Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

What Parties do to Engage and Mobilize Youth: A Literature Review of Five Countries

Share this report   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

Download report as PDF

Table of Contents

New Review on How Political Parties Engage and Mobilize Youth:
Lessons for Parties, Grassroots Organizations and Researchers

Infographic
Link to infographic - with text version

In 2013, Elections Canada asked Samara, a non-partisan charitable organization that works to improve political participation in Canada, to explore what we know about how political parties engage young people in Canada and in similar countries. Why? Our own National Youth Survey Report showed that, among young people, the likelihood of voting was 15 percentage points higher for those who were directly contacted by a political party or candidate than for those who were not.

The result was a literature review on party engagement of youth in Canada, the United States, the United Kingdom, New Zealand and Finland. Below is a summary of some of the key findings Continue reading »

Laura Anthony

Jane Hilderman

Alison LoatFootnote 1

2013

Table of Contents


Footnote 1 Samara, founded in 2009, is a non-partisan charitable organization dedicated to improving political participation in Canada. Alison Loat is Co-Founder and Executive Director. Laura Anthony works as a Research Analyst and Jane Hilderman as a Research Manager at Samara. To learn more about Samara, visit www.samaracanada.com. The research assistance provided by Jennifer Phillips, Stefanie Freel, Karen McCrae and Eleni Tsaliki is gratefully acknowledged.

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

Comment les partis politiques engagent et mobilisent les jeunes : Revue de la littérature de cinq pays

Partager ce rapport   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

Télécharger le rapport en PDF

Table des matières

Nouvelle analyse des méthodes adoptées par les partis politiques pour intéresser et mobiliser les jeunes : leçons à l'intention des partis politiques, des organisations locales et des chercheurs

Infographique

En 2013, Élections Canada a demandé à Samara, un organisme de bienfaisance non partisan dont la mission consiste à accroître la participation politique au Canada, d'étudier les données recueillies sur la manière dont les partis politiques mobilisent les jeunes au Canada et dans d'autres pays analogues. Pourquoi? Notre propre Enquête nationale auprès des jeunes a démontré que, chez les jeunes, le fait d'avoir eu un contact direct avec un parti politique ou un candidat augmentait la probabilité qu'ils se rendent aux urnes de 15 points de pourcentage, comparativement aux électeurs qui n'avaient eu aucun contact.

Aussi avons-nous entrepris une revue de la littérature sur l'engagement politique des jeunes au Canada, aux États-Unis, au Royaume-Uni, en Nouvelle-Zélande et en Finlande. On trouvera ci-dessous un résumé de certaines des principales conclusions Lire la suite »

Laura Anthony

Jane Hilderman

Alison Loatnote 1

2013

Table des matières


Note 1 Samara, fondé en 2009, est un organisme de bienfaisance non partisan voué à l'amélioration de la participation politique au Canada. Alison Loat en est la cofondatrice et la directrice exécutive. Laura Anthony y travaille comme analyste de recherche et Jane Hilderman comme gestionnaire de recherche chez Samara. Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet de Samara, consulter www.samaracanada.com. Un grand merci à Jennifer Phillips, Stefanie Freel, Karen McKee et Eleni Tsaliki de leur contribution à la recherche.