Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Voter Turnout among Younger Canadians and Visible Minority Canadians: Evidence from the Provincial Diversity Project

Share this report   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

Executive Summary

Context

Although it is increasingly well documented that younger Canadians and visible minority Canadians tend to vote less than other Canadians, the causes of this variation in voter turnout are less clear. This report investigates the causes of this greater propensity to abstain among younger Canadians and visible minority Canadians. It looks at voting in federal elections, but also at voting in provincial elections, and most importantly it looks at the propensity to abstain in both levels of elections, what can be qualified as habitual non-voting. The report compares younger Canadians (aged 18-24 and 25-34) and older Canadians (aged 35+), as well as visible minority Canadians and Canadians who are not members of a visible minority group.

This report relies on the Provincial Diversity Project (PDP). The PDP is a research platform led by Antoine Bilodeau (Concordia), Luc Turgeon (Ottawa), Ailsa Henderson (Edinburgh), and Stephen E. White (Concordia). The Provincial Diversity Project survey was conducted online by Léger Marketing and surveyed close to 10,000 Canadians during the winter of 2014, including oversamples of young Canadians (n=1900) and visible minority Canadians (n=1600).

Overview of the Results and Policy Implications

The findings confirm that younger Canadians and visible minority Canadians tend to vote less than other Canadians. This holds for federal elections and provincial elections. Moreover, our investigations indicate as others have done before, that younger Canadians are not simply more likely to abstain from voting from time to time, but rather that they are more likely to be habitual non-voters, that is to systematically abstain from voting at every election. While only 10% of Canadians aged 35 years and older report not having voted in both federal and provincial elections, this proportion increases to 31% among the 25 to 34 and to 47% among the 18 to 24. Among visible minority Canadians, the proportion of habitual non-voters is 29% in comparison to 14% among other Canadians.

The findings indicate that younger and older Canadians differ from each other on some key socio-demographic characteristics and political attitudes. Younger Canadians are more likely to be students and to some extent are more likely to be recent immigrants. Moreover, younger Canadians are also less likely to feel close to a political party, less likely to feel guilty when not voting, and also less confident in Elections Canada.

Younger Canadians are also different from older Canadians on other characteristics investigated in this report. The differences for the above-mentioned characteristics are especially important, however, because these characteristics are predictors of being habitual non-voters. Overall, the findings indicate that younger Canadians' profile in terms of greater likelihood of being a student, being a recent immigrant as well as their lower propensity to feel close to a party, to feel guilty when not voting, and their lesser confidence in Elections Canada, together explain about two thirds of the gap in their greater propensity to be habitual non-voters. The reasons why younger Canadians are less likely to vote thus appear to be rooted both in their socio-demographic characteristics and their political attitudes.

Some of these findings are surprising. This is particularly the case for the finding that students are more likely to be habitual non-voters. Contrary to Gélineau (2013), we found that students are more likely to be habitual non-voters than non-students among younger Canadians. In effect, the study suggests that younger Canadians are more likely to be habitual non-voters than older Canadians in part because a larger proportion of them are still in school. Such divergent findings with Gélineau's are puzzling, especially considering the key role that such a characteristic appears to play in our analyses to explain the gap in habitual non-voting. It is difficult to determine why being a student is correlated with a higher propensity to vote in Gélineau's study and with a lower propensity to vote in our study. We nevertheless offer a tentative explanation in the conclusion as to why we believe it intuitively makes sense to expect students to vote less than non-students. Briefly, following Howe's argument (2010), a prolonged education would contribute to create an “extended adolescence” in which increased interactions with peers of the same age and delayed social responsibilities would lead to a lower propensity to vote.

The role of confidence in Elections Canada is another novel finding, although intuitive. Younger Canadians express less confidence in Elections Canada than older ones, and such lower confidence in the guardian of elections appears related to a lower propensity to vote. Interestingly, it holds beyond voting in federal elections; it is also related to habitual non-voting. This suggests that ensuring the strong integrity of the electoral process and of the institution in charge of administering the electoral process is essential to ensure that younger Canadians engage more with the electoral process and even to ensure that all Canadians continue to vote.

Fortunately, Canadians as a whole appear to express a strong level of confidence in Elections Canada, more so than in the legislative bodies of the federal and provincial governments. An age-gap exists, however, between younger and older Canadians, and it partly explains why younger Canadians are more likely to be habitual non-voters. We did not investigate the reason why younger Canadians express less confidence in Elections Canada than older ones, but the consequences are real and clear: younger Canadians vote less than older ones. These are thus questions Elections Canada might want to investigate further in the future.

