Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

November 2016 Newsletter

Volume 9

Highlights



In this issue

  • New research
    • Can You Hear Me Now: Young People and the 2015 Federal Election — Samara Canada
    • Understanding the Increase in Voting Rates Between the 2011 and 2015 Federal Elections — Statistics Canada
    • Estimation of Voter Turnout by Age Group and Gender at the 2015 General Election – Elections Canada
  • New tools
    • Elections Alberta: Creating Sustainable Dialogue Around Elections — Apathy is Boring
    • A Day in the Life of a Member of Parliament — Samara
    • Voting Benefits Fact Sheets — Nonprofit VOTE
  • General updates
    • Canada’s Democracy Week 2016: Updates and Highlights
    • Everyday Political Citizens Contest—Samara
  • Upcoming elections
    • British Columbia Provincial Election
  • Election outcomes
    • Results from the PEI Plebiscite

General updates

Canada's Democracy Week 2016

As part of Canada's Democracy Week 2016, the “Teaching Democracy: Let's talk teacher needs” event was held at the University of Ottawa, in partnership with the Faculty of Education, on September 22. This event sought to help pre-service teachers become familiar with tools and organizations that can help them teach civics in their classrooms. Along with Elections Canada, several organizations took part in this event, including Samara Canada, CIVIX, Elections Ontario and the Library of Parliament. Chief Electoral Officer Marc Mayrand delivered opening remarks at this event, which were streamed live. Listen to Mr. Mayrand's remarks.

Two more “Teaching Democracy” events were also recently held—one at the University of Victoria on November 26 and another at the University of Toronto's Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE) on November 29. Be sure to check our next newsletter for updates on these events!

Everyday Political Citizen

Over 200 nominators and nominees participated in Samara's Everyday Political Citizen project. This contest highlights local stories about Canadians participating in their democracy. Anybody could nominate someone working towards improving their community.

The contest is now closed, and on November 22, 2016, Samara announced the Shortlist for the three age categories (Under 18, 18 to 29, and 30 or older). Visit the website today!

Upcoming elections

British Columbia

The next provincial election will take place on May 9, 2017.

Elections outcomes

Plebiscite in Prince Edward Island

Between October 29 and November 7, 2016, Prince Edward Island held a plebiscite. Citizens were asked to order five voting systems options by preference. The five options include: 1) the current first-past-the-post (FPTP), 2) a tweaked FPTP system, 3) preferential voting, 4) dual member proportional representation, 5) mixed member proportional representation.

With 52.42 percent of the vote, the majority of P.E.I. electors chose a mixed member proportional representation. Take a look at the helpful guide and video (created by Elections PEI) explaining what a mixed member proportional representation would look like in Canada.

Tell us what you are doing

Have you recently conducted research on youth civic participation? Let us know and we'll include your research or information on our site.

Feedback

We would love to know what you think. Send us an email.

New research

Can You Hear Me Now: Young People and the 2015 Federal Election

Samara Canada (2016)

The myth of apathetic youth has been debunked! Following the last general election in 2015, Samara surveyed Canadians about their experiences during the last electoral campaign. They analyzed survey responses by age group: 18 to 29, 30 to 55, and 56 and older. Some key findings detailed in this report include: 1) young people were more likely to discuss politics compared to older adults, 2) voting has become a more social and shared experience as young voters were more likely to share that they voted, 3) parties contacted older adults more than they contacted young people, with only 52 percent of young Canadians reported being contacted compared with 82 percent of the oldest age group and 4) very few (1 in 5) Canadians did not want to be contacted by political parties. Read the full report to learn more about the myth of youth apathy and how Samara has effectively debunked it with their research.

Understanding the Increase in Voting Rates Between the 2011 and 2015 Federal Elections

Statistics Canada (2016)

Which population groups experienced the largest increases in voter turnout between the 41st and 42nd general elections? Statistics Canada uses supplementary questions added to the Labour Force Survey after the last general election to assess these changes in detail. This report lends focus to youth, whose participation rates increased faster compared to older adults. This report also explores the voting rate increase among Aboriginal people (First Nations living off-reserve, Métis and Inuit), recent immigrants, and youth with varying levels of education. Read the full report to learn more about the intricacies of these voting trends and for helpful visual representations.

