

Participants began by developing a common understanding of youth civic engagement and the barriers that prevent youth from participating fully in civic life. Miriam Fahmy from the Institut du Nouveau Monde (INM) provided an overview on citizen participation and civic engagement.

Two key points were highlighted:

  • INM defines citizen participation as the exercise and expression of citizenship through active social, public, and electoral participation. Social participation happens throughout citizens' everyday activities, public participation takes place in spaces where public decisions are made, and electoral participation relates to the voting and political process.
  • Citizen participation is not limited to elections and the voting process: it is a way of life. Participation can be motivated by a number of factors, including culture, values, education, personal finances and social networks.

Participants identify possible solutions to civic disengagement
Participants identify possible solutions to civic disengagement

Following Miriam Fahmy's presentation, the group discussed barriers and obstacles to civic engagement. Barriers included:

  • A lack of civic culture in homes and schools: Parents, teachers, and youth leaders do not always have the expertise or time to discuss civic engagement. Youth cannot learn to prioritize civic engagement if they have no role models for doing so.
  • Existing stereotypes of youth: If adults and civic leaders hold negative misconceptions about youth, youth will not feel compelled or welcome to participate.
  • Competing priorities: Between school, jobs, and extracurricular activities, some youth may not feel that they have the time to become civically active. The electoral process could better meet these time constraints.
  • Real or perceived lack of issue relevance to youth: Public issues are not always discussed in the context of youth, so youth are not always attracted to civic discussions. This creates a negative, self-reinforcing cycle wherein youth do not participate in conversations so leaders do not reach out to them.
  • Youth perceive the voting process to be inaccessible: Whether it is the voting process or the language used by public figures, participants felt that voting is not accessible to youth.

Afternoon session

Elections Canada (Miriam Lapp) presented on what the research says about youth electoral engagement.

  • Research shows that youth face both access and motivational barriers to voting. Organizations can take action to help youth overcome these barriers.
  • Participants inquired about how civic education can be expanded beyond a high school civics course. Miriam Lapp agreed that it is important that civic education take place over a more sustained period of time, and that it is important to reach youth outside of the formal school setting.

INM (Miriam Fahmy) presented on how to overcome obstacles to youth engagement.

  • Miriam Fahmy presented on the various civic engagement programs that INM offers, and the lessons it has learned. As a result of its work, INM has developed a proposal to consider voting as a "civic rite of passage." This proposal, which is intended to spark discussion and debate, comprises five complementary reforms:
    • Nationwide implementation of a grade nine civics course
    • Lower the voting age to 16 years
    • Voluntary civic service for 16- to 24-year-olds
    • Compulsory voting, including the ability to cast a blank ballot
    • Semi-proportional voting system
  • In the group discussion that followed, participants agreed that major electoral changes are needed to make civic participation more appealing to youth. The system must be more inclusive and accessible.

Day 2: Friday, September 19

Day 2 of the workshop included presentations and discussions on good practices in youth engagement and actions that organizations can undertake to encourage youth to participate.

Morning session

Effective Methods for Increasing Youth Electoral Engagement (Stakeholder Presentations)

Élie Belley-Pelletier, Table de concertation des forums jeunesse régionaux du Québec (TCFJRQ)

  • Élie Belley-Pelletier spoke about using youth-targeted communication campaigns. The TCFJRQ has previously organized various youth-based outreach campaigns and found, among other things, that social media can be an effective tool for exerting social pressure on youth to act.

Francis Sabourin, Électeurs en herbe

  • From 2009 to 2014, Électeurs en herbe (Voters in Training) reached over 300,000 young people in Quebec through parallel elections in schools and related civic education programming. Youth vote results from the parallel elections often closely resembled the actual election outcomes. Francis Sabourin encouraged participants to engage youth on campaign issues by inviting them to candidates' debates and encouraging them to participate.

Jonathan Bouchard and Alexis Tremblay talk about the FEUQ and FECQ
Jonathan Bouchard and Alexis Tremblay talk about the FEUQ and FECQ

Jonathan Bouchard, Fédération étudiante universitaire du Québec (FEUQ), and Alexis Tremblay, Fédération étudiante collégiale du Québec (FECQ)

  • Representatives of the FEUQ and the FECQ discussed the importance of making the voting process accessible to youth. Jonathan Bouchard and Alexis Tremblay support the use of campus polling stations and targeted election advertisements to youth. The two hope that politicians will start to take notice as youth become more aware, involved, and interested in the political process.

