Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Fall 2017 Newsletter

Volume 12


In this issue

  • New research
    • "The Political Behaviour of Youth in Whitefish River First Nation"
      Theo Nazary

      "Fighting Young Voter Apathy: Automatic Voter Registration for College Students in Virginia"
      Evan Baines

  • New tools
    • Learning about municipal elections
      CIVIX, Radio-Canada, Springtide

      New and exciting podcasts!
      Centre for the Study of Democratic Citizenship, Springtide

  • General updates
    • PoliDoc Contest
      Centre for the Study of Democratic Citizenship

      Everyday Political Citizen Nominations
      Samara

      Canada's Democracy Week
      Elections Canada

    • Upcoming events
    • Indigenous Knowledge Conference
      beSuperior Consulting

      Democracy & Youth Week
      Encounters with Canada

Upcoming events

Indigenous Knowledge Conference
beSuperior Consulting

November 15–16 will mark Thunder Bay's first Indigenous Knowledge Conference, hosted by beSuperior Consulting. This conference will be held in the Robinson Superior territory in the sacred Lands of Anemki Wajiw. The aim is to examine what and how Indigenous knowledge is expressed, and how we can facilitate this in our practice and our work, so that we are best meeting the needs of our clients and learners, and for better understanding and good relations. There will be lots of opportunities to network and connect.

This conference welcomes anyone who is interested in learning more about these topics, particularly students, service providers and other organizations!

Democracy & Youth Week
Encounters with Canada

Encounters with Canada (EWC) is entering its fourth decade of Democracy & Youth Week! This is a unique experience where students aged 14 to 17 from across Canada are given the opportunity to visit Ottawa for a full week to explore the nation's capital. Activities for the week include a VIP tour of Parliament, a visit to Rideau Hall, workshops with parliamentary interns, a mock election and presentations by politicians at different levels of government. This is an excellent opportunity to learn about democracy in Canada while meeting new people and making new friends! To learn more, please visit the website.

Tell us what you're doing

Have you recently conducted research on civic participation? Let us know and we'll share the results of your work or any useful information on our site.

Feedback

We'd love to know what you think. Send us an email.

New research

"The Political Behaviour of Youth in Whitefish River First Nation"
Theo Nazary (2016)

This thesis explores the political behaviour of First Nations youth living in Whitefish River First Nation, located near Sudbury, Ontario. This research provides detailed descriptions of the experiences of these youth, focusing on their political attitudes, opinions and perspectives on a variety of topics such as voting in Canadian elections, band elections, participating in Idle No More, and the representativeness of the Canadian and band political systems. Using a community-based participatory research approach paired with Indigenous research principles, the author points out the differences and similarities between these First Nations youth and the general Canadian youth, and ways in which First Nations youth participate in activities rooted in their culture and traditions. Read more about it here!

"Fighting Young Voter Apathy: Automatic Voter Registration for College Students in Virginia"
Evan Baines (2017)

Similar to Canadian youth, young people in the United States are less likely to be registered to vote. This short American article proposes a new policy idea to increase youth voting by reducing registration barriers. Click here to learn more about this interesting policy proposition!

New tools

Learning about municipal elections
CIVIX, Radio-Canada, Springtide

It has been a busy fall at the municipal level, with elections in Newfoundland and Labrador, Alberta and Quebec. A variety of interesting approaches have been taken to educate students and others about municipal elections.

CIVIX organized a Student Vote parallel election for elementary and secondary schools coinciding with the Alberta municipal and school board trustee elections on October 16, 2017. Students from across the province learned about the electoral process, engaged in the campaign and cast ballots for the official local candidates.

Radio-Canada collaborated with Commission jeunesse de Gatineau to produce C'est parti, je vote! This teaching toolkit for youth aims to stimulate classroom discussion and allow students to engage in reflection about municipal elections. This toolkit is offered in French only.

For those interested in getting involved in politics, Springtide put together a series of online videos titled Local Decisions. Created in partnership with the Department of Municipal Affairs for the 2016 municipal elections in Nova Scotia, these videos provide insights on various aspects of a municipal campaign.

New and exciting podcasts!
Centre for the Study of Democratic Citizenship, Springtide

The Montréal-based Centre for the Study of Democratic Citizenship (CSDC) launched its first-ever podcast series in May 2017. With 18 podcast sessions already posted, the topics range from Canadian political debates and electoral reform to American politics and Brexit.

Springtide, based in Halifax, will be launching a new podcast this fall. Govern Yourself Accordingly will be a program for engaged citizens and public leaders who want to shape the future through politics—with their integrity intact.

