Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

March 2017 Newsletter

Volume 10


What's new at Inspire Democracy?

In this issue

  • New research
    • “Civic Engagement in a Digital Age”
      Canadian Parliamentary Review
    • “Educating for Democracy in a Partisan Age: Confronting the Challenges of Motivated Reasoning and Misinformation” by Joseph Kahne & Benjamin Bowyer
  • New tools
    • Civic Engagement Kit—Making Voices Count
  • General updates
    • Filing taxes?
    • Student Vote—CIVIX
  • Upcoming elections
    • British Columbia provincial election
    • Federal by-elections
  • Coming soon
    • Youth research papers

General updates

Filing taxes?

Elections Canada is encouraging Canadians to check the boxes on page 1 of their income tax return to ensure they are registered to vote. For Canadian citizens, consenting to share your name, address and date of birth with Elections Canada is the easiest way to ensure you are on the federal voters list at the correct address. An accurate list helps Elections Canada to better plan for elections and better serve electors.

Student Vote

CIVIX is organizing a Student Vote parallel election for elementary and high schools coinciding with the 2017 British Columbia provincial election. Students from across the province will learn about government and the electoral process, engage in the campaign and cast ballots for the official local candidates. Educators are invited to register their school and receive free educational materials and election supplies: http://studentvote.ca/registration/

Upcoming elections

British Columbia

The next provincial election will take place on May 9, 2017.

Federal by-elections

Five federal by-elections were called in February to fill vacant seats in the following ridings: Calgary Heritage, Calgary Midnapore, Markham–Thornhill, Ottawa–Vanier and Saint-Laurent. Election day is Monday, April 3, 2017, and advance voting days are March 24, 25, 26 and 27.

Coming soon

Youth research papers

Elections Canada commissioned five academic papers based on data from the 2015 National Youth Survey. These papers—prepared by graduate students and young academics from McGill University, Université de Montréal and Université du Québec à Montréal—will be published on Elections Canada's Inspire Democracy website in the coming months; stay tuned!

Tell us what you are doing

Have you recently conducted research on youth or Indigenous civic participation? Let us know and we'll share the results of your work or any useful information on our site.

Feedback

We would love to know what you think. Send us an email.

What's new at Inspire Democracy?

Elections Canada is hoping to expand its successful Inspire Democracy workshop series directed at youth, which took place in 2014. In spring 2017, Elections Canada will be piloting another workshop series with an emphasis on Indigenous electors. Details have yet to be finalized; however, if your organization is interested in learning more about these workshops, please email us for details. Keep checking our Facebook and Twitter pages in the coming months for updates on the Inspire Democracyworkshopseries.

2015 – A historic election!

  • 2015: Historic Indigenous turnout and highest general population turnout since 1993
  • Significant Indigenous community-led mobilization efforts
  • Broad collaboration between Elections Canada and Indigenous community organizations was instrumental in spreading the word

See new infographics on the Inspire Democracy website!




New research

Civic Engagement in a Digital Age

Canadian Parliamentary Review (2016)

This article explores the trend towards creating digital applications (apps) designed to raise interest and understanding of our democratic systems. Commentators suggest that these applications will be most effective when widely promoted, and that they are only one part of the broader engagement strategies which will focus on open data initiatives and fostering two-way communication between politicians, governments and the public.

Educating for Democracy in a Partisan Age: Confronting the Challenges of Motivated Reasoning and Misinformation”

Joseph Kahne & Benjamin Bowyer (2017)

Recently published in the American Educational Research Journal, this article investigates youth judgments of the accuracy of truth claims tied to controversial public issues. A nationally representative group of 2,101 youth (aged 15–27) were asked to judge the accuracy of one of several simulated online posts. Consistent with research on motivated reasoning, youth assessments depended on (a) the alignment of the claim with one’s prior policy position, and to a lesser extent on (b) whether the post included an inaccurate statement. To consider ways educators might improve judgments of accuracy, the authors also investigated the influence of political knowledge and exposure to media literacy education. The authors found that political knowledge did not improve judgments of accuracy but that media literacy education did. Read the article to learn more!

Check the box when you file your taxes


New tools

We've added new tools and resources to Inspire Democracy.

Civic Engagement Kit

Making Voices Count (2016)

This kit encourages the long-term civic engagement of residents. It helps residents bring community concerns to the attention of City decision makers so that positive change happens. This kit originated from an initiative originally called Making Votes Count, funded by the Ontario Trillium Foundation and the Catherine Donnelly Foundation, to engage low-income Ottawa residents in elections (2013–2016).

Making Voices Count

Sneak peek of the Making Voices Count Engagement Toolkit

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

Bulletin de mars 2017

Volume 10


Dans ce numéro

Quoi de neuf chez Inspirer la démocratie

  • Nouvelles recherches
    • « L’engagement civique à l’ère numérique » Revue parlementaire canadienne
    • « Educating for Democracy in a Partisan Age: Confronting the Challenges of Motivated Reasoning and Misinformation » par Joseph Kahne et Benjamin Bowyer
  • Nouveaux outils
    • Trousse de participation citoyenne – Faire compter les voix
  • En général
    • C’est le temps des impôts
    • Vote étudiant – CIVIX
  • Élections à venir
    • Élection générale en Colombie Britannique
    • Élections partielles fédérales
  • À venir
    • Travaux de recherche sur les jeunes

En général

C'est le temps des impôts

Élections Canada invite les Canadiens à cocher les cases pertinentes sur la première page de leur déclaration de revenus, afin de s'assurer qu'ils sont inscrits pour voter. Le consentement à communiquer nom, adresse et date de naissance à Élections Canada est la façon la plus simple pour les citoyens canadiens de s'assurer qu'ils figurent sur la liste électorale à la bonne adresse. Une liste à jour permet à Élections Canada de mieux planifier les élections et de mieux servir les électeurs.

