Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Voter Turnout among Younger Canadians and Visible Minority Canadians: Evidence from the Provincial Diversity Project

Share this report   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

4. Characteristics of Visible Minority Voters

In order to understand why visible minority Canadians are less likely to vote than other Canadians, it is necessary to determine whether the socio-economic characteristics and political attitudes for which visible minorities and other Canadians differ are indeed related to voting. The analyses were performed separately for visible minority Canadians and other Canadians as well as for voting in federal and provincial elections. The task is, using binomial logistic regressions, to identify the characteristics of visible minority voters.

4.1 Socio-Demographic Characteristics of Visible Minority Voters

As indicated in Table 6, there are three socio-demographic characteristics that are correlates of voting for both visible minority Canadians and other Canadians. Age is the first characteristic. As prior research has documented, those who are older are more likely to report having voted; this holds both among visible minority voters and other voters, and it holds for federal and provincial elections. The relationship among visible minority voters for provincial elections is significant at the .10-level. That older people are more likely to vote thus extends to visible minority Canadians as well.

Table 6. Correlates of Voting among Visible Minority Canadians
  Voting in Federal elections (1-0) Voting in Provincial elections (1-0)
  Visible Minority Canadians Other Canadians Visible Minority Canadians Other Canadians
Socio-Demographic Factors B SE B SE B SE B SE
Age .04 .01 a .04 .01 a .02 .01 .04 .01 a
Woman .11 .23 -.15 .17 -.25 .21 -.02 .18
Education (ref. no high school)
Post-secondary
University
Post-graduate
 
.16
.54
.46
 
.38
.37
.49
 
.63
.95
.91
 
.23
.26
.38
 
b
a
c
 
.55
.91
.66
 
.43
.38
.41
 
 
b
 
 
.70
.88
.54
 
.22
.23
.38
 
b
a
 
Household income .14 .05 b .02 .03 .11 .04 b .02 .03
Unemployed .62 .43 .34 .37 1.33 .47 b .33 .39
Student .52 .40 -.35 .37 .49 .45 -.33 .33
Married -.02 .28 .64 .18 a .13 .27 .44 .18 b
Time spent at religious inst. -.32 .32 -.22 .33 -.56 .31 -.29 .32
Immigrant (ref. Can. Born)
0-10 years
11-20 years
More than 20 years
 
-1.29
-.28
-.60
 
.30
.34
.31
 
a
 
 
 
-.52
.29
-.17
 
.78
.94
.48
 
-1.56
.03
-.36
 
.32
.31
.31
 
a
 
 
 
-1.78
-.06
-.26
 
.75
1.23
.46
 
b
 
 
Regions (ref. Ontario)
Quebec
BC
Prairies
Atlantic
 
.71
-.01
-.87
1.84
 
.33
.27
.28
1.43
 
c
 
b
 
 
1.02
-.15
-.01
.17
 
.28
.24
.22
.25
 
a
 
 
 
 
.58
.02
-.27
-.61
 
.35
.25
.27
1.23
 
1.46
-.23
-.05
.27
 
.27
.24
.21
.23
 
a
 
 
 
Political Orientations and Attitudes
Interest in (fed./prov.) politics .08 .05 .08 .04 c .19 .05 a .14 .04 a
Close to party (fed./prov.) .86 .32 b .88 .18 a .90 .28 b .56 .19 b
Politics (fed./prov.) is too complicated -.39 .49 -.57 .31 -.10 .47 -.54 .32
People like me have no say in (fed./prov.) politics .79 .45 .68 .34 c -.32 .45 .42 .33
I would feel guilty if I did not vote in (fed./prov.) election 2.22 .40 a 3.13 .28 a 2.93 .42 a 3.33 .24 a
I feel my vote can make a difference 1.37 .39 a 1.67 .33 a .92 .41 c 1.47 .31 a
Discussed politics during youth at home -.07 .39 .43 .27 -.82 .41 c .52 .25 c
Confidence in HofC/Prov. Legis. -.03 .06 -.12 .05 b -.25 .08 b -.14 .05 b
Confidence in Elections Canada .10 .06 .12 .04 b .26 .10 b .08 .04
Attachment to (Canada/prov.) .08 .06 -.00 .03 .11 .06 c -.00 .03
Impact of (fed./prov.) govt. .00 .06 .04 .04 -.05 .06 .01 .04
Social trust .51 .27 .02 .18 .22 .23 .18 .17
Constant -5.87 .80 a -5.57 .70 a -5.05 .79 a -4.97 .60 a
Number of observations 1190 3772 1206 3806

Source: Provincial Diversity Project. Entries report B coefficients (Binomial logistic regressions)
a: p<.001; b: p<.01; c: p<.05.