Estimation of Voter Turnout by Age Group and Gender at the 2015 General Election

Elections Canada

This report presents estimates of voter turnout by various demographic groups defined by age and gender, at the national, provincial and territorial levels for the 42nd general election, held on October 19, 2015. Tables of the detailed estimates presented in the report, along with their associated statistical margins of error, are also available. In 2015, the overall federal voter turnout based on eligible electors increased to 66.1% from 58.5% in 2011. This change is driven by stronger participation by youth aged 18–24 (18.3 percentage points), voters aged 25–34 (12.3 percentage points), 35–44 (7.4 percentage points) and, to a lesser extent, those aged 75 and over (7.1 percentage points). The remarkable increase in the two youngest groups is unprecedented!


New tools

We’ve added many new tools and resources to Inspire Democracy. Here are just a couple.

Elections Alberta: Creating Sustainable Dialogue Around Elections

Apathy is Boring (2016)

Youth voter rates increased by nearly 20% in the last federal election. Apathy is Boring is seeking to maintain this momentum so that this trend continues into future provincial elections. In collaboration with Elections Alberta, they have created three helpful tools that will keep the conversations about voting and civic engagement going between provincial elections:

  1. A manual for community organizations includes advice, case studies and other helpful tips to support youth engagement.
  2. A Day in the Life Quiz which is intended to demonstrate how everyday life is deeply affected by municipal, provincial and federal government. Download this quiz today!
  3. This short informative video explains how government works and how issues that YOU care about are affected by voting and relevant policies.

A Day in the Life of a Member of Parliament

Samara (2016)

Samara has created an educational video explaining the day-to-day responsibilities and challenges of members of Parliament (MP). At just under 5 minutes long, this video follows Priya, a recently elected MP, who takes the viewer through her typical day in Ottawa.

 A Day in the Life of a Member of Parliament

A screenshot taken from “A Day in the Life of a Member of Parliament” created by Samara Canada.

Benefits of Voting Fact Sheets

Nonprofit VOTE (2014)

This American organization has created four useful and concise fact sheets on several different areas of interest: 1) Benefits for Voters: the benefits that voting has for the elector, 2) Benefits for Nonprofits: how electoral engagement helps build stronger nonprofit organizations, 3) Voting and Health: the health benefits connected to voting and 4) Who Votes Matters: the ways in which non-voters affect public policy and issues of importance to nonprofits. These fact sheets are useful for organizations who wish to encourage electoral participation among youth and other key groups.

Following the 2014 midterm election in the United States, Nonprofit VOTE released a report “Engaging New Voters: The Impact of Nonprofit Voter Outreach on Client and Community Turnout,” which evaluates the potential of non-profit service providers and community-based organizations to increase voting in the election. Read this report to learn more about how can non-profit and community-based organizations make a real impact on voter turnout. These findings can help your organization too!

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

Bulletin de novembre 2016

Volume 9


Dans ce numéro

  • Nouvelles recherches
    • M'entendez-vous? Les jeunes et l'élection fédérale de 2015 — Samara Canada
    • Comprendre l'augmentation de la participation électorale entre les élections fédérales de 2011 et 2015 — Statistique Canada
    • Estimation du taux de participation par groupe d'âge et par sexe à l'élection générale de 2015 – Élections Canada
  • Nouveaux outils
    • Élections Alberta : Créer un dialogue durable autour des élections — L'apathie c'est plate
    • Une journée dans la vie d'une députée — Samara
    • Fiches sur les avantages du vote — Nonprofit VOTE
  • En général
    • Semaine canadienne de la démocratie 2016 : Faits récents et points saillants
    • Concours Les citoyens politiques au quotidien — Samara
  • Élections à venir
    • Élection provinciale en Colombie-Britannique
  • Résultats électoraux
    • Résultats du plébiscite à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

En général

Semaine canadienne de la démocratie 2016

Le 22 septembre, dans le cadre de la Semaine canadienne de la démocratie 2016, s'est tenue à l'Université d'Ottawa l'activité « Enseigner la démocratie : Parlons des besoins des enseignants », en partenariat avec la Faculté d'éducation. L'activité visait à aider les futurs enseignants à se familiariser avec les outils et les organisations qui peuvent les aider à enseigner les notions civiques à leurs élèves. Élections Canada, ainsi que plusieurs organisations, notamment Samara Canada, CIVIX, Élections Ontario et la Bibliothèque du Parlement, y ont pris part. Le directeur général des élections, M. Marc Mayrand, a prononcé le discours d'ouverture, qui a été diffusé en continu en direct. Écouter l'allocution de M. Mayrand.

