Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Voter Turnout among Younger Canadians and Visible Minority Canadians: Evidence from the Provincial Diversity Project

Share this report   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

7. Conclusion and Policy Implications

Using data from the Provincial Diversity Project, this report explored the factors that explain the propensity of younger Canadians and visible minority Canadians to vote less than other Canadians. The most important question, however, is not so much why they did not vote in one particular election or another, but rather why some segments of these groups systematically abstain from voting at every election and at elections at different orders of government. For this reason, after exploring the correlates of voting among younger Canadians and visible minority Canadians in federal and provincial elections, we turned our attention to habitual non-voting. In any case, very few differences in correlates of voting were identified between federal and provincial elections.

Our investigations indicate as others have done before, that younger Canadians are not simply more likely to miss out on voting in one election from time to time, but that they are more likely to be habitual non-voters, that is to systematically abstain from voting at every election. Quite importantly, the study reveals that this is also the case for visible minority Canadians; they are more likely to be habitual non-voters than other Canadians.

The important question then became, why? In order to answer this question, we first identified the socio-demographic characteristics and political attitudes for which younger and older Canadians, and visible minority Canadians and other Canadians, differ. We then identified whether these characteristics were correlates of habitual non-voting. Finally, we estimated through simulations to what extent each of these variables could explain the gap in habitual non-voting between these different groups of the Canadian population.

Our analyses allow us to explain an important part of the gap in habitual non-voting between younger and older Canadians and between visible minority Canadians and other Canadians. While the explanations for younger Canadians relate both to their socio-demographic status and political attitudes, the explanation for visible minority Canadians relates mainly to their socio-demographic status. Our investigations thus reveal two groups of Canadians who are less likely to vote but who abstain from voting for somewhat different reasons.

More specifically, being a student appears to be an important factor to consider in explaining the gap in habitual non-voting between younger and older Canadians. Contrary to Gélineau (2013), we found that students are more likely to be habitual non-voters than non-students among younger Canadians, and that younger Canadians were more likely to be habitual non-voters than older Canadians in part because a larger proportion of them is still in school. Such divergent findings are puzzling, especially considering the key role that such a characteristic appears to play in explaining the gap in habitual non-voting. It is difficult to determine why being a student is correlated with a higher propensity to vote in Gélineau's study and with lower propensity to vote in our study. We can however offer a tentative explanation as to why we believe it intuitively makes sense to expect students to vote less than non-students.

In the conclusion of his book, Paul Howe (2010) provides an in-depth reflection as to the broader roots of decline in voter turnout among the Canadian youth. His proposed argument refers to the emergence of what he calls a "extended adolescence" in which younger Canadians are experiencing a very long transition between childhood and adulthood. The main source of this change, Howe reports, would be the progressive increase over the past decades in the number of people who attend higher education and the prolonged length of that education. This "extended adolescence" would increase interactions with peers of the same age and limits the extent of their social responsibilities.

Of course, our findings do not provide a detailed and direct demonstration in support of Howe's thesis. It nevertheless provides one set of evidence that supports it, namely that students are less likely to vote than non-students. Arguably, students are precisely at this stage of "extended adolescence" in which they have increased interactions with peers and a limited set of social responsibilities. Students are at a stage of their life in which for the most part they do not have children, do not own a property, do not know if they are living in the city or province where they will settle down after completing their education, and do not know in which profession they will work or in which social class they will belong. Likely, such an extended stage of life in between the shelter and guidance provided by parents and the settlement into a more defined social positioning, might help explain why students are less likely to vote, and more broadly why younger Canadians are less likely to vote. Of course, this is a big conclusion based only on a limited set of evidence, but the point here is not so much to rule in a conclusive manner why younger Canadians vote less than older ones, but to further encourage the reflection and discussion as to what might be the consequences on voting of delayed social responsibilities, if there really is such a delay.

