Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Winter 2018 Newsletter

Volume 13


In this issue

Upcoming events

Check the Inspire Democracy website for regular updates to our schedule of upcoming events. Here is one of them:

Soaring: Indigenous Youth Empowerment Gathering
Indspire

On March 22–23, 2018, Indspire will be hosting its annual career conference for Indigenous youth across the country. At Soaring, First Nation, Inuit and Métis students in grades 9–12 will learn about a myriad of career and post-secondary education options. At gatherings held across Canada, students participate in career workshops, learn about financial support, and meet Canada's top employers. The Elections Canada team is looking forward to participating in this great event!

New research

Canada is #IdleNoMore: Exploring dynamics of Indigenous political and civic protest in the Twitterverse

Vincent Raynauld, Emmanuelle Richez and Katie Boudreau (2017)

Social media plays an increasingly important role in our society. This article explores the impacts of social media on grassroots mobilization. The authors focus on the 2013 Idle No More campaign by exploring the way social media was used to gain visibility, mobilize support, and engage in political and civic action. A qualitative and quantitative content analysis of 1,650 shared #IdleNoMore tweets from the movement was conducted in order to explore this phenomenon. The authors found that “unlike other social media-intensive movements where economic and political concerns were the primary drivers of political and civil engagement, aspects of Indigenous culture influenced information flows and mobilization among #IdleNoMore tweeters.” Click here to learn more!

Tell us what you're doing

Have you recently conducted research on civic participation? Let us know and we'll share the results of your work or any useful information on our site.

Feedback

We'd love to know what you think. Send us an email.

Elections Canada on the Road

Elections Canada has started piloting a new series of Inspire Democracy workshops. Before the 2015 general election, Elections Canada held a series of civic engagement workshops in 10 cities across Canada to meet with youth-serving organizations, share the latest research on voting and civic engagement, and explore ways to prepare young electors to exercise their right to vote. Building on the successes and lessons learned from that experience, the new workshops look beyond youth.

Indigenous electors, electors with disabilities and new Canadians, in addition to youth, are more likely than other Canadians to face barriers when trying to participate in an election—barriers that may range from not knowing where to vote or not being familiar with the voting process to a general lack of political interest or low confidence in their political knowledge. Inspire Democracy workshops are a means to reach out to organizations and communities that serve these target groups to better understand their challenges, share tools and information with each other, and mobilize and prepare potential electors to vote.

In 2017–2018, Elections Canada launched its first kiosks and workshops. Consider inviting us to your next event!

Thunder Bay: November 15–16, 2017

Thunder Bay’s first Indigenous Knowledge Conference offered participants the opportunity to consider how Indigenous knowledge can be used in a wide spectrum of fields to advance understanding and good relationships with Indigenous communities. Elections Canada’s Inspire Democracy team was honoured to participate in the event with two discussion sessions and a kiosk that saw lively exchanges and sharing among attendees, with a particular focus on the First Nations perspective. Through these discussions, the group raised and examined historical inequities in Indigenous peoples’ right to vote federally, considered the range of opinions among Indigenous peoples about voting in a federal election, and proposed models of community, governance and civic action that are informed by Indigenous knowledge. The presence of numerous generations in these discussions, from elders to youth, made for enriching conversations in which many voices took part. Many thanks to the Indigenous Knowledge Conference for the opportunity to participate!

Inspire Democracy in Thunder Bay
Inspire Democracy in Thunder Bay

Toronto: November 18, 2017

Members of Elections Canada’s Inspire Democracy team attended the DemocracyXChange conference at Ryerson University in Toronto. This innovative and forward-thinking conference focused on civic engagement, practical campaign skills and tools to help individuals and startup teams connect and make change happen. Elections Canada hosted a kiosk and introduced its new Inspire Democracy initiative during the “XChange pitch.” There was a lot to learn about including a wide variety of pioneering tools and initiatives to promote civic engagement across the country. We appreciated meeting so many engaged and creative individuals.

