Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Voting Rules! Formative Evaluation

Share this report   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

Final Evaluation Report – Executive Summary

September 9, 2011



Introduction

Intergage Consulting Group Inc. (Intergage) was contracted by Elections Canada (EC) to conduct the Voting Rules! civic education program formative evaluation. Voting Rules! is a joint pilot project developed by Elections Ontario (EO) in association with EC for Ontario educators.

Methodology

The evaluation was based on the following data collection methodologies:

  • Review of background documents;
  • Online Survey of users (n=178 from a population of 810); and
  • Selected follow up interviews with survey respondents (n=12 drawn from a sub-population of 36).

The Degree of Involvement and Use of the Toolkit

The survey results show that over one-third of respondents had used the toolkit by the time the survey was conducted (see Table 5 of the Report). More specifically, 5% had used most or all of the material provided in the toolkit and 30% had used some of the material. Of the remaining respondents, 40% had only reviewed the material and 25% had ordered the material but did not have a chance to review or utilize the material in the classroom.

The level of usage was attributed to the April distribution date of the toolkits. Of those who didn't use the toolkit:

  • Over half (54%) indicated they did not receive the toolkit in time to use with their students;
  • 35% added that they did not have time to implement the toolkit because the federal election happened too quickly for them to adjust their teaching plan; and
  • 34% were not made aware of the toolkit soon enough to integrate it into their teaching plan.

Limitations to the Evaluation Findings

Both the late distribution of the toolkits and the timing of the survey (which was sent to teachers in late May and open into June 2011) had an impact on the overall response rate. That being said, the overall response rate to the survey was 21%.

Key Findings

Rationale and Relevance

Overwhelmingly, the rationale and relevance of the Voting Rules! program was supported by both grade 5 and 10 teachers participating in the interview consultations. The program is viewed as providing an engaging resource that teachers can integrate into existing civics curriculum. Those consulted indicated that the "enquiry based, experiential learning" approach to the toolkits and lessons helped students make the connection between theory and their daily lives.

Overall Assessment of the Toolkit

By and large, those consulted were quite satisfied with the resources and material available in the toolkit, as overall, 37% felt the material is "excellent" and another 54% felt it was "good". Grade 10 respondents were slightly less positive in their assessment than Grade 5 respondents.

Specific results show that nearly all respondents agree that the:

  • layout of the toolkit is done in such a way that the lesson plans are consistent and easy to read;
  • activities are grade-appropriate, creative and innovative and engaging for students;
  • vocabulary is grade-appropriate;
  • resource sheets and backgrounders are useful/relevant to the lessons.
Top Elements of the Toolkits
Grade 5 Toolkit

Among those who responded, one-third (35%) specifically alluded to the graphic, comic or cartoon format of the toolkit. One-third of these respondents (33%) indicated that they liked various aspects of the activities, including creating a superhero candidate, the true/false activity, the short and easy nature of the activities as well as the variety available in the toolkit. Thirty-one percent also specifically noted the election simulation activity and the "genuine nature" of the material related to this activity as a strong feature of the toolkit. Another common theme related to the general format of the toolkit, where close to 20% felt the toolkit was in an "easy-to-use" format and clear.

Grade 10 Toolkit

Among those who responded, one-quarter commented on the student-friendly, clear and interactive nature of the activities presented in the toolkit (28%). Other common themes raised by respondents include the election simulation and its materials (19%), the handouts and worksheets (17%), the graphics and "cartoons" (16%) and the general layout of the lesson plans (16%).

Opportunities for Improvement

The majority of respondents, when asked, did not feel that anything had to be done to improve the toolkits – that they were excellent the way they were. Otherwise, feedback provided by the other respondents does not point to a potential weakness or an overarching issue. Among the few comments provided, Grade 5 respondents commented that the handouts were too text-intensive or that the page was too cluttered to write anything down. A few commented about font size (12%), that the graphic organizer of government needed improvement (12%) and that the toolkit should be available in digital format (12%). The most common issue raised by Grade 10 respondents (at 15%) was that the activities in general needed to be more discovery-based.