The report also sheds an important new light on the role of “opinionation” in the propensity to vote. In essence, younger Canadians are less opinionated than older Canadians (that is they are less likely to hold or express political opinions), and the findings indicate that those less likely to hold opinions are more likely to be habitual non-voters. Among the reasons why younger Canadians vote less is that they have not yet formed substantive opinions on many political issues, especially those relating to the functioning of political institutions in Canada. Of course, it is possible that such lower levels of opinionation might essentially reflect a lack of knowledge about politics, something we could not account for in this study. This nevertheless points to another possibility to explore further. In any case, such lower levels of opinionation among younger Canadians arguably signal a disengagement from politics.

Other findings are less surprising but nevertheless equally important as the ones above. About half of younger Canadians do not feel guilty about the idea of not voting. This is substantially more than among older Canadians, and this gap in a sense of civic duty substantially helps to explain why younger Canadians are more likely to be habitual non-voters. It appears that remobilizing Canadian youth in the electoral process (federal and provincial) must involve efforts at building this sense of civic duty. This study is not the first one to highlight such a finding (see Blais, 2000). Many voter education programs have been initiated over the years, such as CIVIX's Student Vote program for elementary and high school students or Elections Canada's Choosing our Mascot for primary schools students. The question that we need to investigate now is whether those programs are efficient in the long term, not only at teaching about voting, but also at instilling a sense of civic duty among younger Canadians.

The greater disconnect with political parties among the youth is another important factor to explain why younger Canadians are more likely to be habitual non-voters than older Canadians. The solution to youth disengagement with electoral politics thus appears to be in part in the hands of parties who need to find ways to reconnect with the Canadian youth.

Younger Canadians are not the only group examined in this report. Visible minority Canadians, like younger Canadians, are also more likely to be habitual non-voters. The reasons why they are more likely than other Canadians to be habitual non-voters are somewhat different, however, and can be summarized in two points. First, a large proportion of visible minority Canadians in our sample are recent immigrants (24%) and recent immigrants appear more likely to be habitual non-voters. What precisely impedes them from voting during their first decade in Canada remains to be identified. The optimistic prospect, however, is that visible minorities born abroad but who have lived in Canada for more than 10 years appear as likely as the rest of the population to vote. If anything, this suggests that the challenge of voting for members of visible minority groups who are immigrants is only temporary. Government efforts at stimulating and facilitating voting in this group of Canadians should therefore be targeted primarily at recent immigrants.

Second, visible minority Canadians are on average younger than other Canadians. Since we know that younger Canadians vote less and that visible minority Canadians are younger than the rest of the population, it is not then surprising to observe that they vote less. In other words, trying to understand why visible minority Canadians vote less is at least in part the same task as finding out why younger Canadians vote less. By finding ways to address low voter turnout among youth, governments and community partners are simultaneously tackling another task, namely stimulating voting among Canadians of visible minority background. Programs targeting younger Canadians, however, need to be built around the socio-demographic reality that a significant proportion of Canada's youth is of a more diverse ethnic and racial background than it used to be.

To conclude, it is important to emphasize that the different propensity to vote between visible minority Canadians and other Canadians is not rooted in political differences, but mostly in socio-demographic differences. There are some differences in the political attitudes of visible minority Canadians and other Canadians but these only marginally explain the gap in voting between the two groups.

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

La participation électorale des jeunes et des membres d'une minorité visible au Canada : éclairage du Projet sur la diversité provinciale

Partager ce rapport   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

Sommaire

Contexte

Il est de mieux en mieux établi que les jeunes et les membres d'une minorité visible ont tendance à voter moins fréquemment que les autres Canadiens, mais les causes de cet écart sont moins claires. Le présent rapport analyse ces causes. Il examine le vote aux élections fédérales, mais également aux élections provinciales; et, surtout, il étudie la propension à s'abstenir de voter aux deux niveaux, que nous désignerons comme l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Le rapport compare les jeunes Canadiens (18-24 ans et 25-34 ans) et leurs aînés (35 ans et plus) ainsi que les Canadiens membres d'une minorité visible et les autres Canadiens.

Ce rapport s'appuie sur le Projet sur la diversité provinciale (PDP). Le PDP est une plateforme de recherche dirigée par Antoine Bilodeau (Université Concordia), Luc Turgeon (Université d'Ottawa), Ailsa Henderson (Université d'Édimbourg) et Stephen E. White (Université Concordia). Dans le cadre du sondage du PDP, mené en ligne par Léger Marketing au cours de l'hiver 2014, près de 10 000 Canadiens ont été interrogés, dont des suréchantillons de jeunes (n=1 900) et de membres d'une minorité visible (n=1 600).