Toronto: November 29–30, 2017

Elections Canada participated in the Health and Wellbeing in Developmental Disabilities conference in Toronto, where we met over 200 health care professionals, students, educators, caregivers and social workers who support persons with developmental and intellectual disabilities. In addition to hosting a kiosk where we showcased our accessible voting tools, we led a workshop to explore ways in which Elections Canada could collaborate with service providers as we roll out Inspire Democracy workshops for electors with disabilities.

Inspire Democracy in Toronto
Inspire Democracy in Toronto

Montréal: November 30–December 1, 2017

Over 700 educators of Indigenous students from grades K through 12 attended the Indspire’s National Gathering for Indigenous Education in Montréal. This fifth annual gathering was a huge success, and gave educators from across Canada the opportunity to network, share successful practices, and participate in over 70 workshops. As part of Elections Canada’s outreach activities, two members of the Inspire Democracy team hosted an information kiosk. This showcased employment opportunities, data from the 42nd election on Indigenous elector’s participation on reserves and our renewed civic education materials for students. We appreciated this unique opportunity to interact with educators and learn more about the important civic education work that they do!

Inspire Democracy in Montréal
Inspire Democracy in Montréal

Winnipeg: December 1, 2017

Elections Canada was invited to host a kiosk at the Canadian Museum for Human Rights in celebration of International Day of Persons with Disabilities. The theme of the event was “Attitude Matters.” Elections Canada had the opportunity to interact with community leaders and representatives of local and provincial organizations interested in civic engagement, many of whom will participate in an upcoming Inspire Democracy workshop planned for March 2018.

Ottawa: December 9–10, 2017

Elections Canada took part in the Disability, Technology, Inclusion: A Symposium on Interdisciplinary Research, History Exhibits and Pedagogy organized by Carleton University’s Disability Research Group. The goal of the kiosk was to promote Elections Canada’s accessible voting services and tools among influencers and community leaders to increase awareness about what Elections Canada is doing to make voting more accessible for all Canadians.

Ottawa: February 20–22, 2018

Carleton University hosted the Coming Up Together conference, a collaborative exchange of ideas between diverse change makers to advance the agenda of ending youth homelessness across Canada. Youth, community service providers, researchers and policy experts met at the University of Ottawa campus to share their experiences and perspectives on creating systemic solutions to youth homelessness.

Members of the Elections Canada Outreach team conducted two workshops around civic engagement and barriers to voting. This was an exceptional opportunity to chat with youth and service providers alike, and we are honoured to have been able to attend!

Inspire Democracy in Ottawa
Inspire Democracy in Ottawa

General updates

Everyday Political Citizen winners
Samara Canada

Everyday Political Citizen (EPC) is an annual contest organized by Samara Canada that highlights local stories about Canadians participating in their democracy, working to make their community better. The 2017 winners have been announced and, for the first time in the history of EPC, four finalists tied for first place in the Under 30 category, for a total of five inspiring winners!

Inuit Nunangat Taimannganit Storytelling Project
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK)

This storytelling project tells the story of Inuit Nunangat (the Inuit homeland in Canada) from time immemorial (taimannganit). Over two years, ITK will be sharing stories about Inuit connections to the land and sea, as well as their legends, histories, and relationship with the environment and all living things within it. Click here to watch the videos that have already been posted!

Ready to RISE?
Apathy is Boring

Apathy is Boring has launched a new initiative called RISE for youth between the ages of 18 and 30. RISE will help young people create community projects and strengthen our civic and democratic fabric by engaging on issues that they care about. Youth from all backgrounds who are interested in the theme of social inclusion are being recruited as volunteer RISE ambassadors.

Over the next two years, RISE will be developing 25 community projects across seven cities: Edmonton, Ottawa, Montréal, Toronto, Iqaluit, Halifax and Vancouver. In each city, the RISE ambassadors will be the lead creatives behind the community initiatives. The first round of regional hubs—Edmonton, Ottawa and Montréal—are about to be launched.