While the lessons contained in each toolkit were ranked quite positively, there were some recommendations to improve a few of the lessons in order to make them more relevant and engaging to students (please see the Evaluation Findings and the Conclusions and Recommendations sections).

Perceived Impact and Effectiveness of the Program

The evaluation indicates that the program is achieving its intended outcomes. When respondents were asked what they consider the most important outcome of the program, over a quarter of respondents indicated: the knowledge it develops about the voting process followed by involving and engaging students in the issues of democracy and voting (36% and 24% respectively). Those who ordered the Grade 5 toolkit were more likely to identify the increased knowledge about voting and elections as the most important outcome, noted by 47% of those respondents.

Both the Grade 5 and Grade 10 toolkit were seen as useful resources for respondents concerning teaching aspects of democracy, elections, voting and government. The toolkits seem particularly constructive in terms of teaching: the rights and responsibilities of citizens (87%); the three levels of government (86%); why it is important to vote (86%); and in terms of increasing students' awareness of how democracy, elections, voting and government are connected to their everyday lives (86%).

Likelihood of Using the Toolkits in the Future

An overwhelming majority of survey respondents and all interview respondents indicated that they would and plan to use the toolkit in the future to support their civics teachings.

Perceptions of EC and EO as Authoritative Sources

Respondents are in widespread agreement that material from Elections Canada and Elections Ontario is trustworthy, accurate and politically neutral (74%). Furthermore, 90% agree that they consider Elections Canada and Elections Ontario authoritative sources for material related to voting and democratic rights and responsibilities for their students and 89% agree that their material is relevant to their teaching needs and requirements.

Recommendations

What follows are the recommendations from the formative evaluation of the Voting Rules! program. More detailed recommendations on specific changes to selected lessons in each toolkit are presented in the Conclusions and Recommendations section of this report.

Increased Promotion and Awareness-Building

Recommendation #1

The positive results from this evaluation suggest greater promotion of the toolkits to Grade 5 and Grade 10 educators in Ontario is warranted. It is clearly viewed as a useful and valuable resource that can benefit civics educators. Expanding its use across the province would help to achieve one of the sponsoring organizations' key objectives of contributing to increased awareness and understanding of the electoral process among students in Ontario.

Recommendation #2

EC and EO should review the findings from this evaluation, share them with their provincial partners and colleagues and collaboratively work with educators and school boards across Canada to either develop similar toolkits to be used in the remaining jurisdictions in Canada or to expand the use of this program nationally.

Recommendation #3

To ensure the continued success and relevance of the Voting Rules! program, EC should undertake a future evaluation of the program once it has been fielded for at least 1-year (April 2012) and teachers have been given enough time to integrate the program/toolkits into their teachings. Alternatively EC and EO could put in place ongoing data collection (likely through surveying) to monitor implementation and further enhancements and changes could be applied to the program. It is further recommended that the program track impact on participating students by conducting pre and post-program participation assessments.

Moving the Bar from "Good" to "Excellent"

Recommendation #4

Lessons that may require further review and attention, to help raise the quality of the program more towards an excellent rating in the future, are identified in the tables below under Grade 5 and Grade 10 respectively.

The popularity of the resource sheets and the activities and the relative lack of importance of the time estimates suggest further investment could be made in developing a greater variety of activities, resource sheets, and extensions to provide educators greater range and flexibility within each lesson plan. Educators clearly appreciate creative and innovative material, especially the kind they would not be able to easily develop themselves (e.g. crossword puzzles).

Additionally, if quizzes are to remain in the toolkit, additional efforts might be warranted in terms of further assessing the relevance and usefulness of the quizzes given how much of the toolkit is dedicated to this feature.