A weaker sense that voting is a civic duty is another main factor to account for a substantial part of the gap in habitual non-voting between younger and older Canadians. About half of younger Canadians do not feel guilty about the idea of not voting. This is substantially more than among older Canadians. It appears that remobilizing the Canadian youth in the electoral process (federal and provincial) must involve efforts as building this sense of civic duty. This study is not the first one to highlight such a finding (see Blais, 2000). On this matter, it is now time to move beyond the diagnostic stage of why younger Canadians vote less and to identify why younger Canadians are less committed to the norm that voting is part of their civic duty. We need to start identifying the promising avenues to favour the emergence of such a sense of civic duty. Many civic education programs have been initiated over the years, such as CIVIX's Student Vote program for elementary and high school students or Elections Canada's Choosing our Mascot for primary schools students. The question is whether those programs are efficient in the long term, especially at instilling a stronger sense of civic duty.

Confidence is Elections Canada is the third factor to help make sense of why younger Canadians are more likely to abstain from voting than older Canadians. Younger Canadians express less confidence in Elections Canada than older ones, and such lower confidence in the guardian of elections appear related to a lower propensity to vote. Interestingly, it holds beyond voting in federal elections; it is also related to habitual non-voting. This suggests that ensuring the strong integrity of the electoral process and of the institution in charge of administering the electoral process is essential to ensure that younger Canadians engage more with the electoral process and even to ensure that all Canadians continue to vote. Fortunately, Canadians appear to express a strong level of confidence in Elections Canada, more so than in the legislative bodies of the federal and provincial governments. An age-gap exists, however, between younger and older Canadians. Do younger Canadians express less confidence in Elections Canada because they know little about the institution? Will confidence in Elections Canada grow as younger Canadians become older or will it stay lower? In short, is the lower confidence in Elections Canada among younger Canadians the reflection of the stage at which they are in their life cycle or rather the reflection of generational phenomenon? It was not possible to explore why younger Canadians express less confidence in Elections Canada than older ones, but the consequences are real and clear: younger Canadians vote less than older ones. These are thus questions Elections Canada might want to further investigate in the future.

The fourth factor that helps explains why younger Canadians are more likely to be habitual non-voters than older Canadians is their greater disconnect from political parties. The solution to youth disengagement with electoral politics thus appears to be in part in the hands of parties who need to find ways to reconnect with the Canadian youth.

A final consideration that appears relevant to explain why younger Canadians are more likely to be habitual non-voters is their difficulty to articulate opinions about political matters. Our analyses indicate that younger Canadians are substantively more likely to provide "don't know" responses to political questions, and that such responses are significantly correlated with the likelihood of being a habitual non-voter. Of course, it is possible that such low levels of opinionation might essentially reflect a lack of knowledge about politics, something we could not account for in this study. This nevertheless points to another possibility to further explore. In any case, such lower levels of opinionation among younger Canadians arguably signals a disengagement with politics.

Turning to visible minority Canadians, we find that the situation is a bit different. The details of the story can be found in the section where the gap in habitual non-voting is explained. The core of the story is that the main two factors that explain why visible minority Canadians vote less than other Canadians relate to their socio-demographic situation. First, a large proportion of visible minority Canadians in our sample are recent immigrants (24%) and recent immigrants appear more likely to be habitual non-voters. This finding also applies to younger Canadians. What precisely impedes recent immigrants to vote during their first decade in Canada remains to be identified. The optimistic prospect, however, is that visible minorities born abroad but who have lived in Canada for more than 10 years appear as likely as the rest of the population to vote. If anything, this suggests that the challenge of voting for members of visible minority groups who are immigrants is only temporary. Government efforts at stimulating and facilitating voting in this group of Canadians should therefore be targeted primarily at recent immigrants.