Region is the second characteristic that affects voting for both visible minority and other Canadians. People living in Quebec are more likely to report having voted. This holds both in the context of federal and provincial elections. The relationship for visible minorities in the context of provincial elections is significant only at the .10-level.

Being a recent immigrant is the third characteristic. Recent immigrants, whether they are visible minority members or not, tend to vote less than the rest of the population, and this holds in both federal and provincial elections. The only exception is for Canadians who are not members of a visible minority group in the context of federal elections. The predicted probabilities indicate that the gaps in reporting having voted in provincial elections between the Canadian-born population and recent immigrants are 29 points (87% vs. 58%) and 15 points (96% vs. 81%) respectively among visible minority voters and other voters. The least likely group to vote based on these analyses appears to be visible minorities who are recent immigrants.

Some characteristics, while they emerge as correlates of voting for Canadians who are not members of a visible minority group are not significant for visible minorities. This is the case for education. While education is associated with a greater propensity to vote for Canadians who are not members of a visible minority group both in federal and provincial elections, it does not emerge as a systematic correlate of voting for visible minority Canadians. The same finding is observed for being married. While married Canadians who are not members of a visible minority appear more likely to vote in federal or provincial elections, this is not the case among visible minorities. Conversely, household income is positively correlated with voting (both in federal and provincial elections), but only among visible minority Canadians; the relationship is not statistically significant among other Canadians.

Finally, a certain number of socio-demographic characteristics do not emerge as significant correlates of voting for either groups or any level of election. This is the case for gender. There is no gender gap in voter turnout either among visible minority Canadians or other Canadians. Second, being a student does not appear to be a significant correlate of voting either. Third, the same generally holds true for being unemployed, although it is positively correlated with voting in provincial elections among visible minorities. Finally, there is no evidence of a relationship between the time spent with other people at a religious institution and the likelihood of reporting having voted in either federal or provincial elections.

4.2 Political Attitudes of Visible Minority Voters

What about political attitudes? Do they have a similar impact on the tendency to vote of visible minority Canadians and other Canadians? There are important common correlates of voting among visible minority Canadians and other Canadians, and many of those are the same observed when comparing younger and older Canadians.

Feeling close to a political party, feeling of guilt about non-voting, and the perception that one's vote can make a difference are three systematic correlates of voting for both visible minority Canadians and other Canadians that are also common to older and younger voters.Footnote 9Interest in politics is also a correlate of voting here for both visible minority Canadians and other Canadians, while it was not so clear when comparing age groups.

To this list, we can add confidence in either Elections Canada or in the House of Commons/provincial legislature. Two further clarifications are required here. First, neither relationship is statistically significant in the context of federal elections among visible minorities. Second, as mentioned earlier in the discussion of younger and older voters, while confidence in Elections Canada is associated with a greater propensity to vote, confidence in the legislative branch of government is associated with a lower propensity to vote. As mentioned above, the relationship between higher confidence in the legislative bodies and lower voter turnout could mean that people with low confidence in the legislative bodies are more likely to mobilize in an attempt to defeat the government or send the signal that they watch closely what the government is doing. As for the positive relationship between confidence in Elections Canada and voter turnout, this could simply denote a greater desire to vote when the process and those who administer it are perceived to be trustworthy.

We do not find systematic correlates of voting for either group or level of election in the remaining list of variables: feeling that one has no say in politics, feeling that politics is too complicated, attachment to Canada or to the province, the perceived impact of government on one's life or social trust. Each of these variables at best emerges as a correlate of voting for only one group and for only one of the two levels of elections.

It is difficult to make sense of the results for the variable measuring the frequency of political discussions at home during one's youth. While the frequency of political discussions does not significantly correlate with voting in federal elections for either visible minorities or other Canadians, with regards to voting provincial elections it is negatively correlated for visible minorities and positively correlated for all other Canadians. Like we did for younger and older Canadians, we also tested the link between frequency of political discussions at home during one's youth and voting, but controlling only for socio-demographic characteristics. The results confirm what we observed among younger and older Canadians. When controlling for only socio-demographic characteristics, Canadians who discussed politics at home frequently during their youth are more likely to vote in federal and provincial elections. This holds for visible minorities and other Canadians, although the relationship is not significant for visible minorities in the context of provincial elections (not presented).

