Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Voter Turnout among Younger Canadians and Visible Minority Canadians: Evidence from the Provincial Diversity Project

Share this report   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

2. The Political Profile of Younger Canadians and Visible Minority Canadians

Younger and older Canadians and visible minority Canadians and other Canadians differ, as expected, in terms of their socio-economic profiles. In addition, their different propensity to vote could also reflect different ways of relating to politics. The report now presents the profile of these segments of the Canadian population in relation to their interest in politics, closeness to political parties, sense of political efficacy, opinions with regards to the importance of voting and the perception that their vote can make a difference. The following sections also compare the opinions of the different groups in terms of confidence in public institutions, attachment to Canada and their province, as well as the perceived impact of governments on their lives. Finally, the report also looks at opinions with regards to social trust and the extent to which Canadians discussed politics at home during their youth. Table 3 presents the distribution of political attitudes across the different groups.

Table 3. Political Attitudes among Younger Canadians and Visible Minority Canadians
  Age-Groups Visible Minority Status
  18-24 25-34 35+ Visible minority Canadians Other Canadians
Interest in Politics (mean score, 0-10)
Federal politics 4.8 5.6*** 6.7*** 6.0 6.4***
Provincial politics 5.1 5.8*** 7.0*** 6.1 6.8***
Closeness to a political party (%)
Federal politics 64 71** 81*** 70 80***
Provincial politics 62 69* 79*** 69 78***
Politics is too complicated (% strongly agree/agree)
Federal politics 68 58*** 45*** 62 46***
Provincial politics 65 53*** 42*** 60 42***
People like me have not much say in politics (% strongly agree/agree)
Federal politics 73 74 76 72 76**
Provincial politics 67 67 69 69 69
I would feel guilty if I did not vote (% strongly agree/agree)
Federal election 48 55* 74*** 65 71
Provincial election 50 55 75*** 67 71
I feel that my vote can make a difference
 (% strongly agree/agree) 64 63 77*** 74 74
Political Discussion at Home During Childhood
(mean score, 0-1) .38 .40 .47*** .44 .45
Confidence in public institutions (mean score, 0-10)
House of Commons 5.2 5.0 5.0 5.9 4.9**
Provincial legislature 5.3 5.1 5.3 6.0 5.1***
Elections Canada 5.5 5.9** 6.3*** 6.6 6.1***
Attachments (mean score, 0-10)
Canada 7.6 7.7 8.1*** 8.1 8.0
Province 7.3 7.3 7.9*** 7.4 7.8***
Impact of governments (mean score, 0-10)
Federal 6.7 7.0 7.6*** 7.3 7.5
Province 6.8 7.4*** 8.0*** 7.5 7.8***
Social Trust
(% most people can be trusted) 30 31 44*** 33 43***
Minimum n= 711 1918 4741 1886 5169

Source: Provincial Diversity Project (2014).
Difference with 18-24 or visible minorities: ***: p<.001; **: p<.01; *: p<.05.

2.1 Political Attitudes of Younger Canadians

For a number of political attitudes, Table 3 reports important differences between younger and older Canadians. First, Canadians aged 35 years and older are more likely to be interested in politics than younger Canadians. The mean scores in terms of interest in federal politics on a scale between 0 (not interested) and 10 (very interested) are 4.8 for Canadians aged between 18 and 24, 5.6 for Canadians aged between 25 and 34 and 6.7 for those over 35. Comparable gaps are observed for interest in provincial politics.

Younger Canadians are also less likely to feel close to a political party. For federal politics, the percentage of Canadians who feel close to a political party is 64% for the 18-24 age group, 71% for the 25-34 age group, and 81% for those over 35. For provincial politics, the percentage of Canadians who feel close to a political party is 62% for the 18-24 cohort, 69% for the 25-34 cohort, and 79% for those over 35.

A larger proportion of younger Canadians than older ones appear to perceive politics as too complicated. When asked whether they agreed with the statement “Sometimes I feel federal politics is too complicated for people like me”, 68% of Canadians aged 18 to 24 report that they either strongly agree or agree in comparison to 58% of those aged 25 to 34 and 45% of those aged 35 and older. Once again, similar differences are observed for provincial politics. Interestingly, however, younger Canadians are as likely as older ones to believe that they have not much say in federal or provincial politics.

Another major difference in the political attitudes of younger and older Canadians relates to the feeling of guilt about not voting. Younger Canadians are substantially less likely than older Canadians to report that they would feel guilty if they did not vote in either a federal or provincial election. The percentage of Canadians who would feel guilty if they didn't vote at a federal election is 48% for those aged 18 to 24, 55% for those aged 25 to 34, and 74% for those over 35. The same pattern holds for feeling guilty about not voting in provincial elections. This finding is consistent with Blais (2000) who observes that the sense of duty to vote is weaker among younger Canadians.

