Elections Canada logo
Site menu

First Nations, Métis, and Inuit electors

Indigenous people in Canada consist of First Nations, Inuit and Métis communities. Each has its own history and experience with voting in federal elections. Members of all three groups, however, identify similar barriers to electoral participation.

Access-related barriers

  • The 2019 National Electors Study showed that Indigenous electors were less likely to be registered to vote in the 2019 federal election (84% compared to 89% of non-Indigenous electors). Because of lower registration rates fewer Indigenous electors received a voter information card in the lead-up to the last federal election (86% compared to 93% of the general population).
  • Several factors can make registering and voting more difficult for Indigenous electors;
    • First Nations, Métis, and Inuit electors are more likely to live in remote places without standard civic addresses (like reserves, hamlets, and settlements).
    • Due to non-standard addresses, such as PO boxes, sections, concessions, ranges etc. Indigenous electors are less likely than the general population to have a piece of ID that proves their address.
    • Many First Nations, Métis, and Inuit electors who travel often between two or more communities (whether for school, work, hunting, or other reasons) say it is challenging to confirm the place where they should register and vote.
  • In their report on the 43rd Federal General Election, the Assembly of First Nations noted that the distance to polling stations continued to be identified as a barrier to voting. In many remote areas there is no public transportation and electors must have access to a private vehicle to get to the polls. Findings from the 2019 National Electors Study confirmed that Indigenous electors were less likely than the general population to find that it took a reasonable amount of time to get to the polls.
  • In some regions, traditional languages continue to play an important role, especially among elders.  While Elections Canada publishes voter information in 16 Indigenous languages, language barriers remain.

Motivational barriers

As noted above, each of Canada's First Nations, Inuit and Métis communities have their own unique history and experiences with federal elections. These histories have affected how many Indigenous electors view federal elections, and influence their decision to participate – or not to participate.

  • Until 1960, First Nations people could only vote in federal elections if they gave up their status. Exceptions were occasionally made for members of the armed forces on active duty.
  • Inuit people received the right to vote federally in 1950, however, access to voting services in their traditional lands was limited until 1962.
  • Métis people have always had the right to vote federally, but in certain parts of Canada, geographical and social isolation made voting difficult.

In recent federal elections, Indigenous participation has increased in some areas. Notably, the 2015 general election saw the smallest gap between on-reserve turnout and general population turnout since 2004. The same election saw the highest-ever number of Indigenous Members of Parliament elected.  While on-reserve turnout declined by nearly 10 percentage points in the 2019 federal election, it nevertheless remained higher than it had been throughout the 2000s.

Despite some progress, many First Nations, Métis, and Inuit electors continue to experience barriers like those listed above.

First Nations, Métis, and Inuit electors

Dabin, Simon, Jean François Daoust and Martin Papillon. 2018. « Indigenous Peoples and Affinity Voting in Canada. » Forthcoming in Canadian Journal of Political Science.

Goodman, Nicole, Chelsea Gabel and Brian Budd. 2018. « Online Voting in Indigenous Communities: Lessons from Canada. » International Joint Conference on Electronic Voting: E-Vote ID 2018. [Abstract, Voilà]

Elections Canada. 2011. « Aboriginal Electoral Participation in Canada »

Elections Canada. 2009. « Aboriginal Policy Research Conference »

Elections Canada. 2003. Electoral Insight – Aboriginal Participation in Elections

Élections Canada logo
Menu du site

Les Premières Nations et collectivités inuites et métisses

Au Canada, les Autochtones sont les membres des Premières Nations, les Inuits et les Métis. Chacune de leurs collectivités a son histoire et son vécu particuliers en ce qui concerne le vote aux élections fédérales. Cependant, les membres de ces trois groupes ont signalé des obstacles similaires nuisant à leur participation électorale.