Tailoring the Toolkit to Specific Audiences

Recommendation #5

EC and EO should consider tailoring the toolkit to Grade 5 and 10 students that are in a non-traditional classroom environment (i.e. students with learning disabilities that are being educated through health treatment centres, those located in a correctional facility or others that may have special development needs, etc.). This would likely require some consultations with teachers and developmental experts to determine how the lesson plans can be simplified to better engage students in these special circumstances. This evaluation has demonstrated that the toolkits are being used by teachers in these special circumstances; however, those consulted have to make significant adjustments. The benefits of reaching youth in these circumstances is that they tend to be higher "risk" – who are often harder to reach and have a higher likelihood of being more marginalized from society, democratic issues and voting as they age.

Continue to Refine the Toolkit

Recommendation #6

Educators are not averse to leveraging information and material from multiple sources. It is recommended that EC and EO continue to develop and refine the toolkits to include additional complementary resources (i.e. online and print).

Recommendation #7

EC and EO should review and analyze the findings from the Voting Rules! program formative evaluation and incorporate "lessons learned" into future programs on civics education to ensure teacher and student satisfaction with the use of EC and EO programs is exceptional and that the program remains unique.

A Continued Role for EC and EO

Recommendation #8

Educators overwhelmingly agreed that EC and EO are authoritative sources of impartial, fact-based and credible resources in support of civics education programs. Intergage recommends that EC and EO continue building their presence as authoritative sources for civics education by further developing existing and new materials to fill the need of educators both in Ontario and the other provinces and territories.

Further Dissemination Using Electronic Means

Recommendation #9

Intergage recommends that a PDF version be developed, deployed (either by email or in a CD format), periodically updated and remain accessible electronically to all educators for their continued ease of access. MSWord versions of the resource sheets would also empower educators to easily modify the documents to better suit their needs.

To order a copy of the Voting Rules! Civic Education Program Formative Evaluation Final Evaluation Report, please contact Elections Canada.

To order the Voting Rules! toolkit, please visit the Welcome Teachers! page.

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

Évaluation de Voter, c'est fort!

Partager ce rapport   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

Rapport final d'évaluation – Sommaire

Le 9 septembre 2011

Introduction

Élections Canada (EC) a fait appel à Intergage Consulting Group Inc. (Intergage) pour procéder à l'évaluation formative du programme d'éducation civique Voter, c'est fort! Le programme est un projet pilote mis au point conjointement par Élections Ontario (EO) et EC pour les enseignants de l'Ontario.

Méthodologie

Voici les méthodes de collecte de données employées aux fins de l'évaluation :

  • examen de la documentation;
  • sondage en ligne auprès des utilisateurs (n=178 sur un total de 810);
  • entrevues de suivi avec certains répondants au sondage (n=12 provenant d'un sous-groupe de 36).

Degré de participation et utilisation de la trousse

Les résultats du sondage révèlent que plus du tiers des répondants avaient utilisé la trousse au moment du sondage (voir le tableau 5 du rapport). De ce nombre, 5 % avaient utilisé tout ou presque tout le matériel fourni, alors que 30 % n'en avaient utilisé qu'une partie et 40 % n'avaient fait que l'examiner. Les 25 % restants qui l'avaient commandé n'avaient encore eu l'occasion ni de l'examiner ni de l'utiliser en classe.

Le moment où la trousse a été distribuée (avril) a eu une incidence sur son niveau d'utilisation. Parmi ceux qui ne l'ont pas utilisée :

  • plus de la moitié des répondants (54 %) ont indiqué ne pas avoir reçu la trousse à temps pour pouvoir l'utiliser avec les élèves;
  • 35 % ont ajouté qu'ils n'avaient pas eu le temps de la mettre en pratique parce que les élections fédérales étaient survenues trop rapidement pour qu'ils puissent modifier leur plan de cours;
  • 34 % l'ont découverte trop tard pour pouvoir l'intégrer à leur plan de cours.