Once again, as we observed when comparing younger and older voters, many of the correlates of voting are common to both visible minority Canadians and other Canadians and to both provincial and federal elections. A few correlates of voting are specific to either visible minority Canadians (household income) or other Canadians (education and being married). As we observed when comparing younger and older Canadians, there are no correlates of voting that are specific to one type of election. The reasons why people vote and do not vote appearĀ  to relate more to their individual characteristics and the way that they relate to politics more generally than political dynamics that are specific to either federal or provincial elections.

The previous two sections have identified several key characteristics of voters, whether they are younger or older, or whether they are members of a visible minority group or not. This still does not precisely answer the questions at the centre of this report: why are younger Canadians less likely to vote than older ones? And why are visible minority Canadians less likely to vote than other Canadians? Before we try to answer these questions, we propose to examine the situation from another perspective. We leave aside whether or not Canadians vote in federal or provincial elections and instead focus on those who abstain in both, that we call here “habitual non-voters”.

Two motivations justify such a decision. First, of course, we would prefer that all Canadians vote in every election. In practice, however, this is not always possible for people to vote for a variety of reasons (see Pammet and Leduc, 2003). Hence, looking at individuals' participation in a single election can be misleading, as argued by Howe, because people might simply have been busy, sick or unable to vote for other reasons (2010:12). It might not reflect a deeply entrenched orientation toward voting or the political system more broadly. The more fundamental problem is not when Canadians miss out at one election, but rather when they systematically abstain from voting in multiple or in all elections. As Howe (2010) argues, these systematic abstainers, or habitual non-voters, likely hold more profound motivational reasons to abstain from voting than people who miss one election from time to time. Second, we also examine whether people abstain from voting at both federal and provincial elections because our preceding analyses have clearly demonstrated that for the most part, the correlates of voting are the same for both federal and provincial elections. In short, there do not seem to be many important order-of-government-specific reasons why Canadians abstain from voting in federal or provincial elections. The reasons why people do not vote appear more related to broader sets of political attitudes not specifically related to one order of government.







Footnote 9 With the exception of the perception that the vote can make a difference, which is not significant among younger Canadians.

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

La participation électorale des jeunes et des membres d'une minorité visible au Canada : éclairage du Projet sur la diversité provinciale

Partager ce rapport   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

4. Caractéristiques des votants d'une minorité visible

Afin de comprendre pourquoi les membres d'une minorité visible ont moins tendance à voter que les autres Canadiens, il faut déterminer si les caractéristiques socioéconomiques et les attitudes politiques qui distinguent les minorités visibles des autres Canadiens sont effectivement liées au vote. Les analyses ont été effectuées séparément pour les deux groupes ainsi que pour le vote aux élections fédérales et provinciales. Il s'agit de cerner, au moyen des régressions logistiques binomiales, les caractéristiques des votants d'une minorité visible.

4.1 Caractéristiques sociodémographiques des votants d'une minorité visible

Comme l'indique le tableau 6 ci-après, trois caractéristiques sociodémographiques sont corrélées au vote des membres d'une minorité visible et des autres Canadiens. L'âge est la première. Comme l'ont montré des recherches antérieures, les personnes plus âgées ont davantage tendance à déclarer avoir voté, dans les deux groupes, tant aux élections fédérales que provinciales. La corrélation pour les votants d'une minorité visible aux élections provinciales est significative au niveau ,10. Le fait que les personnes plus âgées aient davantage tendance à voter s'applique également aux membres d'une minorité visible.

