Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Voter Turnout among Younger Canadians and Visible Minority Canadians: Evidence from the Provincial Diversity Project

Share this report   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

5. Characteristics of Habitual Non-Voters

In the present section, we examine the characteristics of habitual non-voters or, in our research design, those who report not having voted in either the last federal or provincial elections. Not surprisingly, our data in Table 7 indicate that younger Canadians and visible minority Canadians are more likely to be habitual non-voters. While only 10% of Canadians aged 35 years and older report not having voted in both federal and provincial elections, this proportion increases to 31% among the 25 to 34 and to 47% among the 18 to 24.Footnote 10Conversely, being a habitual voter, that is having voted in both elections, increases with age. While 85% of older Canadians report having voted in both federal and provincial elections, that proportion is 61% among Canadians aged 25 to 34 and only 44% among those aged 18 to 24. Similarly, visible minority Canadians are more likely than other Canadians to be habitual non-voters (29% vs. 14%), and while only 62% of visible minority Canadians report having voted in both elections, this proportion is 81% among other Canadians. There are very few Canadians who report having voted in only one of the two elections, and the proportion of Canadians who report having voted in only one of the two elections is evenly split between those who voted only in the federal elections and those who voted only in the provincial elections (results not presented).

Table 7. Habitual Non-Voting among Younger Canadians and Visible Minority Canadians
  Age Groups Visible Minority Status
  18-24 25-34 35+ Visible Minority Canadians Other Canadians
Has voted in both federal and provincial elections (%) 44 61a 85a 62 81a
Has voted in only one of the two elections (%) 10 8 5a 8 5b
Has not voted in neither of the two elections (%) 47 31a 10a 29 14a
n= 738 2139 4829 1840 5351

Difference with 18-24 or visible minorities: a: p<.001; b: p<.01; c: p<.05.
Source: Provincial Diversity Project

But who are the habitual non-voters? To identify the characteristics of habitual non-voters, we performed binomial logistic regressions in which the dependent variable indicates whether respondents have not voted in both elections. The political attitude variables included in the model are different from those used in previous analyses. In Tables 4, 5 and 6, we associated the vote at a specific level (province or federal) with a political attitude associated with this level of government. For instance, in investigating voting in federal elections, we looked at the relationship with interest in federal politics. Similarly, in investigating voting in provincial elections, we looked at the relationship with interest in provincial politics. For the following analyses, we combined the political attitudes for both orders of government. For instance, the model includes a variable that measures interest in both federal and provincial politics.

5.1 Habitual Non-Voters among Younger Canadians

Table 8 presents the findings for the comparison of age groups. The analyses confirm the findings observed in the previous analyses. First, more educated people are less likely to be habitual non-voters. This holds among all three age groups. Second, recent immigrants are more likely to be habitual non-voters; this holds among Canadians aged 18 to 24 and those aged 25 to 34, but not among older Canadians. The effect for being a recent immigrant is substantial. Among the 18 to 24, the predicted probabilities indicate that while about 23% of Canadians would be habitual non-voters, this proportion is more than 90% among recent immigrants. Finally, Quebecers appear less likely to be habitual non-voters, regardless of the age group examined.

Table 8. Correlates of Habitual Non-Voting among Younger Canadians
Habitual non-voters (1-0)
  18-24 25-34 35+
Socio-Demographic Factors B SE B SE B SE
Age -.02 .13 .06 .04 -.04 .01 a
Woman .21 .39 .17 .26 .11 .25
Education (ref. no high school)
Post-secondary
University
Post-graduate
 
-1.82
-1.35
-1.13
 
.55
.47
1.09
 
a
b
 
 
-1.08
-.88
-1.52
 
.34
.33
.56
 
b
b
b
 
-.67
-1.12
-1.37
 
.29
.33
.63
 
c
b
c
Household income -.10 .05 c -.11 .04 b -.01 .05
Unemployed -1.46 .75 c .96 .49 c -.79 .59
Student .80 .40 c 1.81 .46 a -.70 1.27
Married -.08 .47 -.35 .26 -.72 .29 c
Time spent at religious inst. .97 .55 .16 .40 .52 .46
Visible minority -.54 .47 .12 .40 .39 .43
Immigrant (ref. Can. Born)
0-10 years
11-20 years
More than 20 years
3.57
.10
2.92
.87
.71
1.12
a

c

2.52
2.12
.04
.63
.67
.56
a
b
.73
-1.65
.31
.89
1.05
.47
Regions (ref. Ontario)
Quebec
BC
Prairies
Atlantic
 