Ilona Dougherty, Apathy is Boring (AisB)

  • As a national organization, AisB has reached over 5,000 youth between 2008 and 2013. Through extensive conversations with youth, AisB has found that more attention needs to be paid to chronically unengaged youth and that it is important to not assume that youth do not care about politics.

Monica Rosales, Directeur général des élections du Québec (DGEQ)

  • Monica Rosales spoke about the role of student councils for mobilizing young people. The DGEQ works with schools across the province of Quebec. It advises student councils to use web-based platforms to not only connect within their own groups, but to also reach out to other groups that are doing similar work.

Group Activity: Participants' Viewpoints on Effective Methods for Engaging Youth

Following the stakeholder presentations, participants were asked to brainstorm effective methods to increase youth civic engagement. Suggestions included:

  • Organize and promote youth voter registration drives, particularly in locations frequented by youth.
  • Minimize administrative barriers that candidates face to increase participation in all candidates' debates.
  • Encourage a social culture around voting and civic participation.
  • Ensure that civic education resources and election-related information are easily accessible. As people are more aware of the issues, they are more likely to vote.
  • Reduce the barriers that students face when voting outside of their "home" riding.
  • Use social media and online campaigns to target youth, but do not solely rely on these methods as their effectiveness can be hard to measure.
  • Conduct a tour of schools to inform and register youth.
  • Implement a web-based platform containing all election-related information and a voter registration status tool.
  • Use polling stations on campus.

Participants discuss actions they can take
Participants discuss actions they can take

Group Activity: Encourage youth to act! Actions and Strategies for Future Elections

Participants discussed actions that can be undertaken to increase youth engagement on an ongoing basis and during the 2015 general election. Organizations recommended or committed to undertaking the following actions:

  • In addition to leaders' debates, hold consultation sessions where candidates can directly engage on issues.
  • Contact youth directly and encourage civic leaders to do the same.
  • Hold youth-oriented workshops to increase civic awareness and knowledge.
  • Develop partnerships between Aboriginal groups and raise awareness in these communities about the value of their vote.
  • Ensure that there are a variety of sources available from which youth can obtain registration- and election-related information (e.g. advertisements on radio, television, newspapers, direct meetings). As well, provide free news sources on campus.
  • Encourage youth to verify their registration status online.
  • Produce straightforward, youth-friendly resources.

Participants identified a need for the following tools to support these activities:

  • Partnerships with other groups conducting youth outreach activities.
  • Basic resources that explain the "where, when, and how to vote."
  • Access to free and youth-friendly civic education materials.
  • Funding.
  • More research and civic education materials targeted to underrepresented youth groups (e.g. Aboriginal youth).

At the end of the workshop, Elections Canada Assistant Director of Outreach, Miriam Lapp, reaffirmed the agency's commitment to reaching out to youth to ensure they know how to register and vote in the upcoming 2015 federal election. Miriam Lapp emphasized the importance of building an engagement community and working together to advance youth participation in the lead-up to the 2015 election. Participants were also encouraged to provide Elections Canada with feedback on the website.

Appendix: Participating organizations

  • L'apathie c'est plate
  • Association des étudiantes et étudiants de Laval inscrits aux études supérieures
  • Carrefour jeunesse-emploi de la MRC de Montmagny
  • Directeur général des élections du Québec (DGEQ)
  • Fédération des commissions scolaires du Québec (FCSQ)
  • Fédération étudiante collégiale du Québec (FECQ)
  • Fédération étudiante universitaire du Québec (FEUQ)
  • Forum jeunesse de la région de la Capitale-Nationale
  • Électeurs en herbe
  • Forum jeunesse régional Chaudière-Appalaches
  • Institut du Nouveau Monde
  • Regroupement Action Jeunesse 02
  • Regroupement des centres d'amitié autochtones du Québec (RCAAQ)
  • First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Youth Network
  • Table de concertation des forums jeunesse régionaux du Québec (TCFJRQ)

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

Série d'ateliers « Inspirer la démocratie »
Rapport sommaire – Québec, les 18 et 19 septembre 2014

Le septième atelier « Inspirer la démocratie » s'est tenu les 18 et 19 septembre à Québec (Québec). L'atelier visait à aider des organismes jeunesse à comprendre le déclin de la participation citoyenne des jeunes, à leur fournir des outils pour résoudre ce problème, et à les encourager à prendre des mesures concrètes pour s'assurer que les jeunes sont prêts à voter à l'élection générale de 2015.