Tableau 6. Corrélats du vote chez les membres d'une minorité visible
  Vote aux élections fédérales (1-0) Vote aux élections provinciales (1-0)
  Membres d'une minorité visible Autres Canadiens Membres d'une minorité visible Autres Canadiens
Facteurs sociodémographiques B ET B ET B ET B ET
Âge ,04 ,01 a ,04 ,01 a ,02 ,01 ,04 ,01 a
Femme ,11 ,23 -,15 ,17 -,25 ,21 -,02 ,18
Scolarité (réf. pas d'études secondaires)
Études postsecondaires
Études universitaires
Études supérieures
 
,16
,54
,46
 
,38
,37
,49
 
,63
,95
,91
 
,23
,26
,38
 
b
a
c
 
,55
,91
,66
 
,43
,38
,41
 
 
b
 
 
,70
,88
,54
 
,22
,23
,38
b
a
Revenu du ménage ,14 ,05 b ,02 ,03 ,11 ,04 b ,02 ,03
En chômage ,62 ,43 ,34 ,37 1,33 ,47 b ,33 ,39
Étudiant ,52 ,40 -,35 ,37 ,49 ,45 -,33 ,33
Marié -,02 ,28 ,64 ,18 a ,13 ,27 ,44 ,18 b
Temps passé à une institution religieuse -,32 ,32 -,22 ,33 -,56 ,31 -,29 ,32
Immigrant (réf. né au Canada)
0-10 ans
11-20 ans
20+ ans
 
-1,29
-,28
-,60
 
,30
,34
,31
 
a
 
 
 
-,52
,29
-,17
 
,78
,94
,48
 
-1,56
,03
-,36
 
,32
,31
,31
 
a
 
 
 
-1,78
-,06
-,26
 
,75
1,23
,46
 
b
 
 
Régions (réf. Ontario)
Québec
C.-B.
Prairies
Atlantique
 
,71
-,01
-,87
1,84
 
,33
,27
,28
1,43
 
c
 
b
 
 
1,02
-,15
-,01
,17
 
,28
,24
,22
,25
 
a
 
 
 
 
,58
,02
-,27
-,61
 
,35
,25
,27
1,23
 
1,46
-,23
-,05
,27
 
,27
,24
,21
,23
 
a
 
 
 
Orientations et attitudes politiques
Intérêt pour la politique (fédérale/provinciale) ,08 ,05 ,08 ,04 c ,19 ,05 a ,14 ,04 a
Proximité avec un parti (fédéral/provincial) ,86 ,32 b ,88 ,18 a ,90 ,28 b ,56 ,19 b
La politique (fédérale/provinciale) est trop complexe -,39 ,49 -,57 ,31 -,10 ,47 -,54 ,32
Les gens comme moi n'ont pas leur mot à dire dans la politique (fédérale/provinciale) ,79 ,45 ,68 ,34 c -,32 ,45 ,42 ,33
Je me sentirais coupable de ne pas voter aux élections (fédérales/provinciales) 2,22 ,40 a 3,13 ,28 a 2,93 ,42 a 3,33 ,24 a
Je sens que mon vote peut faire une différence 1,37 ,39 a 1,67 ,33 a ,92 ,41 c 1,47 ,31 a
Discussion sur la politique à la maison pendant la jeunesse -,07 ,39 ,43 ,27 -,82 ,41 c ,52 ,25 c
Confiance envers la Chambre des communes/l'assemblée législative provinciale -.03 ,06 -,12 ,05 b -,25 ,08 b -,14 ,05 b
Confiance envers Élections Canada ,10 ,06 ,12 ,04 b ,26 ,10 b ,08 ,04
Attachement (au Canada/à sa province) ,08 ,06 -,00 ,03 ,11 ,06 c -,00 ,03
Impact du gouvernement (fédéral/provincial) ,00 ,06 ,04 ,04 -,05 ,06 ,01 ,04
Confiance sociale ,51 ,27 ,02 ,18 ,22 ,23 ,18 ,17
Constante -5,87 ,80 a -5,57 ,70 a -5,05 ,79 a -4,97 ,60 a
Nombre d'observations 1 190 3 772 1 206 3 806

Rapport des entrées à coefficients B (régressions logistiques binomiales).
a : p<,001; b : p<,01; c : p<,05.
Source : Projet sur la diversité provinciale.

La région est la deuxième caractéristique qui affecte le vote des membres d'une minorité visible et des autres Canadiens. Les répondants vivant au Québec ont plus tendance à déclarer avoir voté, tant aux élections fédérales que provinciales. Le corrélat applicable aux minorités visibles dans le contexte des élections provinciales n'est significatif qu'au niveau ,10.

Le statut de nouvel arrivant est la troisième caractéristique. Les nouveaux arrivants, qu'ils soient d'une minorité visible ou non, ont tendance à voter moins que le reste de la population, tant aux élections fédérales que provinciales. La seule exception est celle des non-membres d'une minorité visible aux élections fédérales. Les probabilités prévues révèlent que les écarts dans les déclarations de vote aux élections provinciales entre la population née au Canada et les nouveaux arrivants sont de 29 points (87 % contre 58 %) et de 15 points (96 % contre 81 %), respectivement, chez les votants d'une minorité visible et les autres votants. Selon ces analyses, les nouveaux arrivants d'une minorité visible seraient le groupe le moins enclin à voter.