The other main component as to why visible minority Canadians are more likely to be habitual non-voters than other Canadians is that they are on average younger. Since we know that younger Canadians vote less and that visible minority Canadians are younger than the rest of the population, it is not then too surprising to observe that they vote less. In other words, trying to understand why visible minority Canadians vote less is at least in part the same task as to finding out why younger Canadians vote less. By finding ways to address low voter turnout among  youth, governments and community partners are simultaneously tackling another task, namely to stimulating voting among Canadians of visible minority background. Programs targeting younger Canadians, however, need to be built around the socio-demographic reality that a significant proportion of Canada's youth is of a more diverse ethnic and racial background than it used to be.

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

La participation électorale des jeunes et des membres d'une minorité visible au Canada : éclairage du Projet sur la diversité provinciale

Partager ce rapport   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

8. Conclusion et incidence sur les politiques

Au moyen des données du PDP, le présent rapport a étudié les facteurs expliquant la propension des jeunes et des membres d'une minorité visible à moins voter que les autres Canadiens. La question la plus importante, cependant, n'est pas de savoir pourquoi ils n'ont pas voté à telle ou telle élection, mais pourquoi certains segments de ces groupes s'abstiennent systématiquement de voter à chaque élection, et aux différents paliers électoraux. C'est pourquoi, après avoir examiné les corrélats du vote chez les jeunes et les membres d'une minorité visible aux élections fédérales et provinciales, nous avons porté notre attention sur l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Par ailleurs, très peu de différences ont été relevées dans les corrélats du vote entre les élections fédérales et provinciales.

Nos recherches montrent, comme d'autres avant, que les jeunes ne sont pas simplement enclins à s'abstenir de voter à l'occasion, mais qu'ils ont davantage tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents, c'est-à-dire à s'abstenir systématiquement de voter à chaque élection. L'étude met aussi en lumière un nouvel élément important : comme les jeunes, les membres d'une minorité visible sont plus enclins à l'abstentionnisme récurrent que les autres Canadiens.

Il importe alors de se demander pourquoi. Pour répondre à cette question, nous avons d'abord déterminé les caractéristiques sociodémographiques et les attitudes politiques qui distinguent les jeunes de leurs aînés, et les membres d'une minorité visible des autres Canadiens. Nous avons ensuite vu si ces caractéristiques étaient des corrélats de l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Enfin, au moyen de simulations, nous avons évalué dans quelle mesure chacune de ces variables pourrait expliquer l'écart dans l'abstentionnisme récurrent entre ces divers groupes.

Nos analyses nous permettent d'expliquer une partie importante de l'écart dans l'abstentionnisme récurrent entre les jeunes et leurs aînés et entre les membres d'une minorité visible et les autres Canadiens. Chez les jeunes, l'explication concerne à la fois le statut sociodémographique et les attitudes politiques. Chez les membres d'une minorité visible, l'explication est liée essentiellement au statut sociodémographique. Nos recherches révèlent donc deux groupes de Canadiens qui ont tendance à s'abstenir de voter, mais pour des motifs assez différents.

Plus précisément, le statut d'étudiant semble constituer un facteur important pour expliquer l'écart dans l'abstentionnisme récurrent entre les jeunes et leurs aînés. Contrairement à Gélineau (2013), nous avons constaté que les étudiants ont davantage tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents que les non-étudiants parmi les jeunes Canadiens, et que les jeunes ont plus tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents que leurs aînés, notamment parce qu'une plus grande partie d'entre eux sont encore aux études. Cette divergence avec les résultats de Gélineau laisse perplexe, compte tenu surtout du rôle clé que semble jouer cette caractéristique dans l'explication de l'écart dans l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Il est difficile de déterminer pourquoi le statut d'étudiant est corrélé à une diminution de l'abstention dans l'étude de Gélineau et à une augmentation de l'abstention dans la nôtre. Nous pouvons toutefois tenter d'expliquer pourquoi, selon nous, il est intuitivement logique de s'attendre à ce que les étudiants votent moins que les non-étudiants.