Limites des résultats de l'évaluation

La distribution tardive de la trousse et le moment où a été réalisé le sondage (celui-ci ayant été envoyé aux enseignants vers la fin mai et s'étant poursuivi en juin 2011) ont tous deux eu une incidence sur le taux de réponse global. Malgré tout, ce dernier a été de 21 %.

Principaux résultats

Bien-fondé et pertinence

Le bien-fondé et la pertinence du programme Voter, c'est fort! ont été corroborés par la grande majorité des enseignants de 5e et 10e années ayant pris part aux entrevues. Le programme est considéré comme une ressource intéressante que les enseignants peuvent intégrer au programme d'enseignement d'éducation civique. Les personnes consultées ont indiqué que « l'apprentissage par la recherche et l'expérience » préconisée par les trousses et les leçons aide les élèves à faire le lien entre la théorie et leur vie quotidienne.

Évaluation globale de la trousse

Dans l'ensemble, les répondants étaient plutôt satisfaits des ressources et du matériel fournis dans la trousse. Quelque 37 % considérant le matériel comme « excellent » et 54 % le qualifiant de « bon ». Les répondants ont été légèrement moins favorables dans leur évaluation de la trousse de 10e année que ceux qui ont dû évaluer celle de 5e année.

Les résultats obtenus démontrent que presque tous les répondants reconnaissent que :

  • la trousse est organisée de façon à ce que les plans de leçons soient cohérents et faciles à lire;
  • les activités conviennent aux élèves du niveau auquel elles s'adressent, et qu'elles sont originales, innovatrices et intéressantes pour eux;
  • le vocabulaire convient aux élèves du niveau auquel la trousse est destinée;
  • les fiches d'information sont utiles et pertinentes du point de vue des leçons.
Composantes majeures des trousses
Trousse de 5e année

Parmi les répondants, le tiers (35 %) a évoqué le format illustré ou de bande dessinée de la trousse. Un tiers de ces répondants (33 %) ont également indiqué que divers aspects des activités leur avaient plu, dont la création d'un candidat superhéros, les questions de type vrai ou faux, la rapidité et la simplicité des exercices, ainsi que la variété d'activités offertes dans la trousse. Quelque 31 % des répondants ont également souligné, comme autre composante majeure de la trousse, l'élection simulée et le « caractère authentique » du matériel fourni pour cette activité. La présentation générale de la trousse a également été mentionnée à maintes reprises, près de 20 % des répondants la considérant comme claire et « conviviale ».

Trousse de 10e année

Parmi les répondants, le quart a mentionné que les activités proposées dans la trousse étaient claires, interactives et bien adaptées aux élèves (28 %). Parmi les autres points relevés, notons l'élection simulée et le matériel connexe (19 %), les documents et les fiches d'information (17 %), les dessins et les « bandes dessinées » (16 %), de même que la présentation générale des plans de leçons (16 %).

Possibilités d'amélioration

Lorsqu'on les a interrogés sur les possibilités d'amélioration, la majorité des répondants ont indiqué qu'il n'y avait selon eux rien à améliorer dans les trousses et qu'elles étaient parfaites comme elles étaient. Sinon, les commentaires formulés par les autres répondants ne signalaient ni lacune éventuelle ni problème majeur. Parmi les quelques commentaires obtenus, les répondants qui évaluaient la trousse de 5e année ont mentionné que les documents à distribuer contenaient trop de texte ou que la page était trop encombrée pour qu'on puisse y noter quoi que ce soit. Certains ont parlé de la taille de la police (12 %), alors que d'autres ont indiqué que l'organisateur graphique du gouvernement laissait à désirer (12 %) et ont suggéré que la trousse soit offerte sous forme numérique (12 %). En ce qui concerne la trousse de 10e année, le besoin d'axer davantage les activités sur la découverte a été le point le plus souvent mentionné par les répondants (15 %).

Même si les leçons de chaque trousse ont reçu une évaluation plutôt bonne, des recommandations ont été formulées en vue de rendre quelques-unes d'entre elles plus pertinentes et intéressantes pour les élèves (voir les sections « Résultats de l'évaluation » et « Conclusions et recommandations »).