Certaines caractéristiques, corrélées au vote pour les Canadiens non membres d'une minorité visible, ne sont pas significatives pour les minorités visibles. C'est le cas du niveau de scolarité. Bien qu'une scolarité plus élevée détermine une plus grande participation électorale chez les Canadiens non membres d'une minorité visible aux élections fédérales et provinciales, elle n'est pas systématiquement corrélée au vote des membres d'une minorité visible. Il en est de même pour le statut de personne mariée. Si les Canadiens mariés non membres d'une minorité visible semblent avoir davantage tendance à voter aux élections fédérales et provinciales, ce n'est pas le cas chez les minorités visibles. Inversement, le revenu du ménage est en corrélation positive avec le vote (aux élections fédérales et provinciales), mais seulement parmi les membres d'une minorité visible; le lien n'est pas statistiquement significatif chez les autres Canadiens.

Enfin, certaines caractéristiques sociodémographiques s'avèrent n'être des corrélats significatifs du vote ni pour l'un ni pour l'autre des groupes ou des niveaux d'élection. C'est le cas du sexe du répondant. Premièrement, il n'y a pas d'écart entre les sexes dans la participation électorale chez les membres d'une minorité visible ni chez les autres Canadiens. Deuxièmement, le statut d'étudiant ne semble pas être un corrélat significatif du vote. Troisièmement, il en va généralement de même pour les personnes en chômage, quoiqu'il existe une corrélation positive avec le vote aux élections provinciales chez les minorités visibles. Enfin, il n'existe aucune preuve d'un lien entre le temps passé avec d'autres personnes à une institution religieuse et la probabilité d'avoir voté aux élections fédérales ou provinciales.

4.2 Attitudes politiques des votants d'une minorité visible

Qu'en est-il des attitudes politiques? Ont-elles un impact similaire sur la tendance à voter des membres d'une minorité visible et des autres Canadiens? Il existe des corrélats du vote importants qui sont communs aux membres d'une minorité visible et aux autres Canadiens, et bon nombre d'entre eux sont les mêmes lorsque l'on compare les jeunes et leurs aînés.  

Le sentiment d'être proche d'un parti politique, la culpabilité associée à l'abstentionnisme et la perception qu'un vote peut faire une différence sont trois corrélats systématiques applicables aux membres d'une minorité visible et aux autres Canadiens, mais aussi aux jeunes et à leurs aînésnote 9. L'intérêt pour la politique est également un corrélat du vote pour les membres d'une minorité visible et les autres Canadiens, mais cela est moins clair pour les groupes d'âge.

À cette liste, nous pouvons ajouter la confiance envers Élections Canada, la Chambre des communes ou l'assemblée législative provinciale. Deux autres éclaircissements s'imposent ici. Premièrement, aucun de ces liens n'est statistiquement significatif dans le contexte des élections fédérales chez les minorités visibles. Deuxièmement, nous avons déjà expliqué, au sujet des votants jeunes et plus âgés, que la confiance envers Élections Canada est associée à une plus grande propension à voter, alors que la confiance envers les organes législatifs est associée à une plus faible propension à voter. Comme nous l'avons mentionné précédemment, le lien entre une confiance plus élevée envers les organes législatifs et une plus faible participation électorale pourrait signifier que les gens qui ont le moins confiance dans les organes législatifs ont davantage tendance à se mobiliser pour tenter de défaire le gouvernement ou montrer qu'ils surveillent de près ce gouvernement. Pour ce qui est du lien positif entre la confiance envers Élections Canada et la participation électorale, il pourrait simplement indiquer un plus grand désir de voter lorsque le processus et ses responsables sont jugés dignes de confiance.

Nous ne trouvons de corrélats systématiques du vote pour ni l'un ni l'autre des groupes ou des paliers électoraux dans la liste des variables qui restent : le sentiment que l'on n'a pas son mot à dire en politique, que la politique est trop complexe, l'attachement au Canada ou à la province, l'impact apparent du gouvernement sur sa vie ou la confiance sociale. Chacune de ces variables constitue au mieux un corrélat pour un seul groupe et pour un seul des deux paliers électoraux.