The differences between younger and older Canadians are far more limited however when considering the perception that one's vote can make a difference. While 77% of Canadians aged 35 years and older agree with the statement, the proportions are 64% and 63% respectively for the 18 to 24 and 25 to 34 age groups.

There are also significant differences between younger and older Canadians in terms of their level of confidence in Elections Canada. Canadians aged 35 years and older and those between the ages of 25 and 34 express higher levels of confidence in Elections Canada than those aged 18 to 24 (6.3 and 5.9 vs. 5.5). No differences are observed across the age groups for the levels of confidence in the House of Commons and the provincial legislature. As a side note, it is worth emphasizing that every age group exhibits higher confidence in Elections Canada than in either the House of Commons or the legislature of their province.

Younger Canadians report in a smaller proportion than older ones that they discussed politics at home with their parents during their youth. Younger Canadians, however, also appear somewhat different from older ones in terms of attachment to Canada and their province and the perceived impact of federal and provincial governments. Canadians aged 35 years and older are more attached to both orders of government and also perceived a greater impact of both orders of government than younger Canadians. Finally, Canadians aged 35 and older are more likely to express the view that most people can be trusted.

On most of the political attitudes examined, younger Canadians thus appear different than older Canadians; for some attitudes, the differences are smaller while for others they are larger. Likely, these differences in political attitudes contribute to explaining why younger Canadians vote less than older Canadians. Section 3 will examine whether these factors do relate to the propensity to vote in federal and provincial elections.

2.2 Political Attitudes of Visible Minority Canadians

In many ways, visible minority Canadians also differ from other Canadians on many political attitudes. Like younger Canadians, they tend to exhibit a weaker psychological engagement with politics than other Canadians. Visible minorities appear somewhat less interested in politics than other Canadians, whether it is in federal politics (6.0 vs. 6.4) or in provincial politics (6.1 vs. 6.8). Visible minorities are also less likely than other Canadians to feel close to a political party (70% vs. 80% at the federal level, and 69% vs. 78% at the provincial level). Moreover, visible minority Canadians are more likely than other Canadians to express the opinion that politics is too complicated for them (62% vs. 46% at the federal level, and 60% vs. 42% at the provincial level).

In contrast to younger Canadians, however, visible minorities are not less likely than other Canadians to report that they would feel guilty if they did not vote in federal or provincial elections. Although a gap exists between visible minorities and other Canadians with respect to the guilt about non-voting, the differences are not statistically significant. Similarly, visible minority Canadians and other Canadians are as likely to report that their vote can make a difference.

Visible minorities are distinct from younger Canadians with regards to confidence in public institutions. For all three institutions, visible minorities express higher levels of confidence than other Canadians (6.6 vs. 6.1 for Elections Canada; 5.9 vs. 4.9 for the House of Commons; and 6.0 vs. 5.1 for the provincial legislature).

Interestingly, while visible minority Canadians do not differ from other Canadians when it comes to attachment to Canada or the perceived impact of the federal government on their lives, they express a weaker attachment to their province and perceive a lesser impact for the provincial government. Finally, visible minority Canadians are less likely than other Canadians to express the view that most people can be trusted.

The political attitudes of visible minorities and other Canadians are likely to play a key role in accounting for their different propensity to vote. Whether it is the lower levels of interest in politics, the lower propensity to feel close to a party, the greater perception that politics is too complicated, these all represent potential candidates for explaining visible minorities' weaker propensity to vote.

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

La participation électorale des jeunes et des membres d'une minorité visible au Canada : éclairage du Projet sur la diversité provinciale

Partager ce rapport   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

2. Le profil politique des jeunes et des membres d'une minorité visible

Les jeunes et leurs aînés ainsi que les membres d'une minorité visible et les autres Canadiens diffèrent, comme prévu, par leurs profils socioéconomiques. En outre, les différences dans leurs taux de vote pourraient refléter différents rapports à la politique. Nous présentons maintenant les profils de ces segments de la population canadienne en relation avec leur intérêt pour la politique, leur proximité avec des partis politiques, le sentiment d'efficacité politique, les opinions quant à l'importance de voter et la perception que leur vote peut faire une différence. Les sections qui suivent comparent également les opinions des divers groupes sur la confiance concernant les institutions publiques, l'attachement au Canada et à leur province, de même que l'impact des gouvernements sur leurs vies. Enfin, le rapport se penche sur les opinions concernant la confiance sociale et tente d'évaluer dans quelle mesure les Canadiens ont discuté de politique à la maison pendant leur jeunesse. Le tableau 3 ci-après présente la répartition des attitudes politiques entre les divers groupes.