En tout, 19 représentants de 14 organismes ont participé à l'atelier (voir la liste des organismes participants en annexe). Tout au long de l'atelier, ils ont participé activement aux discussions sur les causes du déclin de la participation et sur les mesures pouvant être prises par les organismes afin de raviver l'intérêt des jeunes pour la vie citoyenne et démocratique.

Voici un résumé de l'atelier. Les rapports sur les ateliers tenus jusqu'à maintenant se trouvent sur le site Web d'« Inspirer la démocratie », sous l'onglet Événements. Un rapport final sur la série d'ateliers sera publié en 2014.

Jour 1 : Le jeudi 18 septembre

Miriam Fahmy discute les obstacles à l'engagement civique
Miriam Fahmy discute les obstacles à l'engagement civique

Les participants ont commencé par définir la participation citoyenne des jeunes et déterminer les obstacles qui empêchent ces derniers de participer pleinement à la vie citoyenne. Miriam Fahmy, de l'Institut du Nouveau Monde (INM), a présenté une vue d'ensemble de la participation citoyenne.

Deux principaux points ont été soulevés :

  • Selon l'INM, la participation citoyenne est l'exercice et l'expression de la citoyenneté au moyen d'une participation active sur les plans social, public et électoral. La participation sociale se reflète dans les activités quotidiennes des citoyens, la participation publique a lieu là où les décisions publiques sont prises, et la participation électorale se rapporte aux processus politique et de vote.
  • La participation citoyenne ne se limite pas aux élections et au processus de vote : c'est un mode de vie. Elle est déterminée par un certain nombre de facteurs, tels que la culture, les valeurs, l'éducation, les finances personnelles et les réseaux sociaux.

 Les participants cernent les solutions à la désengagement citoyenne
Les participants cernent les solutions à la désengagement citoyenne

Après la présentation de Miriam Fahmy, le groupe a discuté des obstacles à la participation citoyenne, notamment les suivants :

  • Absence d'une culture citoyenne à la maison et dans les écoles : Les parents, les enseignants et les jeunes leaders n'ont pas toujours l'expertise nécessaire pour discuter de participation citoyenne ou le temps de le faire. Les jeunes ne peuvent pas apprendre à prioriser la participation citoyenne s'ils n'ont pas de modèle de comportement à cet égard.
  • Stéréotypes associés aux jeunes : Si les adultes et les dirigeants des collectivités entretiennent des préjugés à l'égard des jeunes, ces derniers n'auront pas l'impression qu'ils doivent participer ou qu'ils sont invités à le faire.
  • Priorités concurrentes : Entre l'école, les emplois et les activités parascolaires, certains jeunes croient peut-être qu'ils n'ont pas le temps de devenir des citoyens actifs. Le processus électoral pourrait mieux tenir compte de ces contraintes de temps.
  • Manque réel ou perçu de pertinence des enjeux pour les jeunes : Comme les questions d'intérêt public ne sont pas toujours abordées dans le contexte des jeunes, ceux-ci ne s'intéressent pas toujours aux débats publics. Cela crée un cercle vicieux : les jeunes ne participent pas aux conversations, alors les dirigeants n'établissent pas le contact avec eux.
  • Processus de vote considéré comme inaccessible par les jeunes : Qu'il s'agisse du processus de vote ou du langage utilisé par les personnalités publiques, les participants estimaient que le vote n'est pas accessible aux jeunes.

Séance en après-midi

Élections Canada (Miriam Lapp) a fait une présentation sur les conclusions des recherches sur la participation des jeunes au processus électoral.

  • En ce qui concerne le vote, les études montrent que les jeunes se heurtent à des obstacles d'accès et de motivation. Les organismes peuvent prendre des mesures pour aider les jeunes à surmonter ces obstacles.
  • Les participants ont demandé comment l'éducation civique pourrait aller au-delà d'un cours au secondaire. Miriam Lapp a convenu qu'il est important d'étendre l'éducation civique sur une plus longue période de temps, ainsi que de joindre les jeunes à l'extérieur du contexte scolaire officiel.

L'INM (Miriam Fahmy) a fait une présentation sur la façon de surmonter les obstacles à la participation des jeunes.