Perception de l'incidence et de l'efficacité du programme

L'évaluation a permis de constater que le programme donne les résultats escomptés. Lorsqu'on leur a demandé quel était selon eux le résultat le plus important du programme, plus du quart des répondants ont mentionné les connaissances qu'il permet d'acquérir sur le processus électoral, puis le fait de susciter l'intérêt des élèves à propos des enjeux de la démocratie et de l'exercice du droit de vote (36 % et 24 % respectivement). Ceux qui avaient commandé la trousse de 5e année ont été plus nombreux (47 %) à indiquer les connaissances accrues sur l'exercice du droit de vote et le processus électoral comme résultat le plus important.

Les trousses de 5e comme de 10e année étaient considérées en tant que ressources utiles pour l'enseignement de la démocratie, du processus électoral, de l'exercice du droit de vote ou des rouages du gouvernement. La trousse semble avoir été particulièrement utile pour l'enseignement aux élèves des droits et des devoirs civiques (87 %), des trois ordres de gouvernement (86 %), de l'importance d'exercer son droit de vote (86 %), de même que pour les aider à mieux prendre conscience des liens entre la démocratie, le processus électoral, l'exercice du droit de vote, les rouages du gouvernement et leur vie quotidienne (86 %).

Probabilité de réutilisation de la trousse

Une grande majorité des répondants au sondage et toutes les personnes interviewées ont indiqué qu'ils comptaient utiliser de nouveau la trousse à des fins d'éducation civique.

Perception d'EC et d'EO en tant que sources faisant autorité

Les répondants s'entendent pour dire que le matériel d'Élections Canada et d'Élections Ontario est fiable, précis et politiquement neutre (74 %). De plus, 90 % des répondants considèrent qu'Élections Canada et Élections Ontario font autorité comme sources de matériel sur l'exercice du droit de vote ainsi que sur les droits et les devoirs démocratiques à l'intention de leurs élèves, alors que 89 % estiment que le matériel répond à leurs besoins et à leurs exigences pédagogiques.

Recommandations

Voici les recommandations issues de l'évaluation formative du programme Voter, c'est fort! Les recommandations de changements précis à apporter à certaines leçons de chacune des trousses sont détaillées dans la section « Conclusions et recommandations » du présent rapport.

Promotion et sensibilisation accrues

Recommandation no 1

Compte tenu des bons résultats de l'évaluation, il serait justifié d'accroître la promotion de la trousse auprès des enseignants de 5e et 10e années en Ontario. De toute évidence, elle est considérée comme une ressource précieuse pour les enseignants chargés de l'éducation civique. Étendre son utilisation à l'ensemble de la province contribuerait à l'atteinte de l'objectif-clé de l'un des organismes parrainant le projet et qui consiste à mieux faire connaître le processus électoral aux élèves de l'Ontario.

Recommandation no 2

EC et EO devraient examiner les résultats de l'évaluation, les communiquer à leurs partenaires provinciaux et collaborer avec les enseignants et les conseils scolaires du Canada afin d'élaborer des trousses similaires pour les autres provinces canadiennes ou d'étendre le programme à l'échelle nationale.

Recommandation no 3

Pour maintenir le succès et la pertinence du programme Voter, c'est fort!, EC devrait en faire une autre évaluation au moins un an après son lancement (avril 2012). Les enseignants auront alors eu suffisamment de temps pour intégrer le programme et la trousse à leurs cours. EC et EO pourraient sinon procéder à la collecte continue de données (vraisemblablement au moyen de sondages) pour surveiller la mise en œuvre du programme afin que d'autres améliorations et changements puissent être apportés. Il est également recommandé de surveiller l'incidence du programme sur les élèves participants au moyen d'évaluations a priori et a posteriori.