Deux autres activités sous le thème « Enseigner la démocratie » ont récemment eu lieu : une à l'Université de Victoria, le 26 novembre, et une à l'Institut d'études pédagogiques de l'Ontario de l'Université de Toronto, le 29 novembre. Nous ferons le point sur ces activités dans notre prochain bulletin.

Les citoyens politiques au quotidien (en anglais seulement)

Plus de 200 proposants et candidats ont participé au projet de Samara « Les citoyens politiques au quotidien ». Ce concours met en vedette des Canadiens ordinaires qui participent à la démocratie. Quiconque pouvait proposer la candidature d'une personne qui s'efforce d'améliorer sa communauté.

Le concours est maintenant terminé. Le 22 novembre 2016, Samara a annoncé les candidats (en anglais seulement) retenus dans les trois groupes d'âge (moins de 18 ans, 18 à 29 ans, et 30 ans et plus). Rendez-vous sur le site Web aujourd'hui (en anglais seulement).

Activités à venir

Colombie-Britannique (en anglais seulement)

La prochaine élection provinciale se tiendra le 9 mai 2017.

Résultats électoraux

Plébiscite à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (en anglais seulement)

Du 29 octobre au 7 novembre 2016, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard a tenu un plébiscite. On a demandé aux citoyens de placer en ordre de préférence cinq modes de scrutin. Les cinq options étaient : 1) le système uninominal majoritaire à un tour (le système actuel); 2) une version modifiée de l'option 1; 3) le mode de scrutin préférentiel 4) le système mixte binominal avec compensation proportionnelle; 5) le système mixte avec compensation proportionnelle.

La majorité des électeurs de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, soit 52,42 %, a choisi un système de représentation proportionnelle mixte. Voici le guide pratique et la vidéo (créés par Élection Î.-P.-É.) expliquant quel serait l'effet d'un tel système au Canada.

Dites-nous ce que vous faites

Avez-vous récemment mené une étude sur la participation civique des jeunes? Faites-nous-en part et nous la publierons sur notre site.

Commentaires

Nous serions heureux de connaître votre avis. Envoyez-nous un courriel.

Nouvelles recherches

M'entendez-vous? Les jeunes et l'élection fédérale de 2015

Samara Canada (2016)

Le mythe de la jeunesse apathique a été déboulonné! Après l'élection générale de 2015, Samara a mené un sondage auprès des Canadiens sur leur expérience durant la dernière campagne électorale. Les résultats ont été analysés en fonction de groupes d'âge, soit 18 à 29 ans, 30 à 55 ans, et 56 et plus. Parmi les principales conclusions, notons les suivantes : 1) les jeunes étaient plus enclins à parler de politique comparativement aux adultes plus âgés; 2) le vote est devenu une expérience plus sociale et collective puisque les jeunes électeurs sont plus susceptibles de faire savoir qu'ils ont voté; 3) les partis ont communiqué davantage avec les adultes plus âgés qu'avec les jeunes, seulement 52 % des jeunes canadiens ayant indiqué avoir été contactés, comparativement à 82 % chez les 56 ans et plus; 4) très peu de Canadiens (1 sur 5) ne souhaitaient pas que les partis politiques communiquent avec eux. Nous vous invitons à lire le rapport pour en apprendre plus sur le mythe de la jeunesse apathique et la façon dont Samara a réussi, grâce à ses recherches, à le déconstruire.

Comprendre l'augmentation de la participation électorale entre les élections fédérales de 2011 et 2015

Statistique Canada (2016)

Quels sont les groupes de population dont la participation électorale a le plus augmenté entre la 41e et la 42e élection générale? Statistique Canada, au moyen de questions supplémentaires ajoutées à l'Enquête sur la population active après la dernière élection, évalue ces variations en profondeur. Dans le rapport, on fait ressortir l'importance des jeunes, dont les taux de participation ont augmenté plus rapidement si on les compare à ceux des adultes plus âgés. On examine également l'augmentation du taux de participation des Autochtones (Premières Nations habitant à l'extérieur des réserves, Métis et Inuits), des nouveaux immigrants, et des jeunes, quel que soit leur niveau de scolarisation. Pour en savoir plus sur les complexités de ces tendances et consulter d'utiles représentations visuelles, ne manquez pas de lire le rapport.