Aperçu des résultats et incidence sur les politiques

Les résultats confirment que les jeunes Canadiens et les Canadiens membres d'une minorité visible ont tendance à voter moins souvent que les autres Canadiens, tant au niveau fédéral que provincial. En outre, nos recherches montrent, comme d'autres auparavant, que les jeunes ne sont pas simplement plus susceptibles de s'abstenir de voter à l'occasion, mais qu'ils sont plus susceptibles d'être des abstentionnistes récurrents – c'est-à-dire de s'abstenir de voter à chaque élection. Seulement 10 %  des Canadiens de 35 ans et plus déclarent ne pas avoir voté aux élections fédérales et provinciales, mais cette proportion atteint 31 %  chez les 25-34 ans et 47 %  chez les 18-24 ans. Parmi les membres d'une minorité visible, la proportion d'abstentionnistes récurrents est de 29 %, comparativement à 14 % pour les autres Canadiens.

Les résultats montrent que les jeunes Canadiens diffèrent de leurs aînés sur certains éléments clés de leurs caractéristiques sociodémographiques et attitudes politiques. Les jeunes ont plus tendance à être des étudiants et, dans une certaine mesure, des nouveaux arrivants. De plus, ils ont moins tendance à se sentir proches d'un parti politique et à se sentir coupables de ne pas voter et ils ont moins confiance envers Élections Canada.

Les jeunes sont également différents des Canadiens plus âgés sur d'autres points étudiés dans ce rapport. Toutefois, les différences dans les caractéristiques mentionnées ci-dessus sont particulièrement importantes, car ces caractéristiques sont des facteurs déterminants de l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Globalement, les résultats montrent que le profil des jeunes – la plus grande probabilité qu'ils soient étudiants ou nouveaux arrivants et leur plus faible propension à se sentir proches d'un parti et à se sentir coupables de ne pas voter, ainsi que leur faible confiance envers Élections Canada – explique environ les deux tiers de l'écart de leur propension plus grande à être des abstentionnistes récurrents. Ainsi, les jeunes Canadiens semblent avoir moins tendance à voter à la fois à cause de leurs caractéristiques sociodémographiques et de leurs attitudes politiques.

Certains des résultats sont étonnants. Ainsi, il est particulièrement étonnant de constater que les étudiants ont plus tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents. Contrairement à Gélineau (2013), nous avons constaté chez les jeunes que les étudiants ont davantage tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents que les non-étudiants. Les résultats semblent indiquer que si les jeunes ont plus tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents que leurs aînés, c'est notamment parce qu'ils ont plus tendance à être encore aux études. Ces divergences par rapport aux observations de Gélineau surprennent, surtout si l'on considère le rôle clé qu'une telle caractéristique semble jouer dans nos analyses de l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Il est difficile de déterminer pourquoi le statut d'étudiant est relié à une plus forte propension à voter dans l'étude de Gélineau et à une plus faible propension à voter dans notre étude. Nous présentons néanmoins dans la conclusion des éléments d'explication indiquant pourquoi il nous semble intuitivement fondé de s'attendre à ce que les étudiants votent moins fréquemment que les non-étudiants. En bref, comme l'estime Howe (2010), des études prolongées contribueraient à créer une « adolescence prolongée », au cours de laquelle les interactions accrues avec des pairs du même âge et le report des responsabilités sociales entraîneraient une plus faible propension à voter.

Le rôle de la confiance envers Élections Canada est une autre constatation nouvelle, quoiqu'intuitive. Les jeunes témoignent moins de confiance envers Élections Canada que leurs aînés, et cette confiance moindre à l'égard du gardien des élections semble liée à une plus faible propension à voter. Fait intéressant, ce point est relié non seulement aux élections fédérales, mais également à l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Cela donne à penser qu'il est essentiel d'assurer la forte intégrité du processus électoral et de l'institution chargée d'administrer ce processus au palier fédéral pour que les jeunes Canadiens participent davantage aux élections, et même que l'ensemble des Canadiens continuent à voter.

Heureusement, les Canadiens semblent exprimer, globalement, un niveau de confiance élevé envers Élections Canada, davantage qu'envers les organes législatifs fédéraux et provinciaux. Sur ce point, il existe toutefois un écart entre les jeunes Canadiens et leurs aînés, et cela explique partiellement pourquoi les jeunes ont davantage tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents. Nous n'avons pas cherché à déterminer pourquoi les jeunes ont moins confiance envers Élections Canada, mais les conséquences sont réelles et claires : ils votent moins souvent que leurs aînés. Ce sont là, par conséquent, des questions qu'Élections Canada pourrait vouloir approfondir.