Dans la conclusion de son ouvrage, Paul Howe (2010) examine en profondeur l'origine générale de la chute de la participation électorale chez les jeunes Canadiens. Il décrit l'émergence de ce qu'il appelle une « adolescence prolongée », au cours de laquelle les jeunes vivent une très longue transition de l'enfance à l'âge adulte. Selon Howe, la cause principale de ce changement serait l'augmentation progressive du nombre de personnes aux études supérieures au cours des dernières décennies et la durée accrue de ces études. Cette adolescence prolongée augmenterait les interactions avec des pairs de leur âge et limiterait leurs responsabilités sociales.

Certes, nos constatations ne viennent pas étayer de façon détaillée et directe la thèse de Howe. Elles apportent néanmoins des données attestant que les étudiants ont moins tendance à voter que les non-étudiants. On peut fait valoir que les étudiants en sont exactement à ce stade de l'adolescence prolongée où ils ont davantage d'interactions avec leurs pairs et des responsabilités sociales limitées. À cette étape de leur vie, la plupart n'ont pas d'enfants, ne possèdent pas de propriété, ignorent s'ils vivent dans la ville ou la province où ils s'établiront après leurs études, et ne savent pas quelle sera leur profession ou à quelle classe sociale ils appartiendront. Il est probable que la durée prolongée de cette période de la vie entre le refuge et les conseils fournis par les parents et l'installation dans un statut social mieux défini contribue à expliquer pourquoi les étudiants ont moins tendance à voter et, plus généralement, pourquoi les jeunes ont moins tendance à voter. Bien sûr, il s'agit d'une grande conclusion fondée sur un ensemble limité de données, mais le but n'est pas tant d'établir de manière concluante pourquoi les jeunes votent moins que leurs aînés, mais de favoriser une réflexion et une discussion accrues sur ce que pourraient être les conséquences sur le vote d'un report des responsabilités sociales, si un tel report existe vraiment.

Une part importante de l'écart dans l'abstentionnisme récurrent entre les jeunes et leurs aînés s'explique aussi par un sentiment moins fort que le vote constitue un devoir citoyen. Environ la moitié des jeunes Canadiens ne se sentent pas coupables de s'abstenir de voter. Cette proportion est beaucoup plus élevée que chez leurs aînés. Il semble que pour réengager les jeunes dans le processus électoral (fédéral et provincial), il faudra s'efforcer de développer ce sens civique. Cette étude n'est pas la première à faire ce constat (voir Blais 2000). Il faut maintenant aller au-delà du diagnostic de l'abstentionnisme des jeunes Canadiens et déterminer pourquoi les jeunes adhèrent moins à la norme selon laquelle le vote est un devoir civique. Nous devons commencer à déterminer quelles voies sont les plus prometteuses pour favoriser l'émergence d'un tel sentiment du devoir civique. De nombreux programmes d'éducation électorale ont été lancés au fil des ans, comme le programme de vote étudiant CIVIX pour le primaire et le secondaire, ainsi que la trousse de simulation électorale Choisissons notre mascotte d'Élections Canada pour les élèves du primaire. Il s'agit de déterminer si ces programmes sont efficaces à long terme, surtout dans leur mission d'établir un sens civique solide.

La confiance envers Élections Canada est le troisième facteur qui aide à expliquer pourquoi les jeunes ont davantage tendance à s'abstenir de voter que leurs aînés. Les jeunes témoignent moins de confiance envers Élections Canada que leurs aînés, et cette confiance moindre à l'égard du gardien des élections fédérales semble liée à une plus faible propension à voter. Fait intéressant, ce point est relié non seulement aux élections fédérales, mais également à l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Cela donne à penser qu'il est essentiel d'assurer la forte intégrité du processus électoral et de l'institution chargée d'administrer ce processus au niveau fédéral pour que les jeunes Canadiens participent davantage aux élections, et même que l'ensemble des Canadiens continuent à voter. Heureusement, les Canadiens semblent exprimer une grande confiance dans Élections Canada, davantage que dans les organes législatifs des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux. Sur ce point, il existe toutefois un écart entre les jeunes Canadiens et leurs aînés. Les jeunes ont-ils moins confiance en Élections Canada parce qu'ils connaissent peu l'institution? La confiance envers Élections Canada ira-t-elle en augmentant à mesure que les jeunes vieilliront, ou restera-t-elle au même niveau? Bref, le niveau plus faible de confiance des jeunes envers Élections Canada reflète-t-il le stade où ils sont dans leur vie ou s'agit-il plutôt d'un phénomène de génération? Il n'a pas été possible d'étudier pourquoi les jeunes témoignent moins de confiance envers Élections Canada que leurs aînés, mais les conséquences sont réelles et claires : les jeunes Canadiens votent moins souvent que leurs aînés. Ce sont là, par conséquent, des questions qu'Élections Canada pourrait vouloir approfondir.