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

Bulletin de l'hiver 2018

Volume 13


Dans ce numéro

À venir

Consultez le site Web d'Inspirer la démocratie pour vous tenir au courant des mises à jour régulières de notre calendrier des activités à venir. Voici un d'entre eux.

Essor : Rassemblement pour l'autonomisation des jeunes Autochtones(en anglais seulement)
Indspire

Les 22 et 23 mars 2018, Indspire tiendra sa conférence annuelle sur les carrières pour les jeunes Autochtones de tout le pays. Dans le cadre de la conférence Essor, des élèves de la 9e à la 12e année faisant partie des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis obtiendront de l'information sur une foule de possibilités de carrière et de programmes d'études postsecondaires. Lors des rassemblements organisés aux quatre coins du pays, des élèves participeront à des ateliers sur les carrières, obtiendront de l'information sur l'aide financière offerte et rencontreront les meilleurs employeurs au Canada. L'équipe d'Élections Canada a hâte de participer à cette activité formidable!

Nouvelle recherche

« Canada is #IdleNoMore: Exploring dynamics of Indigenous political and civic protest in the Twitterverse » (en anglais seulement)
Vincent Raynauld, Emmanuelle Richez et Katie Boudreau (2017)

Les médias sociaux jouent un rôle de plus en plus important dans notre société. Cet article aborde l'incidence des médias sociaux sur la mobilisation populaire. Les auteurs se sont concentrés sur le mouvement « Idle No More » de 2013, en étudiant la façon dont les médias sociaux ont été utilisés pour acquérir de la notoriété, rallier des appuis et encourager les actions citoyennes et politiques. Une analyse qualitative et quantitative de 1 650 gazouillis publiés avec le mot-clic #IdleNoMore a permis d'étudier ce phénomène. Les auteurs ont constaté qu'au contraire d'autres mouvements très présents dans les médias sociaux, où les principaux moteurs d'engagement politique et civique étaient des enjeux économiques et politiques, c'est des aspects de la culture autochtone qui avaient influencé la circulation de l'information et la mobilisation des gazouilleurs de #IdleNoMore. Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus.

Dites-nous ce que vous faites

Avez-vous récemment mené une étude sur la participation civique des jeunes ou des Autochtones? Faites-nous-en part et nous communiquerons les résultats de vos travaux ou toute information utile sur notre site.

Commentaires

Nous serions heureux de connaître votre avis. Écrivez-nous.

Élections Canada sur la route

Élections Canada a commencé à mettre à l'essai une nouvelle série d'ateliers « Inspirer la démocratie ». Avant l'élection générale de 2015, Élections Canada a organisé une série d'ateliers sur la participation citoyenne dans 10 villes canadiennes pour rencontrer des organismes jeunesse, leur présenter les résultats des dernières études sur le vote et la participation citoyenne, et explorer des moyens de préparer les jeunes électeurs à l'exercice du droit de vote. Forts des résultats positifs et des leçons tirées de cette expérience, nous avons lancé de nouveaux ateliers qui vont au-delà des jeunes.

Les Autochtones, les personnes handicapées et les nouveaux Canadiens, tout comme les jeunes, sont plus susceptibles que les autres électeurs canadiens de se heurter à des obstacles lorsqu'ils tentent de participer à une élection. Ces obstacles peuvent aller du fait de ne pas savoir où voter à une faible confiance en leurs connaissances politiques, en passant par une méconnaissance du processus de vote et un manque d'intérêt général pour la politique. Les ateliers « Inspirer la démocratie » permettent d'établir un dialogue avec des organismes et des communautés qui sont au service de ces groupes cibles, pour mieux comprendre les difficultés auxquelles ils font face, échanger des outils et de l'information, mobiliser les électeurs et les préparer à voter.

En 2017-2018, Élections Canada a tenu ses premiers kiosques et ateliers. Pensez à nous inviter à vos prochaines activités!