Vote étudiant

CIVIX organise une élection parallèle pour les élèves du primaire et du secondaire, qui coïncidera avec l'élection générale de 2017 en Colombie-Britannique. Des élèves de toute la province en apprendront davantage sur le gouvernement et le processus électoral, participeront à la campagne et voteront pour l'un des candidats officiels de leur circonscription. Les enseignants qui inscriront leur école recevront gratuitement du matériel pédagogique et électoral.

Élections à venir

Colombie-Britannique(en anglais seulement)

La prochaine élection générale aura lieu le 9 mai 2017.

Élections partielles fédérales

En février, on a annoncé la tenue de cinq élections partielles pour combler les sièges vacants dans les circonscriptions suivantes : Calgary Heritage, Calgary Midnapore, Markham–Thornhill, Ottawa–Vanier et Saint-Laurent. L’élection se tiendra le 3 avril 2017, et les électeurs pourront voter par anticipation les 24, 25, 26 et 27 mars.

À venir

Travaux de recherche sur les jeunes

Élections Canada avait commandé cinq travaux universitaires fondés sur les données de l'Enquête nationale auprès des jeunes 2015. Ces travaux—qui ont été réalisés par des étudiants de cycle supérieur et de jeunes universitaires de l'Université McGill, de l'Université de Montréal et de l'Université du Québec à Montréal—seront publiés sur le site « Inspirer la démocratie » d'Élections Canada dans les mois à venir; c'est à suivre!

Dites-nous ce que vous faites

Avez-vous récemment mené une étude sur la participation civique des jeunes ou des Autochtones? Faites nous en part et nous communiquerons les résultats de vos travaux ou toute information utile sur notre site.

Informez-nous de vos initiatives

Avez-vous mené dernièrement des recherches sur la participation civique des jeunes? Faites-nous en part et nous communiquerons les résultats de vos travaux ou toute information utile sur notre site.

Commentaires

Nous serions heureux de connaître votre avis. Envoyez-nous un courriel.

Quoi de neuf chez Inspirer la démocratie

Élections Canada espère pouvoir élargir sa série d'ateliers Inspirer la démocratie, des ateliers destinés aux jeunes qui ont été couronnés de succès en 2014. Au printemps 2017, Élections Canada organisera une autre série d'ateliers qui accorderont une place importante aux électeurs autochtones. Les détails restent à déterminer; cependant, si votre organisation souhaite en savoir davantage sur cette initiative, écrivez-nous. Dans les mois à venir, continuez de nous suivre sur Facebook et Twitter afin de connaître les dernières nouvelles sur la série d'ateliers Inspirer la démocratie.

2015 : Une élection historique!

  • 2015 : Taux de participation historique chez les Autochtones et plus haut taux de participation global depuis 1993
  • Les communautés autochtones ont mené d'importants efforts de mobilisation
  • La vaste collaboration entre Élections Canada et les organismes autochtones a été essentielle pour passer le mot

Voir les nouvelles infographies sur le site d'Inspirer la démocratie!


Nouvelles recherches

« L'engagement civique à l'ère numérique »

Revue parlementaire canadienne (2016)

Cet article traite de la tendance à créer des applications en vue de susciter un intérêt pour nos systèmes démocratiques et en améliorer la connaissance. Les intervenants interrogés suggèrent que ces applications gagneront en efficacité lorsqu'elles feront l'objet d'une vaste promotion. Enfin, elles ne seraient qu'un élément d'un ensemble de stratégies de rayonnement élargi, qui miseront sur des initiatives de données ouvertes et favoriseront le dialogue entre les politiciens, les gouvernements et le public.

« Educating for Democracy in a Partisan Age: Confronting the Challenges of Motivated Reasoning and Misinformation » (en anglais seulement)

Joseph Kahne et Benjamin Bowyer (2017)

Récemment publié dans le American Educational Research Journal, cet article étudie la façon dont les jeunes jugent de la véracité des affirmations liées à des affaires publiques controversées. On a demandé à un groupe représentatif national de 2 101 jeunes (âgés de 15 à 27 ans) de juger de l'exactitude d'un message parmi plusieurs publications fictives en ligne. Tout comme l'ont démontré les études sur le raisonnement motivé, le jugement des jeunes dépendait (a) de la concordance de l'affirmation avec leur opinion politique initiale et, dans une moindre mesure, (b) de la présence d'une déclaration trompeuse. Pour trouver des moyens qui permettraient aux enseignants d'améliorer la capacité des jeunes de mesurer l'authenticité d'un message, les auteurs se sont également penchés sur l'influence des connaissances politiques et sur l'éducation aux médias. Les auteurs concluent que l'éducation aux médias améliore la mesure de l'authenticité, contrairement aux connaissances politiques. Pour en savoir plus, lisez l'article!

Cochez la case dans votre déclaration de revenus


Nouveaux outils

Nous avons ajouté de nouveaux outils et ressources sur le site Inspirer la démocratie.

Trousse de participation citoyenne

Faire compter les voix (2016)

Cette trousse favorise la participation citoyenne à long terme. Elle aide les citoyens à attirer l'attention des décideurs municipaux sur les préoccupations de la communauté, afin d'opérer des changements positifs. Cette trousse est le résultat d'une initiative intitulée « Faire compter les voix », financée par la Fondation Trillium de l'Ontario et la Fondation Catherine Donnelly, en vue de stimuler la participation électorale des citoyens à faible revenu d'Ottawa (2013-2016).

Faire Compter Les Voix

La trousse de participation citoyenne : Faire compter les voix – Trousse pour le dialogue avec [les] décideurs municipaux