Tableau 3. Les attitudes politiques chez les jeunes et les membres d'une minorité visible
  Groupe d'âge Statut de minorité visible
  18-24 25-34 35+ Membres d'une minorité visible Autres Canadiens
Intérêt pour la politique (pointage moyen, 1-10)
Politique fédérale 4,8 5,6*** 6,7*** 6,0 6,4***
Politique provinciale 5,1 5,8*** 7,0*** 6,1 6,8***
Proximité à un parti politique (%)
Politique fédérale 64 71** 81*** 70 80***
Politique provinciale 62 69* 79*** 69 78***
La politique est trop complexe (% tout à fait d'accord/d'accord)
Politique fédérale 68 58*** 45*** 62 46***
Politique provinciale 65 53*** 42*** 60 42***
Les gens comme moi ont peu à dire dans la politique (% tout à fait d'accord/d'accord)
Politique fédérale 73 74 76 72 76**
Politique provinciale 67 67 69 69 69
Je me sentirais coupable si je ne votais pas (% tout à fait d'accord/d'accord)
Élection fédérale 48 55* 74*** 65 71
Élection provinciale 50 55 75*** 67 71
Je sens que mon vote peut faire une différence
(% tout à fait d'accord/d'accord) 64 63 77*** 74 74
Discussion politique à la maison pendant l'enfance
(pointage moyen, 0-1) ,38 ,40 ,47*** ,44 ,45
Confiance envers les institutions publiques (pointage moyen, 0-10)
Chambre des communes 5,2 5,0 5,0 5,9 4,9**
Assemblée législative provinciale 5,3 5,1 5,3 6,0 5,1***
Élections Canada 5,5 5,9** 6,3*** 6,6 6,1***
Attachements (pointage moyen, 0-10)
Canada 7,6 7,7 8,1*** 8,1 8,0
Province 7,3 7,3 7,9*** 7,4 7,8***
Impact des gouvernements (pointage moyen, 0-10)
Fédéral 6,7 7,0 7,6*** 7,3 7,5
Province 6,8 7,4*** 8,0*** 7,5 7,8***
Confiance sociale
(% estimant qu'on peut faire confiance à la plupart des gens) 30 31 44*** 33 43***
Minimum n= 711 1 918 4 741 1 886 5 169

Différence par rapport aux 18-24 ans ou aux minorités visibles : *** : p<,001; ** : p<,01; * : p<,05.
Source : Projet sur la diversité provinciale.

2.1 Attitudes politiques des jeunes Canadiens

Pour certaines attitudes politiques, le tableau 3 montre des différences importantes entre les jeunes et leurs aînés. D'abord, les 35 ans et plus ont davantage tendance à s'intéresser à la politique. Sur une échelle variant de 0 (Aucun intérêt) à 10 (Intérêt soutenu), les pointages moyens de l'intérêt pour la politique fédérale sont de 4,8 pour les 18-24 ans, de 5,6 pour les 25-34 ans et de 6,7 pour les 35 ans et plus. On constate des écarts comparables dans l'intérêt pour la politique provinciale.

Les jeunes sont aussi moins susceptibles de se sentir proches d'un parti politique. En politique fédérale, le pourcentage de répondants qui se sentent proches d'un parti est de 64 % pour les 18- 24 ans, de 71 % pour les 25-34 ans et de 81 % pour les plus de 35 ans. En politique provinciale, les pourcentages sont de 62 % pour les 18-24 ans, de 69 % pour les 25-34 ans et de 79 % pour les plus de 35 ans.

Une proportion plus grande de jeunes semble percevoir la politique comme étant trop complexe. À la question de savoir s'ils sont d'accord avec l'énoncé « Je sens parfois que la politique fédérale est trop complexe pour des gens comme moi », 68 % des 18-24 ans se disent tout à fait d'accord ou d'accord, contre 58 % des 25-34 ans et 45 % des 35 ans et plus. Encore une fois, on constate des différences similaires pour la politique provinciale. Il est toutefois à noter que les jeunes sont aussi susceptibles que leurs aînés de penser qu'ils n'ont pas vraiment leur mot à dire en politique fédérale ou provinciale.