Le rapport jette également un nouvel éclairage important sur le rôle de l'« expression d'opinions » dans la propension à voter. En résumé, les jeunes ont moins tendance à avoir ou à exprimer des opinions politiques que leurs aînés, et les résultats montrent que les personnes moins portées à avoir des opinions ont plus tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents. Une des raisons pour lesquelles les jeunes votent moins est qu'ils ne se sont pas encore fait d'opinions de fond sur de nombreuses questions politiques, notamment sur le fonctionnement des institutions politiques au Canada. Certes, ce manque d'opinion pourrait essentiellement refléter un manque de connaissances sur la politique, un élément qui débordait le cadre de la présente étude. Il s'agit cependant d'une autre question qui mériterait d'être approfondie. Quoi qu'il en soit, ce faible niveau d'opinion chez les jeunes dénote vraisemblablement une désaffectation vis-à-vis de la politique.

D'autres constatations sont moins étonnantes, mais aussi importantes que celles décrites précédemment. Environ la moitié des jeunes Canadiens ne se sentent pas coupables de ne pas voter. C'est sensiblement plus que chez leurs aînés, et cet écart quant au sens civique aide beaucoup à comprendre pourquoi les jeunes ont plus tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents. Il semble qu'il faut travailler à développer le sens civique pour amener les jeunes à s'engager de nouveau dans le processus électoral (fédéral et provincial). D'autres l'ont déjà souligné (voir Blais 2000). De nombreux programmes d'éducation électorale ont été lancés au fil des ans, comme le programme CIVIX pour les écoles primaires et secondaires, ainsi que la trousse de simulation électorale Choisissons notre mascotte d'Élections Canada pour les élèves du primaire. Nous devons maintenant déterminer si ces programmes sont efficaces à long terme, non seulement pour éduquer les jeunes sur le vote, mais aussi pour leur inculquer un sens civique.

La plus grande désaffection des jeunes vis-à-vis des partis politiques est un autre facteur important dans le phénomène de l'abstentionnisme récurrent. À cet égard, la solution semble reposer partiellement entre les mains des partis, qui doivent trouver des façons de rétablir les liens avec les jeunes Canadiens.

Les jeunes ne sont pas le seul groupe visé par le présent rapport. Les membres d'une minorité visible, comme les jeunes, sont aussi davantage portés à être des abstentionnistes récurrents, mais pour des motifs quelque peu différents, qui se résument en deux points. Premièrement, une grande proportion des Canadiens membres d'une minorité visible de notre échantillon est constituée de nouveaux arrivants (24 %), et ces derniers semblent plus sujets à l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Il reste à déterminer avec précision ce qui motive cette abstention au cours de leur première décennie au Canada. Selon la perspective optimiste, les membres d'une minorité visible nés à l'étranger, mais ayant vécu au Canada pendant plus de 10 ans, semblent avoir autant tendance à voter que le reste de la population. Cela porte à croire que la difficulté est temporaire. Pour ce groupe, les efforts du gouvernement en vue de stimuler et de faciliter le vote devraient donc viser prioritairement les nouveaux arrivants.

Deuxièmement, en moyenne, les membres d'une minorité visible sont plus jeunes que les autres Canadiens. Nous savons par ailleurs que les jeunes votent moins souvent que leurs aînés. Il n'est donc pas étonnant d'observer un taux de vote plus faible chez les membres d'une minorité visible. Autrement dit, chercher pourquoi les membres d'une minorité visible votent moins souvent, c'est au moins en partie chercher la raison pour laquelle les jeunes votent moins souvent. En trouvant des façons d'encourager la participation électorale chez les jeunes, les gouvernements et les partenaires de la communauté s'attaquent aussi à une autre tâche, qui est de stimuler le vote chez les membres d'une minorité visible. Toutefois, les programmes destinés aux jeunes doivent tenir compte de la réalité sociodémographique suivante : une proportion importante des jeunes du Canada est d'origine ethnique et raciale plus diversifiée qu'avant.

En conclusion, il importe de souligner que si les membres d'une minorité visible et les autres Canadiens n'affichent pas les mêmes taux de participation électorale, ce n'est pas en raison de différences politiques, mais plutôt, en grande partie, de différences sociodémographiques. Il existe certaines différences dans les attitudes politiques des deux groupes, mais elles n'ont qu'une faible incidence sur l'écart entre leurs taux de participation électorale.