Estimation du taux de participation par groupe d’âge et par sexe à l’élection générale de 2015

Élections Canada

Dans le rapport, on présente une estimation du taux de participation en fonction de divers groupes démographiques établis selon l'âge et le sexe, à l'échelle nationale, provinciale et territoriale, à la 42e élection générale qui s'est tenue le 19 octobre 2015. Des tableaux des estimations détaillées présentées dans le rapport, ainsi que les marges d'erreur statistiques s'y rattachant, sont également disponibles. En 2015, le taux de participation électorale fédérale fondé sur les électeurs admissibles était de 66,1 %, comparativement à 58,5 % en 2011. Cette hausse est attribuable à une plus forte participation des jeunes de 18 à 24 ans (18,3 points de pourcentage), des électeurs de 25 à 34 ans (12,3 points de pourcentage), des 35 à 44 ans (7,4 points de pourcentage) et, dans une moindre mesure, des électeurs âgés de 75 ans et plus (7,1 points de pourcentage). La hausse exceptionnelle chez les deux groupes les plus jeunes est sans précédent.

Nouveaux outils

Nous avons ajouté bon nombre de nouveaux outils et ressources sur le site Inspirer la démocratie. En voici quelques exemples.

Élections Alberta : Créer un dialogue durable autour des élections(en anglais seulement)

L'apathie c'est plate (2016)

Le taux de participation des jeunes électeurs a augmenté de près de 20 % lors de la dernière élection fédérale. L'apathie c'est plate cherche à maintenir cette tendance pour qu'elle s'étende aux élections provinciales à venir. En collaboration avec Élections Alberta, l'organisme a créé trois outils pratiques qui contribueront à alimenter les discussions sur le vote et la participation citoyenne entre les élections provinciales :

  1. Un guide à l'intention des organismes communautaires (en anglais seulement), qui contient des conseils, des études de cas et d'autres trucs pratiques pour favoriser la participation des jeunes.
  2. Un jeu-questionnaire qui démontre comment la vie de tous les jours est profondément touchée par les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux ainsi que les administrations municipales. Téléchargez le jeu-questionnaire (en anglais seulement) dès maintenant!
  3. Une brève vidéo informative (en anglais seulement) dans laquelle on explique le fonctionnement du gouvernement et l'incidence du vote et des politiques pertinentes sur les sujets qui VOUS intéressent.

Une journée dans la vie d'une députée(sous-titres français)

Samara (2016)

Samara a produit une vidéo éducative sur les responsabilités et les défis quotidiens des députés. Dans cette vidéo d'un peu moins de 5 minutes, nous accompagnons Priya, qui vient tout juste d'être élue députée, tout au long d'une journée typique à Ottawa.

Une journée dans la vie d'une députée

Capture d'écran de « A Day in the Life of a Member of Parliament », de Samara Canada.

Fiches sur les avantages du vote (en anglais seulement)

Nonprofit VOTE (2014)

Cette organisation américaine a produit quatre fiches pratiques et concises sur des sujets d'intérêt : 1) les avantages pour les électeurs : les avantages que le vote représente pour les électeurs; 2) les avantages pour les organismes sans but lucratif : comment la participation électorale contribue-t-elle à renforcer ces organismes; 3) le vote et la santé : le vote et les avantages qu'il représente pour la santé; 4) Qui vote? Ça compte! : les différentes façons dont les non-électeurs ont une incidence sur les politiques publiques et les enjeux importants pour les organismes sans but lucratif. Ces fiches sont utiles pour les organisations qui souhaitent encourager la participation électorale des jeunes et d'autres groupes clés.

En 2014, après l'élection de mi-mandat aux États-Unis, Nonprofit VOTE a publié un rapport sur la mobilisation des nouveaux électeurs et l'incidence sur les clients et la communauté des activités de rayonnement auprès des électeurs menées par les organismes sans but lucratif. On y évalue la capacité des fournisseurs de services sans but lucratif et des organismes communautaires à stimuler la participation électorale. Dans ce rapport (en anglais seulement), vous en apprendrez davantage sur la façon dont les organismes sans but lucratif et communautaires ont une réelle incidence sur la participation électorale. Les observations qui y sont présentées pourraient être bénéfiques pour votre organisation!