Par ailleurs, les jeunes se démarquent sur le plan du sentiment de culpabilité lié à l'abstentionnisme. Ils ont beaucoup moins tendance que leurs aînés à dire qu'ils se sentiraient coupables de ne voter ni à une élection fédérale ni à une élection provinciale. Le pourcentage de Canadiens qui se sentiraient coupables de ne pas voter à une élection fédérale est de 48 % pour les 18-24 ans, de 55 % pour les 25-34 ans et de 74 % pour les plus de 35 ans. On constate la même tendance pour les élections provinciales. Cela concorde avec l'observation de Blais (2000) selon laquelle le sens du devoir électoral est plus faible chez les jeunes.

L'écart entre les jeunes et leurs aînés est beaucoup moins grand lorsqu'il s'agit de dire si leur vote peut faire une différence. Parmi les 35 ans et plus, 77 % sont d'accord avec l'énoncé, alors que chez les 18-24 ans et les 25-34 ans, les proportions sont de 64 % et de 63 %, respectivement.

Il existe des différences significatives quant au niveau de confiance envers Élections Canada. Les 35 ans et plus et les 25-34 ans disent avoir davantage confiance envers Élections Canada que les 18-24 ans (6,3 % et 5,9 %, contre 5,5 %). Les groupes d'âge ne diffèrent pas quant à leur confiance envers la Chambre des communes et les assemblées législatives provinciales. Soulignons cependant que tous les groupes d'âge affichent plus de confiance envers Élections Canada qu'envers la Chambre des communes ou l'assemblée législative de leur province.

Les jeunes sont proportionnellement moins nombreux que leurs aînés à dire qu'ils discutaient de politique à la maison avec leurs parents dans leur jeunesse. Ils semblent aussi assez différents des plus âgés quant à l'attachement au Canada et à leur province et à l'impact apparent des gouvernements fédéral et provincial. Les 35 ans et plus sont davantage attachés aux deux ordres de gouvernement et y perçoivent un plus grand impact que les jeunes. Enfin, les 35 ans et plus sont davantage portés à dire que l'on peut faire confiance à la plupart des gens.

En ce qui concerne la plupart des attitudes politiques étudiées, les jeunes semblent donc différents de leurs aînés, à des degrés variables selon les attitudes. Ces différences expliquent probablement en partie pourquoi les jeunes votent moins que leurs aînés. Dans la section 3 ci-après, nous verrons si ces facteurs jouent dans la propension à voter aux élections fédérales et provinciales.

2.2 Attitudes politiques des Canadiens membres d'une minorité visible

Les membres d’une minorité visible se démarquent aussi de plusieurs façons dans nombre d’attitudes politiques. Comme les jeunes, ils semblent montrer un engagement psychologique plus faible envers la politique que les autres Canadiens. Ils semblent un peu moins intéressés à la politique que les autres Canadiens, qu’il s’agisse de politique fédérale (6,0 % contre 6,4 %) ou provinciale (6,1 % contre 6,8 %). De plus, ils ont moins tendance que les autres Canadiens à se sentir proches d’un parti (70 % contre 80 % à l’échelon fédéral et 69 % contre 78 % au provincial). En outre, ils ont plus tendance que les autres Canadiens à trouver la politique trop complexe pour eux (62 % contre 46 % à l’échelon fédéral et 60 % contre 42 % au provincial).

Toutefois, à l’opposé des jeunes, les membres des minorités visibles n’ont pas moins tendance que les autres Canadiens à déclarer qu’ils se sentiraient coupables de ne pas voter à des élections fédérales ou provinciales. Certes, il existe un écart entre les deux groupes à ce sujet, mais il n’est pas statistiquement significatif. De même, les membres d’une minorité visible sont aussi portés que les autres Canadiens à déclarer que leur vote peut faire une différence.

Les membres d’une minorité visible se distinguent des jeunes quant à leur confiance envers les institutions publiques. Pour les trois institutions, ils se disent plus confiants que les autres Canadiens (6,6 % contre 6,1 % pour Élections Canada, 5,9 % contre 4,9 % pour la Chambre des communes et 6,0 % contre 5,1 % pour l’assemblée législative provinciale).

Fait intéressant, les membres d’une minorité visible ne diffèrent pas des autres Canadiens quant à l’attachement au Canada ou à l’impact apparent du gouvernement fédéral sur leurs vies, mais ils se disent moins attachés à leur province et perçoivent un impact moindre du gouvernement provincial. Ils ont aussi moins tendance à dire que l’on peut faire confiance à la plupart des gens.

Les attitudes politiques des minorités visibles et des autres Canadiens sont probablement corrélées à leurs taux de participation électorale. L’intérêt plus faible pour la politique, la propension plus faible à se sentir proche d’un parti, le sentiment plus marqué que la politique est trop complexe : autant de facteurs potentiels d’abstentionnisme chez les minorités visibles.