General updates

PoliDoc contest
Centre for the Study of Democratic Citizenship

The CSDC has launched an exciting new contest for Quebec university undergraduate and Cégep students! To participate in the contest, students are asked to submit a short documentary film proposal on topics related to democracy, civic engagement, political participation, representation, diversity and other topics related to the exercise of democracy. The deadline for proposals is Friday, December 15, 2017. One documentary in French and one in English will be chosen as winners, and they will be screened at Canada's Democracy Week 2018!

Poster for the PoliDoc 2017–2018 contest
Poster for the PoliDoc 2017–2018 contest

Everyday Political Citizen nominees
Samara

Everyday Political Citizen is an annual contest organized by Samara that highlights local stories about Canadians participating in their democracy, working to make their community better. Check out the current list of EPCitizen nominees! A jury of prominent Canadians will soon select winners in three age categories: under 18, 18–29, and 30+.

Canada's Democracy Week
Elections Canada

Canada's Democracy Week took place the week of September 15–21, 2017. This year, the theme was Democracy Face to Face. It was an opportunity for Canadians across the country to start a conversation about democracy and continue that conversation throughout the year. Visit the website for new teaching tools and activities.

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

Bulletin d'automne 2017

Volume 12


Dans ce numéro

Nouvelles recherches
« The Political Behaviour of Youth in Whitefish River First Nation »
Theo Nazary

« Fighting Young Voter Apathy: Automatic Voter Registration for College Students in Virginia »
Evan Baines

Nouveaux outils
Initiatives d'information sur les élections municipales
CIVIX, Radio-Canada, Springtide

Nouveaux balados intéressants
Centre pour l'étude de la citoyenneté démocratique, Springtide

En général
Concours PoliDoc
Centre pour l'étude de la citoyenneté démocratique

Candidats au concours « Les citoyens politiques au quotidien »
Samara

Semaine canadienne de la démocratie
Élections Canada

À venir
« Indigenous Knowledge Conference »
beSuperior Consulting

Semaine « Jeunesse et démocratie »
Rencontres du Canada

À venir

Indigenous Knowledge Conference (en anglais seulement)
beSuperior Consulting

La première « Indigenous Knowledge Conference », organisée par beSuperior Consulting, se déroulera à Thunder Bay les 15 et 16 novembre. Elle aura lieu sur le territoire visé par le traité Robinson-Supérieur, sur les terres sacrées d'Anemki Wajiw. La conférence portera sur les moyens de communication des connaissances autochtones et la nature de celles-ci, de même que sur les façons dont nous pouvons faciliter leur communication dans le cadre de notre travail afin de répondre du mieux possible aux besoins de nos clients et des apprenants, d'assurer une meilleure compréhension et d'entretenir de bonnes relations. Il y aura de nombreuses occasions de réseautage.

Toutes les personnes qui s'intéressent à ces sujets, notamment les étudiants, les fournisseurs de services et les représentants d'organismes, y sont les bienvenues.

Semaine « Jeunesse et démocratie »
Rencontres du Canada

Rencontres du Canada (RDC) organise la semaine « Jeunesse et démocratie » depuis plus de trois décennies! C'est une expérience unique qui permet à des élèves âgés de 14 à 17 ans provenant des quatre coins du pays de venir explorer la capitale nationale pendant toute une semaine. Les activités comprennent une visite du Parlement pour visiteurs de marque, une visite de Rideau Hall, des ateliers avec des stagiaires parlementaires, une élection simulée et des présentations par des politiciens de différents ordres de gouvernement. C'est une excellente occasion pour les jeunes d'en apprendre plus sur la démocratie canadienne, tout en faisant de nouvelles rencontres et en tissant des liens d'amitié. Pour en savoir plus, visitez le site Web.

Dites-nous ce que vous faites

Avez-vous récemment mené une étude sur la participation civique des jeunes ou des Autochtones? Faites-nous-en part et nous communiquerons les résultats de vos travaux ou toute information utile sur notre site.

Commentaires

Nous serions heureux de connaître votre avis. Écrivez-nous.

