Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

The Electoral Participation of Young Canadians

Share this report   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

Download report as PDF

Table of Contents

Summary

Professor Paul Howe examines the electoral participation of young Canadians through a review of the literature and analysis of Canadian Election Study data from 1974 to 2004. In particular, he focuses on three key areas:

  • The distinction between habitual non-voters, who never vote, and intermittent non-voters, who vote sometimes but not always. The study shows that young people are increasingly becoming habitual non-voters.
  • The importance of looking into political socialization processes in late adolescence, when young people are approaching or reaching voting age.
  • Administrative facilitation and mobilization of voters. Particular attention is paid to recent innovative research in the United States that uses experimental methods to gauge precisely the impact of different mobilization techniques. Applying these or similar research methods in Canada would enhance our understanding of the efficacy of various outreach methods Continue reading »

Table of Contents

by Paul Howe

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

La participation des jeunes Canadiens au processus électoral

Partager ce rapport   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

Télécharger le rapport en PDF

Table des matières

Résumé

Lecture complémentaire

« Citizens Adrift: The Democratic Disengagement of Young Canadians » (en anglais seulement)

Le professeur Paul Howe se penche sur la participation électorale des jeunes Canadiens en effectuant une analyse de la littérature et des données des Études électorales canadiennes de 1974 à 2004. Il s'est concentré plus particulièrement sur trois sujets principaux :

  • La distinction entre les personnes qui n'exercent jamais leur droit de vote (les abstentionnistes récurrents) et celles qui exercent leur droit de vote d'une façon irrégulière (les électeurs non assidus). L'étude montre que de plus en plus de jeunes sont des abstentionnistes récurrents.
  • L'importance des processus de socialisation politique en fin d'adolescence, lorsque les jeunes approchent ou atteignent l'âge requis pour voter.
  • La facilitation administrative et la mobilisation des électeurs. Une attention toute particulière est accordée aux nouvelles initiatives de recherche menées aux États-Unis qui utilisent des méthodes expérimentales pour mesurer avec précision l'incidence des différentes techniques de mobilisation. L'application de telles méthodes de recherche au Canada pourrait améliorer notre compréhension de l'efficacité des différentes méthodes de rayonnement Lire la suite »

Table des matières

par Paul Howe