Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Voter Turnout among Younger Canadians and Visible Minority Canadians: Evidence from the Provincial Diversity Project

Share this report   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

1. The Socio-Economic Profile of Younger Canadians and Visible Minority Canadians

Younger Canadians are less likely to vote than older ones. Visible minority Canadians are less likely to vote than other Canadians. Why? In order to start exploring the reasons why we observe such gaps in voting, the report first compares the socio-economic profile of the different groups. It is well known that some socio-economic characteristics are associated with lower and higher propensity to vote. Should younger and older Canadians or visible minority Canadians and other Canadians have different socio-economic profiles, this could help us identify some of the reasons why voter turnout varies across these different segments of the Canadian population. Table 2 presents the distribution of the socio-demographic characteristics.

Table 2. Socio-Demographic Characteristics of Younger and Visible Minority Canadians
  Age-Groups Visible Minority Status
  18-24 25-34 35+ Visible minority Canadians Other Canadians
Age (mean) 22 30*** 55*** 38 50***
Education (% highest degree)
High school or less
Post-secondary
University
Post-graduate
28
24
45
2
15**
31**
41
12***
20**
32**
36***
13***
11
21
51
17
22***
33***
35***
11***
Household income (% less than $30,000) 40 20*** 16*** 24 17***
Unemployed (%) 8 8 4*** 7 5**
Student (%) 49 9*** 1*** 14 5***
Married (%) 19 55*** 68*** 54 63***
Time spent at religious inst. (% weekly) 10 11 13 18 11***
Recent immigrant (%) 8 9 3*** 24 2***
Minimum n= 787 2075 4300 1938 4862

Source: Provincial Diversity Project (2014).
Difference with 18-24 or visible minorities: ***: p<.001; **: p<.01; *: p<.05.

1.1 The Socio-Economic Profile of Younger Canadians

Younger and older Canadians differ on many socio-economic characteristics. First, a larger proportion of younger Canadians than older Canadians hold a university degree (45% and 41% for those aged 18-24 and 25-34 as opposed to 36% for those aged 35 and older). These differences reflect a well-documented gradual structural transformation in the Canadian population since the 1950s. The differences would actually be much larger if we unpacked the group of Canadians aged 35 and older.Footnote 3

Younger Canadians are also more likely to earn $30,000 or less than older Canadians (40%, 20%, and 16% respectively for Canadians aged 18 to 24, 25 to 34 and 35 and older). This finding can easily be explained by the fact that a substantial proportion of Canadians aged 18 to 24 are still in school. Indeed, close to half of our sample of 18 to 24 (49%) declared still being students in comparison to only 9% of those aged 25 to 34 and only 1% of those aged 35 and older. Younger Canadians are also more likely to report being unemployed than older Canadians, which could also help explain the differences in household income.

Another difference, somewhat predictable, concerns the proportions of Canadians reporting being married. Not surprisingly, younger Canadians are substantially less likely to report being married than older Canadians (19%, 55%, and 68% respectively for Canadians aged 18 to 24, 25 to 34 and 35 and older). Most of the above observations are not really surprising; younger and older Canadians are at different stages of the life-cycle. They are nevertheless worth mentioning as they could help explain the different propensity to vote across age groups.

A final difference worth reporting concerns the proportion of respondents that are recent immigrants, that is in Canada for 10 years or less. The differences are not large; while 8% and 9% of Canadians aged 18 to 24 and 25 to 34 are recent immigrants, this proportion is only 3% among the 35 and older.

1.2 The Socio-Economic Profile of Visible Minority Canadians

The differences in socio-economic characteristics are also quite systematic between visible minority Canadians and other Canadians. On all characteristics reported in Table 2, visible minority Canadians and other Canadians differ in a statistically significant manner. One of the most important differences is probably that visible minority Canadians are on average younger than other Canadians (38 vs. 50 year old).

Visible minority Canadians in our sample also appear more likely to hold a university degree (51% vs. 35%), and even to hold a post-graduate degree (17% vs. 11%). Interestingly, visible minorities in the aggregate appear less likely to vote in spite of this higher level of education.

Visible minority Canadians also appear more likely to hold an income lower than $30,000, more likely to be unemployed, more likely to be students and less likely to be married. Finally, and not surprisingly, they are substantially more likely to be recent immigrants than other Canadians (24% vs. 2%). As with younger Canadians, the socio-economic profile of visible minority Canadians offers some potential to explain at least part of the gap in voting observed with other Canadians.


Footnote 3 Canadians aged 35 and older are more likely to hold a post-secondary degree but this is only a reflection of the time it takes to complete such higher levels of education.

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

La participation électorale des jeunes et des membres d'une minorité visible au Canada : éclairage du Projet sur la diversité provinciale

Partager ce rapport   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

1. Le profil socioéconomique des jeunes et des membres d'une minorité visible

Les jeunes Canadiens ont moins tendance à voter que leurs aînés. Les Canadiens membres d'une minorité visible ont moins tendance à voter que les autres Canadiens. Pourquoi? Pour répondre à cette question, il faut comparer les profils socioéconomiques des divers groupes. Il est bien connu que certaines caractéristiques socioéconomiques sont liées à la propension à voter. Si les jeunes et les électeurs plus âgés ou les membres d'une minorité visible et les autres Canadiens présentent des profils socioéconomiques différents, cela pourrait aider à cerner certaines des raisons pour lesquelles le taux de participation varie selon les différents segments de la population canadienne. Le tableau 2 ci-après présente la répartition des caractéristiques sociodémographiques.