On s'explique difficilement les résultats de la variable qui mesure la fréquence des discussions politiques à la maison pendant la jeunesse. Alors que cet élément n'a pas de corrélation significative avec le vote aux élections fédérales pour les minorités visibles ou les autres Canadiens, il existe une corrélation négative dans le cas des élections provinciales pour les minorités visibles et une corrélation positive pour tous les autres Canadiens. Comme nous l'avons fait pour les jeunes et leurs aînés, nous avons vérifié le lien entre le vote et la fréquence des discussions politiques à la maison pendant la jeunesse, en tenant compte uniquement les caractéristiques sociodémographiques. Les résultats confirment nos observations chez les jeunes et leurs aînés. En ne tenant compte que des caractéristiques sociodémographiques, nous voyons que les Canadiens qui ont souvent discuté de politique à la maison pendant leur jeunesse ont davantage tendance à voter aux élections fédérales et provinciales. Cette tendance vaut pour les minorités visibles et les autres Canadiens, quoique le lien ne soit pas significatif pour les minorités visibles dans le contexte des élections provinciales (résultats non présentés).

Encore une fois, comme chez les votants jeunes et leurs aînés, bon nombre des corrélats du vote s'appliquent à la fois aux membres d'une minorité visible et aux autres Canadiens ainsi qu'aux élections provinciales et fédérales. Quelques corrélats du vote sont propres soit aux membres d'une minorité visible (revenu du ménage), soit aux autres Canadiens (scolarité et statut de personne mariée). Comme nous l'avons constaté chez les jeunes et leurs aînés, aucun corrélat du vote n'est propre à un type d'élection. Les motifs pour lesquels les gens votent ou non semblent découler davantage de leurs caractéristiques individuelles et de leur rapport général à la politique que de la dynamique politique propre aux élections fédérales ou provinciales.

Les deux sections précédentes ont relevé plusieurs caractéristiques importantes des votants, en comparant les jeunes avec leurs aînés et les membres d'une minorité visible avec les autres Canadiens. Mais cela ne répond pas encore avec précision aux questions au cœur du présent rapport : Pourquoi les jeunes Canadiens ont-ils moins tendance à voter que leurs aînés? Et pourquoi les membres d'une minorité visible ont-ils moins tendance à voter que les autres Canadiens? Avant de tenter de répondre, nous examinerons la situation d'un autre point de vue. Nous laissons de côté la question de savoir si les Canadiens votent ou non aux élections fédérales ou provinciales pour nous concentrer sur ceux qui s'abstiennent de voter dans les deux cas, et que nous désignons comme les « abstentionnistes récurrents ».

Deux raisons justifient cette décision. Premièrement, bien que nous souhaitions que tous les Canadiens votent à chaque élection, nous savons que dans les faits, les gens ne le peuvent pas toujours pour divers motifs (voir Pammett et LeDuc 2003). Il peut donc être trompeur d'examiner la participation des gens à une seule élection, comme le fait valoir Howe, parce que les gens pourraient simplement avoir été occupés, malades ou incapables de voter pour d'autres raisons (2010, 12). Leur abstention pourrait ne pas refléter une orientation très marquée envers le vote ou le système politique en général. Le problème ne se pose pas de façon fondamentale quand un électeur manque un scrutin, mais plutôt quand il s'abstient systématiquement de voter à plusieurs ou à toutes les élections. Comme le soutient Howe (ibid.), ces abstentionnistes récurrents ont vraisemblablement des motifs plus profonds de ne pas voter que les gens qui manquent une élection à l'occasion. Deuxièmement, nous étudions aussi la question de savoir si les gens s'abstiennent de voter à la fois aux élections fédérales et provinciales, car nos analyses précédentes ont clairement établi que les corrélats du vote sont en grande partie les mêmes pour les élections fédérales et provinciales. Bref, si certains s'abstiennent de voter aux élections fédérales ou provinciales, cela ne semble pas attribuable à des facteurs directement liés à l'un ou l'autre des ordres de gouvernement. Les raisons pour lesquelles les gens ne votent pas semblent davantage liées à un ensemble plus général d'attitudes politiques qui ne sont pas expressément liées à un ordre de gouvernement.





note 9 Une exception : la perception que le vote peut faire une différence n'est pas significative chez les jeunes.