Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Voter Turnout among Younger Canadians and Visible Minority Canadians: Evidence from the Provincial Diversity Project

Share this report   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

Introduction

Over the past decade, a tremendous amount of resources have been devoted to tracking youth voter turnout. The evidence is quite clear: younger Canadians vote significantly less than older Canadians. Elections Canada estimates that voter turnout in the 2011 federal election was 38.8% for those aged 18-24 and 45.1% for those aged 25-34, compared with 71.5% and 75.1% for those aged 55-64 and 65-74 respectively. Blais and Loewen (2011) found that regardless of the socio-economic variables (education, income, etc), voter turnout increases with age.

However, young voters are not the only segment of Canadian society to exhibit a lower propensity to vote. Earlier evidence suggested that immigrants were somewhat less likely than other Canadians to vote and that the size of the turnout gap varied across different groups of immigrants (Black, 1987; Chui, Lambert, Curtis, 1991). Liviana Tossutti's (2007) analysis of the Ethnic Diversity Survey, the largest dataset available to investigate immigrants' participation in federal, provincial and municipal elections, came to a similar conclusion. She found that members of non-European immigrant groups displayed the lowest levels of electoral turnout. The above studies indicated significant variation in electoral participation across various groups of immigrants in Canada. Gidengil and Roy (forthcoming, 2015) help us make sense of that variation by highlighting that members of visible minority groups are least likely to vote. While past research has shown that Canadians belonging to visible minority groups, especially immigrants, experience the greatest difficulty in social and economic integration, Gidengil and Roy (forthcoming, 2015) indicate that this is also true in terms of electoral participation.

Although it is increasingly well documented that younger Canadians and visible minority Canadians tend to vote less than other Canadians, the causes of this variation in voter turnout are less clear. This report tries to provide a better understanding of the reasons why younger Canadians and visible minority Canadians tend to vote in smaller proportions than other Canadians. To do so, this report investigates the characteristics of voters among these groups of Canadians.Footnote 1

This report relies on the Provincial Diversity Project (PDP). The PDP is a research platform led by Antoine Bilodeau (Concordia), Luc Turgeon (Ottawa), Ailsa Henderson (Edinburgh), and Stephen E. White (Concordia). The PDP aims at providing a better understanding of the way in which identity and attachment, views about federalism, attitudes toward ethnic diversity and immigration, political participation, as well as views on social, economic and political issues, differ across provinces in Canada.

The Provincial Diversity Project was conducted with the support of Léger Marketing, Concordia University, the Secrétariat aux affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes du Québec, the Canadian Network for Research on Terrorism, Security and Society, Elections Canada, the Institute for Research on Public Policy and the Chaire de recherche du Canada en études québécoises et canadiennes de l'UQAM.

The Provincial Diversity Project survey was conducted online by Léger Marketing in the winter of 2014 and surveyed close to 10,000 Canadians. The Provincial Diversity Project survey has three components. The first component of the project provides a portrait of Canadians in each province. More than 6400 Canadians were interviewed in all ten provinces: 1000 respondents were interviewed in each of Quebec, Ontario, Alberta and British Columbia; 500 Canadians were interviewed in each of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Manitoba and Saskatchewan; and 400 Canadians were interviewed in Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador. The second component of the project provides oversamples of visible minority Canadians in Quebec, Ontario, Alberta and British Columbia; 400 visible minority Canadians were interviewed in each of the four provinces. Finally, the third component of the project provides regional samples of young Canadians (aged 18 to 34). The study interviewed 500 young Canadians in Quebec and 350 young Canadians in each of the following regions: the Atlantic, Ontario, the Prairies, and British Columbia. Elections Canada provided the financial support to conduct the young Canadian component of the survey (except for Quebec, which was funded by the Institute for Research in Public Policy).

The report relies on some of the strategic advantages of the Provincial Diversity Project. First, the project oversamples young Canadians and visible minority Canadians. Second, the project examines voter turnout in both federal and provincial elections. Third, the project examines the correlates of voting that are specific to each of the federal or provincial political dynamics. For instance, the report examines whether respondents are interested in federal politics and in the politics of their province, and it examines whether respondents would feel guilty not voting in federal elections and in provincial elections. This feature of the Provincial Diversity Project allows us to move beyond the examination of general political attitudes, to examine whether some federal and provincial-specific political attitudes structure Canadians' propensity to vote. The following political attitudes and characteristics are examined: interest in politics, feeling close to a political party, the perception that politics is too complicated, feeling that one has no say in what the government does, feeling guilty about not voting, feeling that one's vote can make a difference, frequency of political discussions at home during one's youth, confidence in the House of Commons, in the provincial legislature and in Elections Canada, attachment to Canada and the province, the perceived impact of government on one's life, and social trust.