Tableau 2. Caractéristiques sociodémographiques des jeunes et des membres d'une minorité visible au Canada
  Groupe d'âge Statut de minorité visible
  18-24 25-34 35+ Membres d'une minorité visible Autres Canadiens
Âge (moyen) 22 30*** 55*** 38 50***
Scolarité (% diplôme plus élevé)
Études secondaires ou moins
Études postsecondaires
Études universitaires
Études supérieures
28
24
45
2
15**
31**
41
12***
20**
32**
36***
13***
11
21
51
17
22***
33***
35***
11***
Revenu du ménage (% moins de 30 000 $) 40 20*** 16*** 24 17***
En chômage (%) 8 8 4*** 7 5**
Étudiant (%) 49 9*** 1*** 14 5***
Marié (%) 19 55*** 68*** 54 63***
Temps passé à une institution religieuse (% par semaine) 10 11 13 18 11***
Nouvel arrivant (%) 8 9 3*** 24 2***
Minimum n= 787 2 075 4 300 1 938 4 862

Différence par rapport aux 18-24 ans ou aux minorités visibles : *** : p<,001; ** : p<,01; * : p<,05.
Source : Projet sur la diversité provinciale.

1.1 Le profil socioéconomique des jeunes Canadiens

Les jeunes Canadiens et leurs aînés diffèrent sur plusieurs caractéristiques socioéconomiques. D'abord, une proportion plus élevée de jeunes possèdent un diplôme universitaire (45 % et 41 % pour les 18-24 ans et les 25-34 ans, contre 36 % pour les 35 ans et plus). Ces différences reflètent une transformation structurelle graduelle bien documentée dans la population canadienne depuis les années 1950. Les différences seraient beaucoup plus grandes si nous éclations le groupe des 35 ans et plusnote 3.

Les jeunes sont aussi plus susceptibles de gagner 30 000 $ ou moins que leurs aînés (40 %, 20 % et 16 % respectivement pour les 18-24 ans, les 25-34 ans et les 35 ans et plus). Cela s'explique facilement du fait qu'une importante proportion des 18-24 ans est encore à l'école : 49 % des 18-24 ans ont déclaré être encore étudiants, contre 9 % des 25-34 ans et seulement 1 % des 35 ans et plus. Les jeunes répondants ont aussi plus tendance à être en chômage que leurs aînés, ce qui pourrait également contribuer à expliquer les différences dans le revenu du ménage.

Une autre différence, assez prévisible, a trait aux proportions des Canadiens qui déclarent être mariés. Sans surprise, les jeunes ont beaucoup moins tendance à déclarer être mariés (19 %, 55 %  et 68 %, respectivement, pour les 18-24 ans, les 25-34 ans et les 35 ans et plus). Certes, les jeunes et leurs aînés sont à des stades différents de la vie. Ces observations méritent néanmoins d'être mentionnées, car elles pourraient aider à expliquer les différences entre les taux de vote des différents groupes d'âge.

Une dernière différence à signaler est la proportion de répondants qui sont des nouveaux arrivants, c'est-à-dire qui sont au Canada depuis 10 ans ou moins. Les différences ne sont pas considérables : 8 % et 9 %  des 18-24 ans et des 25-34 ans sont des nouveaux arrivants, mais cette proportion atteint seulement 3 % chez les 35 ans et plus.

1.2 Le profil socioéconomique des Canadiens membres d'une minorité visible

Les différences d'ordre socioéconomique sont également assez systématiques entre les membres d'une minorité visible et les autres Canadiens. Pour l'ensemble des caractéristiques citées dans le tableau 2 qui précède, les membres d'une minorité visible et les autres Canadiens présentent des différences statistiquement importantes. L'une des plus importantes est probablement que les membres d'une minorité visible sont, en moyenne, plus jeunes (38 ans par rapport à 50).

Les membres d'une minorité visible semblent également avoir plus tendance à posséder un diplôme universitaire (51 % contre 35 %), voire un diplôme d'études supérieures (17 % contre 11 %). Fait intéressant, ils semblent globalement avoir moins tendance à voter malgré cela.

Les membres d'une minorité visible semblent aussi avoir plus tendance à toucher un revenu inférieur à 30 000 $, à être en chômage, à être étudiants et à ne pas être mariés. Enfin, et sans surprise, ils ont beaucoup plus tendance à être de nouveaux arrivants que les autres Canadiens (24 % contre 2 %). Comme dans le cas des jeunes, le profil socioéconomique des membres d'une minorité visible pourrait permettre d'expliquer au moins une partie de leur abstentionnisme.


Note 3Les Canadiens de 35 ans et plus sont plus susceptibles de détenir un diplôme d'études postsecondaires, mais cela n'est qu'un reflet du fait qu'il faut plus de temps pour atteindre un tel niveau de scolarité.