  • Miriam Fahmy a présenté les différents programmes de participation citoyenne qu'offre l'INM et les leçons que l'organisme a apprises. À l'issue de ses travaux, l'INM a proposé que le vote soit considéré comme un « rite de passage civique ». Cette proposition, qui vise à alimenter les discussions et les débats, comprend cinq réformes complémentaires :
  • la mise en œuvre d'un cours d'éducation civique en 9e année (3e année du secondaire) à l'échelle nationale;
  • le droit de vote à 16 ans;
  • un service civique volontaire pour les jeunes de 16 à 24 ans;
  • l'institution du vote obligatoire, ce qui comprend la possibilité du vote blanc;
  • l'instauration d'un mode de scrutin partiellement proportionnel.
  • Pendant la discussion en groupe qui a suivi, les participants ont convenu qu'il faudrait apporter d'importantes modifications au processus électoral afin de rendre la participation citoyenne plus intéressante pour les jeunes. Le système doit être plus inclusif et accessible.

Jour 2 : Le vendredi 19 septembre

Le deuxième jour de l'atelier prévoyait des présentations et des discussions sur les pratiques exemplaires en matière de participation citoyenne et sur les mesures pouvant être prises par les organismes pour favoriser la participation des jeunes.

Séance en matinée

Des moyens efficaces pour augmenter la participation électorale des jeunes (présentations des intervenants)

Élie Belley-Pelletier, Table de concertation des forums jeunesse régionaux du Québec (TCFJRQ)

  • Élie Belley-Pelletier a parlé de l'utilisation de campagnes de communication visant les jeunes. La TCFJRQ a déjà organisé diverses campagnes de sensibilisation auprès des jeunes et a constaté, entre autres, que les médias sociaux peuvent constituer un outil efficace pour exercer une pression sociale qui amènera les jeunes à agir.

Francis Sabourin, Électeurs en herbe

  • De 2009 à 2014, Électeurs en herbe a joint plus de 300 000 jeunes au Québec grâce à des élections parallèles dans les écoles et à des programmes d'éducation civique connexes. Souvent, les résultats du vote des jeunes aux élections parallèles ressemblaient beaucoup aux résultats des véritables élections. Francis Sabourin a encouragé les participants à susciter l'intérêt des jeunes pour les enjeux des campagnes en les invitant aux débats des candidats et en les incitant à participer.

Jonathan Bouchard et Alexis Tremblay parlent de la FEUQ et FECQ
Jonathan Bouchard et Alexis Tremblay parlent de la FEUQ et FECQ

Jonathan Bouchard, Fédération étudiante universitaire du Québec (FEUQ), et Alexis Tremblay, Fédération étudiante collégiale du Québec (FECQ)

  • Les représentants de la FEUQ et de la FECQ ont discuté de l'importance de rendre le processus de vote accessible aux jeunes. Jonathan Bouchard et Alexis Tremblay appuient la mise en place de bureaux de scrutin sur les campus et les publicités électorales à l'intention des jeunes. Ils espèrent que les politiciens commenceront à porter davantage attention aux jeunes alors que ceux-ci s'intéressent et participent davantage au processus politique et deviennent plus informés à ce sujet.

Ilona Dougherty, L'apathie c'est plate

  • L'apathie c'est plate, un organisme national, a réussi à joindre plus de 5 000 jeunes de 2008 à 2013. À la suite de discussions approfondies avec les jeunes, l'organisme a conclu qu'il faut accorder davantage d'attention à ceux qui ne participent jamais et qu'il est important de ne pas supposer que les jeunes ne s'intéressent pas à la politique.

Monica Rosales, Directeur général des élections du Québec (DGEQ)

  • Monica Rosales a parlé du rôle que jouent les conseils étudiants pour mobiliser les jeunes. Le DGEQ travaille avec des écoles partout au Québec. Cette institution recommande aux conseils étudiants d'utiliser des plateformes Web non seulement pour établir des contacts au sein de leurs propres groupes, mais aussi pour joindre d'autres groupes qui font un travail semblable.