Passer de « bon » à « excellent »

Recommandation no 4

Les leçons qui devraient faire l'objet d'un examen plus approfondi en vue d'améliorer la qualité du programme et de se rapprocher de l'excellence sont répertoriées plus loin sous forme de tableaux, dans les sections sur les trousses de 5e année et de 10e année.

Compte tenu de la popularité des fiches d'information et des activités ainsi que du peu d'importance accordée aux estimations de temps, plus de ressources pourraient être consacrées à l'élaboration d'une gamme plus variée d'activités, de fiches d'information et d'extensions afin d'accroître le choix et la marge de manœuvre des enseignants dans chaque plan de leçon. Il ne fait aucun doute que le matériel original et innovateur leur plaît, en particulier celui qu'ils ne pourraient pas facilement créer eux-mêmes (p. ex. les mots croisés).

Par ailleurs, si les jeux-questionnaires sont là pour rester, il faudra peut-être évaluer plus en profondeur leur pertinence et leur utilité, compte tenu de la place qui leur est accordée dans la trousse.

Adapter la trousse aux publics cibles

Recommandation no 5

EC et EO devraient envisager d'adapter la trousse à l'intention des élèves de 5e et 10e années qui évoluent dans un milieu scolaire non traditionnel (c.-à-d. les élèves ayant des difficultés d'apprentissage et instruits dans des centres de traitement, ceux détenus dans des établissements correctionnels, ceux ayant des besoins d'apprentissage spéciaux, etc.). Il sera sans doute nécessaire de consulter des enseignants et des spécialistes du développement pour déterminer comment simplifier les plans de leçons afin de mieux susciter l'intérêt de ces élèves aux besoins particuliers. L'évaluation a démontré que des enseignants utilisent les trousses avec ceux-ci. Toutefois, ceux qui ont été consultés ont dû apporter d'importantes modifications. Or, on a tout avantage à établir le contact avec de tels jeunes, qui ont tendance à être plus « à risque ». En effet, ils sont souvent plus difficiles à joindre et plus susceptibles d'être exclus de la société, des discussions sur les enjeux démocratiques et de l'exercice du droit de vote à mesure qu'ils vieillissent.

Continuer de peaufiner les trousses

Recommandation no 6

Les enseignants ne sont pas opposés à l'idée d'obtenir de l'information et du matériel de sources multiples. Il est recommandé qu'EC et EO continuent de perfectionner et de peaufiner les trousses en ajoutant des ressources complémentaires (en ligne et en version imprimée).

Recommandation no 7

EC et EO devraient examiner et analyser les résultats de l'évaluation formative du programme Voter, c'est fort! et tenir compte des « leçons apprises » dans les futurs programmes d'éducation civique, et ce, afin de garantir l'entière satisfaction des enseignants et des élèves à l'égard des programmes d'EC et d'EO et d'en préserver le caractère exceptionnel.

Un rôle permanent pour EC et EO

Recommandation no 8

La vaste majorité des enseignants conviennent qu'EC et EO font autorité comme sources d'information impartiale, factuelle et crédible à l'appui des programmes d'éducation civique. Intergage recommande aux deux organismes de renforcer leur présence à titre de sources faisant autorité au chapitre de l'éducation civique, et ce, en créant du nouveau matériel et en peaufinant celui existant afin de répondre aux besoins des enseignants en Ontario ou ailleurs au Canada.

Accroître la diffusion par voie électronique

Recommandation no 9

Intergage recommande de concevoir une version PDF de la trousse, de la distribuer (par courriel ou sur CD), de la mettre à jour régulièrement et de faire en sorte qu'elle demeure facilement accessible en tout temps, sur support électronique, pour tous les enseignants. Une version MSWord des fiches d'information leur permettrait également de modifier facilement les documents selon leurs besoins.

Pour commander une copie du Rapport final d'évaluation formative du programme d'éducation civique Voter, c'est fort!, contactez Élections Canada.

Pour commander la trousse Voter, c'est fort!, visitez la page Bienvenue les enseignants.