Following existing research on voter turnout (Gélineau, 2013), we divide the correlates of voting into two groups: 1) socio-demographic characteristics and 2) political attitudes. The report thus begins by comparing the socio-economic profiles and political attitudes of younger and older Canadians, and those of visible minority Canadians and other Canadians. Second, it separately examines the characteristics of younger and older voters in federal and provincial elections, as well as those of voters who are members of a visible minority groups and those who are not. Third, the report examines the characteristics of younger voters and visible minority voters who are habitual non-voters (those who did not vote in both federal and provincial elections). Fourth, once we have identified some of the key characteristics of voters among younger Canadians and visible minority Canadians, the report evaluates to what extent these characteristics account for the gap in voter turnout between younger and older Canadians and between visible minority Canadians and other Canadians. Finally, the report provides a discussion on the role of low opinionation in explaining the lower voter turnout among younger Canadians and visible minority Canadians.

We start by exploring levels of voter turnout among Canadians in federal and provincial elections using the PDP. The PDP asked respondents to indicate whether they had voted in the previous federal and provincial elections. As indicated in Table 1, Canadians report having voted in the previous federal and provincial elections in broadly similar proportions. Moreover, and consistent with findings from existing studies, younger Canadians tend to vote less than older ones. While 88% of Canadians aged 35 and older report having voted in the last federal election, this proportion drops to 66% among those aged 25 to 34, and to 49% for those aged 18 to 24.Footnote 2 There is, thus, a 39-point gap between Canadians aged 18 to 24 and those aged 35 years and older. Similar gaps are observed in provincial election voter turnout. Also consistent with existing research, visible minority Canadians are less likely than other Canadians to report having voted in previous federal and provincial elections. The gaps are substantial: 16 points for federal elections and 18 points for provincial elections.

Table 1. Self-Reported Voting in Federal and Provincial Elections
  Age-Groups Visible Minority Status
Voted in last elections (%) 18-24 25-34 35+ Visible minority Canadians Other Canadians
Federal election 49 66a 88 a 68 84 a
Provincial election 50 65a 86 a 65 83 a
n= 971 2323 5007 2202 5609

Difference with 18-24 or visible minorities: a: p<.001; b: p<.01; c: p<.05.
Source: Provincial Diversity Project






Footnote 1 We use Statistics Canada’s definition of visible minorities, which is a “person other than Aboriginal peoples, who are non-Caucasian in race or non-white in colour. The visible minority population consists mainly of the following groups: Chinese, South Asian, Black, Arab,West Asian, Filipino, Southeast Asian, Latin American, Japanese and Korean.” To simplify the reading of this report, we often use at times "other voters" to refer to non-visible minority voters.

Footnote 2 These proportions clearly over-estimate the proportions of Canadians who actually vote in federal and provincial elections. Such an over-reporting of voter turnout is not specific to the Provincial Diversity Project; it has been observed in all of the Canadian Election Studies conducted over the last few decades.

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

La participation électorale des jeunes et des membres d'une minorité visible au Canada : éclairage du Projet sur la diversité provinciale

Partager ce rapport   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

Introduction

Durant la dernière décennie, des ressources considérables ont été consacrées à l'étude de la participation électorale des jeunes. Les faits sont clairs : les jeunes Canadiens votent beaucoup moins que leurs aînés. Élections Canada estime que la participation à l'élection fédérale de 2011 a été de 38,8 % pour les 18-24 ans et de 45,1 % pour les 25-34 ans, contre 71,5 % et 75,1 % pour les 55-64 ans et les 65 -74 ans, respectivement. Selon Blais et Loewen (2011), la participation augmente avec l'âge, peu importe les variables socioéconomiques (scolarité, revenu, etc.).