Nouvelles recherches

« The Political Behaviour of Youth in Whitefish River First Nation » (en anglais seulement)
Theo Nazary (2016)

Cette thèse porte sur le comportement politique des jeunes de la Première Nation de Whitefish River, située près de Sudbury en Ontario. Elle décrit en détail certaines expériences de ces jeunes, en mettant l'accent sur leurs attitudes politiques, leurs opinions et leurs points de vue sur un éventail de sujets, comme le vote aux élections canadiennes, les élections au conseil de bande, la participation au mouvement « Idle No More » et le caractère représentatif du système politique canadien et de ceux des bandes. En appliquant des méthodes de recherche participative communautaire et des principes de recherche autochtones, l'auteur a dégagé des différences et des similitudes entre ces jeunes des Premières Nations et les jeunes Canadiens en général, et a mis en lumière des façons dont les jeunes des Premières Nations participent aux activités ancrées dans leur culture et leurs traditions. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

« Fighting Young Voter Apathy: Automatic Voter Registration for College Students in Virginia » (en anglais seulement)
Evan Baines (2017)

À l'instar des jeunes Canadiens, les jeunes Américains sont moins susceptibles d'être inscrits pour voter. Ce court article provenant des États-Unis propose une politique novatrice visant à réduire les obstacles à l'inscription pour amener un plus grand nombre de jeunes à voter. Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur cette intéressante proposition.

Nouveaux outils

Initiatives d'information sur les élections municipales
CIVIX, Radio-Canada, Springtide

L'automne a été riche en élections municipales (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Alberta, Québec). Plusieurs initiatives intéressantes ont été lancées pour renseigner les élèves et les autres citoyens sur les élections municipales.

Dans le cadre de son programme Vote étudiant, CIVIX a organisé pour les écoles primaires et secondaires de l'Alberta une élection parallèle aux élections municipales et scolaires qui ont eu lieu le 16 octobre 2017. Des élèves de partout dans la province ont pu en apprendre davantage sur le processus électoral, participer à la campagne et voter pour un des candidats officiels locaux.

En collaboration avec la Commission jeunesse de Gatineau, Radio-Canada a produit C'est parti, je vote! Cette trousse pédagogique vise à stimuler les discussions en classe et la réflexion des élèves sur les élections municipales.

Springtide a créé une série de vidéos en ligne, intitulée Local Decisions (en anglais seulement), pour les personnes qui souhaitent s'engager en politique. Créées en partenariat avec le ministère des Affaires municipales de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour les élections municipales de 2016, ces vidéos fournissent de l'information sur les divers aspects d'une campagne municipale. Elles sont offertes en anglais seulement.

Nouveaux balados intéressants
Centre pour l'étude de la citoyenneté démocratique, Springtide

Le Centre pour l'étude de la citoyenneté démocratique (CÉCD), situé à Montréal, a lancé sa toute première série de balados en mai 2017. Les 18 balados déjà en ligne portent sur une foule de sujets : débats politiques au Canada, réforme du système électoral canadien, politique américaine et Brexit, pour ne nommer que ceux-là.

Springtide, situé à Halifax, lancera une nouvelle série de balados cet automne, intitulée Govern Yourself Accordingly. Elle s'adressera aux citoyens engagés et aux leaders qui désirent bâtir l'avenir en faisant de la politique, sans compromettre leur intégrité.

En général

Concours PoliDoc
Centre pour l'étude de la citoyenneté démocratique

Le CÉCD a lancé un nouveau concours fort intéressant pour les cégépiens et les étudiants de premier cycle des universités québécoises. Pour participer au concours, les étudiants doivent soumettre une proposition de court métrage documentaire sur la démocratie, l'engagement civique, la participation politique, la représentation, la diversité ou un autre sujet lié à l'exercice de la démocratie. La date limite pour soumettre une proposition est le vendredi 15 décembre 2017. Un projet en français et un autre en anglais seront sélectionnés, et les documentaires produits seront présentés lors de la Semaine canadienne de la démocratie de 2018.

Affiche du concours PoliDoc 2017-2018
Affiche du concours PoliDoc 2017-2018

Candidats au concours « Les citoyens politiques au quotidien »
Samara

« Les citoyens politiques au quotidien » est un concours annuel organisé par Samara pour souligner le travail de Canadiens qui participent à la vie démocratique et qui cherchent à améliorer leur communauté. Consultez la liste actuelle des candidats au concours (en anglais seulement). Un jury composé de personnalités canadiennes choisira bientôt les gagnants dans chacune des trois catégories d'âge : moins de 18 ans, 18 à 29 ans, et 30 ans et plus.

Semaine canadienne de la démocratie
Élections Canada

La Semaine canadienne de la démocratie s'est déroulée du 15 au 21 septembre 2017. Le thème de cette année était « Rendez-vous avec la démocratie ». Ce fut une occasion pour les Canadiens partout au pays d'engager une conversation sur la démocratie, qui se poursuivra tout au long de l'année. Consultez le site Web pour y découvrir de nouveaux outils et de nouvelles activités pédagogiques.