Activité participative : Points de vue des participants sur les moyens efficaces de mobiliser les jeunes

Après les présentations des intervenants, les participants ont été appelés à faire un remue-méninges pour trouver des moyens efficaces d'accroître la participation citoyenne des jeunes. Les suggestions comprenaient ce qui suit :

  • Organiser et promouvoir des campagnes d'inscription des jeunes électeurs, en particulier dans les endroits que fréquentent souvent les jeunes.
  • Réduire au minimum les obstacles administratifs auxquels les candidats se heurtent afin d'accroître la participation à tous les débats des candidats.
  • Favoriser une culture sociale centrée sur le vote et la participation citoyenne.
  • Veiller à ce que les ressources d'éducation civique et les renseignements sur les élections soient facilement accessibles. Lorsque les gens connaissent mieux les enjeux, ils sont plus susceptibles de voter.
  • Réduire les obstacles auxquels les étudiants se heurtent lorsqu'ils votent à l'extérieur de leur circonscription.
  • Utiliser les médias sociaux et des campagnes en ligne pour cibler les jeunes, sans toutefois recourir uniquement à ces méthodes, car leur efficacité peut s'avérer difficile à mesurer.
  • Visiter les écoles pour informer et inscrire les jeunes.
  • Mettre en œuvre une plateforme Web contenant tous les renseignements sur les élections ainsi qu'un outil sur l'état de l'inscription des électeurs.
  • Mettre en place des bureaux de scrutin sur les campus.

Les participants discutent des gestes qu'ils peuvent poser
Les participants discutent des gestes qu'ils peuvent poser

Activité participative : Encourager les jeunes à agir! Actions et stratégies à mettre en place pour les prochaines élections

Les participants ont discuté de mesures qui peuvent être prises pour accroître la participation des jeunes pendant l'élection générale de 2015 ainsi que de façon générale. Les organismes ont recommandé les mesures suivantes ou se sont engagés à les mettre en œuvre :

  • Tenir, en plus des débats des chefs, des séances de consultation où l'on peut discuter des enjeux directement avec les candidats.
  • Communiquer avec les jeunes directement et encourager les dirigeants des collectivités à faire de même.
  • Organiser des ateliers axés sur les jeunes pour leur permettre d'accroître leur sens civique et leurs connaissances à cet égard.
  • Établir des partenariats entre des groupes autochtones et sensibiliser les membres de ces communautés à l'importance de leur vote.
  • Veiller à ce que les jeunes puissent utiliser diverses sources de renseignements sur l'inscription et les élections (p. ex. des publicités à la radio, à la télévision et dans les journaux, ou des rencontres directes). Offrir gratuitement des sources d'information sur les campus.
  • Encourager les jeunes à vérifier l'état de leur inscription en ligne.
  • Produire des ressources simples et adaptées aux jeunes.

Les participants ont indiqué avoir besoin des outils ci-dessous pour soutenir ces activités :

  • des partenariats avec d'autres groupes qui mènent des activités de sensibilisation auprès des jeunes;
  • des ressources de base qui expliquent où, quand et comment voter;
  • un accès à des ressources d'éducation civique gratuites et adaptées aux jeunes;
  • un financement;
  • davantage de recherches et de ressources d'éducation civique visant les groupes de jeunes sous-représentés (p. ex. les jeunes Autochtones).

À la fin de l'atelier, Miriam Lapp, directrice adjointe du Rayonnement à Élections Canada, a réitéré l'engagement de l'organisme à établir le contact avec les jeunes afin de s'assurer qu'ils savent comment s'inscrire et voter à l'élection fédérale de 2015. Elle a souligné l'importance de créer une communauté pour la participation citoyenne et de collaborer en vue de favoriser la participation des jeunes avant l'élection de 2015. Les participants ont été invités à transmettre leurs commentaires à Élections Canada sur le site Web.

Annexe : Liste des organismes participants

  • L'apathie c'est plate
  • Association des étudiantes et des étudiants de Laval inscrits aux études supérieures
  • Carrefour jeunesse-emploi de la MRC de Montmagny
  • Directeur général des élections du Québec (DGEQ)
  • Fédération des commissions scolaires du Québec (FCSQ)
  • Fédération étudiante collégiale du Québec (FECQ)
  • Fédération étudiante universitaire du Québec (FEUQ)
  • Forum jeunesse de la région de la Capitale-Nationale
  • Électeurs en herbe
  • Forum jeunesse régional Chaudière-Appalaches
  • Institut du Nouveau Monde
  • Regroupement Action Jeunesse 02
  • Regroupement des centres d'amitié autochtones du Québec (RCAAQ)
  • Réseau jeunesse des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador
  • Table de concertation des forums jeunesse régionaux du Québec (TCFJRQ)