Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Generational Change: Looking at Declining Youth Voter Turnout over Time

Share this report   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

Download report as PDF

Summary

Professor Peter Loewen (University of Toronto Mississauga) presents four graphs on turnout across generations. These can be used by researchers and other stakeholders to illustrate declining youth voter turnout in Canada and its associated trends.

The graphs illustrate two major trends. First, turnout among first-time electors has dropped over time. In 1965, about two thirds of first-time electors voted in their first election. By the mid-1980s, just over half of first-time electors were voting. By 2004, that number had fallen to just over one third. This is referred to as the generational or cohort effect. Second, as young people age, they are much less likely to take up the habit of voting than was the case for previous generations. This is referred to as a weakening of the life cycle effect.

The analysis draws upon data from each Canadian Election Study dating back to 1965. It updates turnout estimates presented in the 2008 study Youth Electoral Engagement in Canada, co-authored with Professor AndrĂ© Blais, by including estimates for the 2011 federal election.

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

Le changement générationnel :
Évolution du déclin de la participation électorale des jeunes

Partager ce rapport   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

Télécharger le rapport en PDF

Résumé

Le professeur Peter Loewen (Université de Toronto à Mississauga) présente quatre figures sur le taux de participation des différentes cohortes. Ces figures seront utiles aux chercheurs et aux autres intervenants pour illustrer le déclin de la participation électorale des jeunes au Canada et les tendances connexes.

Deux tendances majeures se dégagent des figures. Premièrement, le taux de participation des électeurs qui peuvent voter pour la première fois a chuté au fil du temps. En 1965, environ les deux tiers de ces électeurs ont voté. Au milieu des années 1980, à peine la moitié d'entre eux ont voté. En 2004, cette proportion avait chuté à un peu plus d'un tiers. C'est ce que l'on appelle l'effet de la cohorte. Deuxièmement, il est beaucoup moins probable que les jeunes d'aujourd'hui prennent l'habitude de voter en vieillissant, comparativement aux cohortes précédentes. C'est ce que l'on appelle l'affaiblissement de l'effet du cycle de vie.

Cette analyse a été effectuée à partir des données des Études électorales canadiennes réalisées depuis 1965. Il s'agit d'une mise à jour de l'étude intitulée Participation électorale des jeunes au Canada, publiée en 2008 avec le professeur André Blais. Cette mise à jour tient compte des estimations du taux de participation à l'élection fédérale de 2011.