Obstacles liés à l’accès

  • L'Étude nationale auprès des électeurs de 2019 révèle que les électeurs autochtones étaient moins susceptibles de s'inscrire pour voter aux élections fédérales de 2019 (84 % par rapport à 89 % d'électeurs non autochtones). En raison des taux d'inscription inférieurs, moins d'électeurs autochtones ont reçu une carte d'information de l'électeur à l'approche de la dernière élection fédérale (86 % par rapport à 93 % pour la population en général).
  • Plusieurs facteurs peuvent rendre l'inscription et le vote plus difficile pour les électeurs autochtones :
    • Les membres des Premières Nations et des collectivités inuites et métisses sont plus susceptibles de vivre dans des régions éloignées, sans avoir d'adresse municipale standard (p. ex. dans des réserves, des hameaux et des peuplements).
    • Comme ils n'ont pas d'adresse standard (c'est-à-dire pas de case postale, de section, de concession, de rang, etc.), les électeurs autochtones sont moins susceptibles que la population générale d'avoir une pièce d'identité portant leur adresse.
    • De nombreux membres des Premières Nations et des collectivités inuites et métisses qui se déplacent souvent entre deux communautés ou plus (pour fréquenter l'école, se rendre au travail, chasser, etc.) signalent qu'il est difficile de confirmer le lieu où ils doivent s'inscrire et voter.
  • Dans son rapport sur la 43e élection générale fédérale, l'Assemblée des Premières Nations note que la distance aux bureaux de vote continue de faire partie des obstacles au vote. De nombreuses régions éloignées ne sont pas desservies par le transport en commun, et les électeurs doivent avoir accès à un véhicule privé pour se rendre aux bureaux de vote. Les résultats de l'Étude nationale auprès des électeurs de 2019 confirment que les électeurs autochtones ont été moins susceptibles que la population générale à déclarer que le temps pour se rendre au lieu de vote était raisonnable.
  • Dans certaines régions, les langues traditionnelles continuent de jouer un rôle important, surtout chez les aînés. Même si Élections Canada publie l'information pour les électeurs en 16 langues autochtones, les obstacles linguistiques persistent.

Obstacles liés à la motivation

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, chaque collectivité autochtone du Canada a son histoire et son vécu particuliers en ce qui concerne les élections fédérales. Ces différentes expériences ont une incidence sur l'intérêt de nombreux électeurs autochtones pour les élections fédérales et leur décision d'y participer ou non.

  • Jusqu'en 1960, les membres des Premières Nations pouvaient voter aux élections fédérales uniquement à condition de renoncer à leur statut d'Indien. Les membres des forces armées en service actif faisaient occasionnellement l'objet d'exceptions.
  • Les Inuits ont reçu le droit de vote aux élections fédérales en 1950; toutefois, l'accès aux services de vote sur leurs territoires traditionnels ne leur a été offert qu'en 1962.
  • Les Métis ont toujours eu le droit de vote fédéral, mais l'isolement géographique et social de certaines régions du Canada a nui à leur possibilité de voter.

Lors de récentes élections fédérales, la participation autochtone a été à la hausse dans certaines régions. Notamment, l'écart le plus faible depuis 2004 entre la participation électorale des membres des Premières Nations vivant dans une réserve et celle de la population générale a été enregistré à l'élection générale de 2015. À cette élection, le plus grand nombre de députés des Premières Nations et des collectivités inuites et métisses a par ailleurs été élu. Même si le taux de participation électorale dans les réserves a diminué de près de 10 points de pourcentage lors de l'élection fédérale de 2019, il demeure tout de même supérieur à celui des années 2000.

Malgré quelques avancées positives, bon nombre de membres des Premières Nations et des collectivités inuites et métisses rencontrent encore des obstacles comme ceux mentionnés plus haut.

Premières Nations et collectivités inuites et métisses

Dabin, Simon, Jean François Daoust and Martin Papillon. 2018. « Indigenous Peoples and Affinity Voting in Canada. » Forthcoming in Canadian Journal of Political Science.

Elections Canada. 2011. « Participation électorale des Autochtones au Canada »

Elections Canada. 2009. « Conférence sur la recherche en matière de politiques autochtones  »

Goodman, Nicole, Chelsea Gabel and Brian Budd. 2018. « Online Voting in Indigenous Communities: Lessons from Canada. » International Joint Conference on Electronic Voting: E-Vote ID 2018. [Abstract, Voilà]

Élections Canada. 2003. Perspectives électorales – Les Autochtones et les élections