Le quatrième facteur qui contribue à expliquer pourquoi les jeunes sont plus portés vers l'abstentionnisme récurrent que leurs aînés est leur plus grande désaffection à l'égard des partis politiques. À cet égard, la solution semble reposer partiellement entre les mains des partis, qui doivent trouver des façons de rétablir les liens avec les jeunes Canadiens.

Un dernier facteur qui semble relié à l'abstentionnisme chez les jeunes est leur difficulté à exprimer des opinions sur des questions politiques. Nos analyses indiquent que les jeunes sont beaucoup plus portés à répondre « Ne sais pas » aux questions de nature politique et que ces réponses sont beaucoup plus corrélées à la probabilité d'être des abstentionnistes récurrents. Certes, il se peut que ces faibles niveaux d'expression d'opinions reflètent surtout un manque de connaissances politiques, mais cela débordait le cadre de la présente étude. Cette question mériterait en tout cas d'être approfondie. On peut néanmoins penser que ces faibles niveaux d'expression d'opinions chez les jeunes sont un signe de désaffection politique.

Chez les membres d'une minorité visible, la situation est un peu différente. Les précisions à cet égard se trouvent dans la section expliquant l'écart dans l'abstentionnisme récurrent. En résumé, les deux principaux facteurs à l'origine d'un abstentionnisme plus élevé chez les membres d'une minorité visible par rapport aux autres Canadiens sont liés à leur situation sociodémographique. D'abord, une proportion importante des membres d'une minorité visible qui font partie de notre échantillon est constituée de nouveaux arrivants (24 %), et les nouveaux arrivants semblent plus enclins à être des abstentionnistes récurrents. Cette constatation s'applique aussi aux jeunes Canadiens. Il reste à expliquer avec précision les causes de cet abstentionnisme chez les nouveaux arrivants pendant leur première décennie au Canada. Selon la perspective optimiste, toutefois, les membres d'une minorité visible nés à l'étranger, mais ayant vécu au Canada pendant plus de 10 ans, semblent avoir autant tendance à voter que le reste de la population. Cela porte à croire que la difficulté est temporaire. Pour ce groupe, les efforts du gouvernement en vue de stimuler et de faciliter le vote devraient donc viser prioritairement les nouveaux arrivants.

L'autre facteur expliquant une plus grande propension à l'abstentionnisme récurrent chez les membres d'une minorité visible que chez les autres Canadiens est le fait qu'ils sont, en moyenne, plus jeunes. Comme nous savons que les jeunes votent moins et que les membres d'une minorité visible sont plus jeunes que le reste de la population, il n'est guère étonnant de constater qu'ils votent moins. Autrement dit, chercher pourquoi les membres d'une minorité visible votent moins, c'est au moins en partie chercher la raison pour laquelle les jeunes votent moins. En trouvant des façons d'encourager la participation électorale chez les jeunes, les gouvernements et les partenaires de la communauté s'attaquent aussi à une autre tâche, qui est de stimuler le vote chez les membres d'une minorité visible. Toutefois, les programmes destinés aux jeunes doivent prendre en compte aujourd'hui le fait qu'une proportion importante des jeunes du Canada est d'une origine ethnique et raciale plus diversifiée qu'auparavant.