Thunder Bay : 15 et 16 novembre 2017

La première conférence sur les connaissances autochtones (en anglais seulement), qui a eu lieu à Thunder Bay, a permis aux participants d'examiner des façons d'utiliser les connaissances autochtones dans une multitude de domaines pour favoriser l'entente et de bonnes relations avec les communautés autochtones. L'équipe du projet « Inspirer la démocratie » à Élections Canada a eu l'honneur de participer à cette conférence, en animant deux séances de discussion et en tenant un kiosque où ont eu lieu des discussions animées, axées plus particulièrement sur le point de vue des Premières Nations. Au cours de ces discussions, le groupe a parlé des injustices historiques entourant le droit de vote fédéral des Autochtones et de leurs diverses opinions du vote aux élections fédérales. Il a proposé des modèles de communauté, de gouvernance et d'action citoyenne fondés sur les connaissances autochtones. La présence de plusieurs générations, jeunes et moins jeunes, a donné lieu à des conversations enrichissantes où de nombreux points de vue ont été présentés. Nous remercions les organisateurs de la conférence de nous avoir donné la chance d'y participer!

Inspirer la démocratie à Thunder Bay
Inspirer la démocratie à Thunder Bay

Toronto : 18 novembre 2017

Des membres de l'équipe du projet « Inspirer la démocratie » à Élections Canada ont participé à la conférence DemocracyXChange (en anglais seulement) organisée à l'Université Ryerson, à Toronto. Cette conférence innovante et avant-gardiste a porté essentiellement sur la participation citoyenne, les compétences pratiques nécessaires pour faire campagne et les outils qui peuvent aider les citoyens et les équipes de démarrage à se faire des contacts et à provoquer des changements. Élections Canada a tenu un kiosque et présenté son nouveau projet « Inspirer la démocratie » lors d'une séance de promotion. Il y avait beaucoup à apprendre, y compris sur toutes sortes d'outils et de projets novateurs visant à promouvoir la participation citoyenne à la grandeur du pays. Nous sommes heureux d'avoir rencontré tant de personnes engagées et créatives.

Toronto : 29 et 30 novembre 2017

Élections Canada a participé à une conférence sur la santé et le bien-être des personnes ayant un trouble du développement (en anglais seulement) à Toronto. Nous y avons rencontré plus de 200 professionnels de la santé, étudiants, enseignants, soignants et travailleurs sociaux qui viennent en aide aux personnes ayant un trouble du développement ou une déficience intellectuelle. En plus de tenir un kiosque où étaient exposés nos outils favorisant l'accessibilité du vote, nous avons animé un atelier sur les façons dont Élections Canada pourrait collaborer avec des fournisseurs de services pendant le déploiement des ateliers « Inspirer la démocratie » pour les électeurs handicapés.

Inspirer la démocratie à Toronto
Inspirer la démocratie à Toronto

Montréal : 30 novembre et 1er décembre 2017

Plus de 700 enseignants qui travaillent auprès d'élèves autochtones de la maternelle à la 12e année ont participé, à Montréal, au rassemblement national Indspire pour l'éducation des Autochtones (en anglais seulement). Ce cinquième rassemblement annuel a connu un grand succès et a permis à des enseignants de partout au pays de faire du réseautage, d'échanger des pratiques efficaces et de participer à plus de 70 ateliers. À des fins de rayonnement, deux membres de l'équipe du projet « Inspirer la démocratie » ont tenu un kiosque d'information sur les possibilités d'emploi, les données de la 42e élection générale sur la participation électorale dans les réserves et nos produits d'éducation civique renouvelés pour les élèves. Nous sommes ravis d'avoir eu cette occasion unique d'échanger avec des enseignants et d'en apprendre plus sur leur important travail d'éducation civique.