Toutefois, les jeunes ne constituent pas le seul segment de la société canadienne à afficher une propension à voter plus faible. Des données antérieures indiquaient que les immigrants avaient moins tendance que les autres Canadiens à voter et que l'écart de participation variait entre divers groupes d'immigrants (Black 1987; Chui, Curtis et Lambert 1991). L'analyse de Livianna Tossutti (2007) basée sur l'Enquête sur la diversité ethnique, le plus grand ensemble de données disponible sur la participation des immigrants aux élections fédérales, provinciales et municipales, a abouti à une conclusion similaire. Elle a conclu que les membres de groupes d'immigrants non européens présentaient les niveaux les plus faibles de participation électorale. Les études susmentionnées révélaient des écarts importants dans la participation électorale des divers groupes d'immigrants au Canada. Gidengil et Roy (à venir) nous aident à comprendre ces différences en mettant en lumière que les membres des minorités visibles sont ceux qui ont le moins tendance à voter. Si des recherches antérieures ont montré que les Canadiens membres de minorités visibles, en particulier les immigrants, sont ceux qui éprouvent le plus de difficulté sur le plan de l'intégration sociale et économique, Gidengil et Roy (ibid.) indiquent que cela est également vrai sur le plan de la participation électorale.

Il est de mieux en mieux établi que les jeunes et les membres d'une minorité visible ont tendance à voter moins fréquemment que les autres Canadiens, mais les causes de cet écart sont moins claires. Le présent rapport vise à permettre une meilleure compréhension de ces causes. Pour ce faire, il analyse les caractéristiques des votants parmi ces groupes de Canadiensnote 1.

Ce présent rapport s'appuie sur le Projet sur la diversité provinciale (PDP). Le PDP est une plateforme de recherche dirigée par Antoine Bilodeau (Université Concordia), Luc Turgeon (Université d'Ottawa), Ailsa Henderson (Université d'Édimbourg) et Stephen E. White (Université Concordia). Le PDP vise à mieux faire comprendre de quelle façon l'identité et l'attachement, les points de vue sur le fédéralisme, les attitudes face à la diversité ethnique et l'immigration, la participation politique, ainsi que les points de vue sur les enjeux sociaux, économiques et politiques diffèrent entre les provinces du Canada.

Le PDP a été exécuté avec l'appui de : Léger Marketing; l'Université Concordia; le Secrétariat aux affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes du gouvernement du Québec; le Réseau canadien de recherche sur le terrorisme, la sécurité et la société; Élections Canada; l'Institut de recherche en politiques publiques; et la Chaire de recherche du Canada en études québécoises et canadiennes de l'Université du Québec à Montréal.

Le sondage PDP a été mené en ligne par Léger Marketing auprès de 10 000 répondants durant l'hiver 2014. Il comporte trois volets. Le premier trace un portrait des Canadiens dans chaque province. Plus de 6 400 personnes ont passé une entrevue dans les dix provinces : 1 000 par province au Québec, en Ontario, en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique; 500 par province en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Nouveau-Brunswick, au Manitoba et en Saskatchewan; et 400 par province à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Le deuxième volet fournit des suréchantillons des membres d'une minorité visible (400 personnes par province) au Québec, en Ontario, en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique. Enfin, le troisième volet fournit des échantillons régionaux de jeunes (18 à 34 ans). Les sondeurs ont interviewé 500 jeunes au Québec et 350 dans chacune des régions suivantes : l'Atlantique, l'Ontario, les Prairies et la Colombie-Britannique. Élections Canada a assumé le financement du volet sur les jeunes (sauf dans le cas du Québec, financé par l'Institut de recherche en politiques publiques).

Le rapport tire profit de certains avantages stratégiques du PDP. D'abord, il suréchantillonne les jeunes et les membres d'une minorité visible. Ensuite, il examine la participation aux élections fédérales et provinciales. Enfin, il étudie les facteurs de participation qui sont propres à la dynamique politique à la fois au niveau fédéral et provincial. Par exemple, le rapport vise à déterminer dans quelle mesure les répondants s'intéressent à la politique fédérale et à la politique de leur province, et cherche à établir s'ils se sentiraient coupables de s'abstenir de voter aux élections fédérales et provinciales. Cet élément du PDP nous permet de déterminer, au-delà des attitudes politiques générales, si des attitudes propres à la politique fédérale et à la politique provinciale structurent la propension à voter des Canadiens. Les attitudes et caractéristiques politiques suivantes sont étudiées : l'intérêt pour la politique; l'attachement à un parti; le sentiment que la politique est trop complexe; le sentiment de n'avoir aucune emprise sur  l'action du gouvernement; le sentiment de culpabilité de ne pas voter; le sentiment que son vote peut faire une différence; la fréquence des discussions politiques à la maison pendant sa jeunesse; la confiance envers la Chambre des communes, l'assemblée législative provinciale et Élections Canada; l'attachement au Canada et à la province; l'impact apparent du gouvernement sur sa vie; et la confiance sociale.

À l'exemple de travaux antérieurs sur la participation électorale (Gélineau 2013), nous divisons les corrélats du vote en deux groupes : 1) les caractéristiques sociodémographiques et 2) les attitudes politiques. Le rapport compare donc d'abord les profils socioéconomiques et les attitudes politiques des jeunes et de leurs aînés, et ceux des membres d'une minorité visible et des autres Canadiens. En deuxième lieu, il étudie séparément les caractéristiques de ces quatre groupes de votants lors des élections fédérales et provinciales. Troisièmement, le rapport examine les caractéristiques des jeunes et des membres d'une minorité visible qui sont des abstentionnistes récurrents (personnes qui n'ont voté ni aux élections fédérales ni aux élections provinciales). Quatrièmement, après avoir établi certaines des caractéristiques principales des votants jeunes et des votants d'une minorité visible, nous évaluons dans quelle mesure ces caractéristiques expliquent la participation électorale relativement faible de ces deux groupes. Enfin, nous traitons le rôle du faible taux d'expression d'opinions dans le phénomène d'abstentionnisme.

Nous commençons par explorer les niveaux de participation électorale aux élections fédérales et provinciales au moyen du PDP. Les répondants devaient indiquer s'ils avaient voté aux élections fédérales et provinciales précédentes. Comme le montre le tableau 1 ci-après, les Canadiens déclarent avoir voté aux élections fédérales et provinciales précédentes dans des proportions largement similaires. En outre, comme l'ont constaté des études antérieures, les jeunes ont tendance à voter moins que leurs aînés. Tandis que 88 % des répondants de 35 ans et plus disent avoir voté aux dernières élections fédérales, cette proportion chute à 66 % chez les 25-34 ans et à 49 % chez les 18-24 ansnote 2. Il existe donc un écart de 39 points entre les 18-24 ans et les 35 ans et plus. On constate des écarts similaires au niveau provincial. De plus, comme l'ont constaté des études antérieures, les membres d'une minorité visible sont moins susceptibles que les autres Canadiens de déclarer avoir voté lors des élections fédérales et provinciales précédentes. Les écarts sont substantiels : 16 et 18 points pour les élections fédérales et provinciales, respectivement.

Tableau 1. Vote déclaré aux élections fédérales et provinciales
  Groupe d'âge Statut de minorité visible
A voté à la dernière élection (en %) 18-24 25-34 35+ Membres d'une minorité visible Autres Canadiens
Élection fédérale 49 66a 88a 68 84a
Élection provinciale 50 65a 86a 65 83a
n= 971 2 323 5 007 2 202 5 609

Différence par rapport aux 18-24 ans ou aux minorités visibles : a : p<,001; b : p<,01; c : p<,05.
Source : Projet sur la diversité provinciale.


Note 1 Nous utilisons la définition de « minorités visibles » de Statistique Canada (présentée à www.statcan.gc.ca/concepts/definitions/minority-minorite1-fra.htm), dont une partie provient de la Loi sur l’équité en matière d’emploi : « "les personnes, autres que les Autochtones, qui ne sont pas de race blanche ou qui n'ont pas la peau blanche". Il s'agit principalement des groupes suivants : Chinois, Sud-Asiatique, Noir, Arabe, Asiatique occidental, Philippin, Asiatique du Sud-Est, Latino-Américain, Japonais et Coréen. » Pour simplifier la lecture du présent rapport, nous utilisons fréquemment l’expression « autres votants » pour désigner les votants non membres d’une minorité visible.

Note 2 Ces proportions surestiment nettement les proportions de Canadiens qui votent réellement aux élections fédérales et provinciales. Une telle surdéclaration de la participation électorale n'est pas propre au PDP; elle a été observée dans toutes les études canadiennes sur les élections menées au cours des dernières décennies.