Winnipeg : 1er décembre 2017

Élections Canada a été invité à tenir un kiosque au Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne, à l'occasion de la Journée internationale des personnes handicapées (en anglais seulement). Le thème de l'activité était « Attitude Matters ». Les représentants d'Élections Canada ont pu échanger avec des chefs de file communautaires et des représentants d'organismes locaux et provinciaux qui s'intéressent à la participation citoyenne. Bon nombre d'entre eux participeront d'ailleurs à un atelier « Inspirer la démocratie » prévu en mars 2018.

Ottawa : 9 et 10 décembre 2017

Élections Canada a participé au symposium Disability, Technology, Inclusion: A Symposium on Interdisciplinary Research, History Exhibits and Pedagogy (en anglais seulement), organisé par le Groupe de recherche sur les déficiences de l'Université Carleton. Le kiosque visait à promouvoir les outils et les services offerts par Élections Canada pour favoriser l'accessibilité du vote auprès de personnes d'influence et de chefs de file communautaires, pour mieux les informer des mesures prises par l'organisme pour rendre le vote accessible à tous les Canadiens.

Ottawa : 20, 21 et 22 février 2018

L'Université Carleton a tenu la conférence « Coming Up Together » (en anglais seulement), où s'est déroulé un échange concerté d'idées entre divers agents de changement pour aider à éliminer l'itinérance chez les jeunes au Canada. Des jeunes, des fournisseurs de services communautaires, des chercheurs et des experts se sont réunis sur le campus de l'Université d'Ottawa pour parler de leurs expériences et de leurs points de vue sur des solutions systémiques au problème de l'itinérance chez les jeunes.

Des membres de l'équipe de Rayonnement d'Élections Canada ont animé deux ateliers sur la participation citoyenne et les obstacles au vote. C'était une occasion exceptionnelle de discuter avec les jeunes et les fournisseurs de services, et nous sommes honorés d'avoir pu participer à cette conférence.

Inspirer la démocratie à Ottawa
Inspirer la démocratie à Ottawa

En général

Les gagnants du concours « Les citoyens politiques au quotidien »
(en anglais seulement)
Samara Canada

« Les citoyens politiques au quotidien » est un concours annuel organisé par Samara pour souligner le travail de Canadiens qui participent à la vie démocratique et qui cherchent à améliorer leur communauté. Les gagnants de 2017 ont été annoncés, et pour la toute première fois, quatre finalistes se partagent la première place dans la catégorie des moins de 30 ans, ce qui fait au total cinq gagnants inspirants!

Le projet de narration Inuit Nunangat Taimannganit
(en anglais seulement)
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK)

Ce projet vise à raconter l'histoire d'Inuit Nunangat (terre natale des Inuits du Canada) depuis des temps immémoriaux (taimannganit). Au cours des deux prochaines années, ITK publiera des récits qui mettent en valeur les liens des Inuits avec la terre et la mer, leurs légendes, leur passé et leur relation avec l'environnement et tous les êtres vivants. Cliquez ici pour regarder les vidéos qui ont déjà été mises en ligne.

Êtes-vous prêt à AGIR?
L'apathie c'est plate

L'apathie c'est plate a lancé une nouvelle initiative appelée AGIR, qui s'adresse aux jeunes de 18 à 30 ans. L'initiative aidera des jeunes à créer des projets communautaires et à renforcer notre tissu social et démocratique en s'occupant d'enjeux qui leur tiennent à cœur. L'organisme est en train de recruter des jeunes de tous les horizons qui s'intéressent à l'inclusion sociale, comme ambassadeurs bénévoles de cette initiative.

Au cours des deux prochaines années, l'initiative AGIR donnera naissance à 25 projets communautaires dans sept villes canadiennes : Edmonton, Ottawa, Montréal, Toronto, Iqaluit, Halifax et Vancouver. Dans chaque ville, les ambassadeurs dirigeront la création des projets communautaires. Les premiers centres régionaux, soit ceux d'Edmonton, d'Ottawa et de Montréal, sont sur le point de voir le jour.