-1.61
.80
.37
-.80
 
.56
.54
.56
.71
 
b
 
 
 
 
-1.11
-.16
.55
-.55
 
.40
.34
.34
.38
 
b
 
 
 
 
-2.06
.03
-.15
-.42
 
.43
.30
.28
.32
 
a
 
 
 
Political Orientations and Attitudes
Interest in (fed./prov.) politics -.05 .05 -.04 .03 -.03 .02
Close to party (fed./prov.) -.82 .23 a -.63 .15 a -.56 .12 a
Politics (fed./prov.) is too complicated -.17 .38 .44 .26 .57 .24 c
People like me have no say in (fed./prov.) politics .34 .41 -.13 .27 -.23 .27
I would feel guilty if I did not vote in (fed./prov.) election -1.16 .29 a -2.03 .25 a -1.78 .19 a
I feel my vote can make a difference -.53 .61 -1.02 .47 c -1.65 .47 a
Discussed politics during youth at home -.68 .61 -.44 .39 -.21 .36
Confidence in HofC/Prov. Legis. .14 .06 c .10 .05 c .09 .04 c
Confidence in Elections Canada -.24 .09 c -.18 .08 c -.16 .06 b
Attachment to (Canada/prov.) -.08 .05 -.02 .03 -.06 .03 c
Impact of (fed./prov.) govt. .08 .05 .01 .03 -.05 .03
Social trust -1.25 .46 b -.12 .29 -.13 .25
Constant 4.68 3.27 1.95 1.50 6.73 .89 a
Number of observations 357 1309 3355

Source: Provincial Diversity Project. Entries report B coefficients (Binomial logistic regressions)
a: p<.001; b: p<.01; c: p<.05.

Many political attitudes also emerge as correlates of habitual non-voting among all age groups. Being close to a party (whether federal or provincial), feeling guilty when non-voting (whether in federal or provincial elections), and confidence in Elections Canada are all associated with a lower propensity to be a habitual non-voter. Confidence in the legislative branch of government is also a correlate of being a habitual non-voter, but as indicated previously, it is an inverse correlation: greater confidence in the legislative branch is associated with a weaker propensity to vote. We already discussed the potential meaning of such a relationship. Feeling that one's vote can make a difference is negatively correlated with being habitual non-voters, but the relationship is not significant among Canadians aged 18 to 24.

Other characteristics apply to some groups but not to others. For instance, higher income correlates negatively with being a habitual non-voter, but only among younger Canadians (those aged 18 to 24 and 25 to 34). Similarly, Canadians aged 18 to 24 and 25 to 34 who are students are more likely to be habitual non-voters.  This last finding highlights the benefits of looking at habitual non-voting instead of looking only at voting at federal or provincial elections separately. When looking at federal and provincial election separately, being a student was not a correlate of voting among the 18 to 24; it now is.

The findings concerning being unemployed are puzzling. While Canadians aged 25 to 34 who are unemployed appear more likely to be habitual non-voters, among Canadians aged 18 to 24, the opposite is observed and the unemployed appear less likely to be habitual non-voters. It is very difficult to make sense of this counter-intuitive finding.

Four characteristics are specific to Canadians aged 35 years and older. First, those who are married are less likely to be habitual non-voters. Second, older people – within this age range – are less likely to be habitual non-voters. Third, those who feel politics is too complicated are more likely to be habitual non-voters. And fourth, those more attached to Canada and/or their province are also less likely to be habitual non-voters.

5.2 Habitual Non-Voters among Visible Minority Canadians

Table 9 presents the findings for the comparison of visible minority and other Canadians. Age and living in Quebec are the only two socio-demographic correlates of habitual non-voting common to both visible minorities and Canadians who are not members of a visible minority group among the socio-demographic characteristics. Older people and those living in Quebec are less likely to be habitual non-voters.

Table 9. Correlates of Habitual Non-Voting among Visible Minority Canadians
  Habitual non-voters (1-0)
  Visible Minority Canadians Other Canadians
Socio-Demographic Factors B SE B SE
Age -.03 .01 b -.04 .01 a
Woman .13 .25 .30 .21
Education (ref. no high school)
Post-secondary
University
Post-graduate
 
-.05
-.38
-.50
 
.41
.40
.54
 
-.96
-1.21
-1.23
 
.26
.28
.44
 
a
a
b
Household income -.16 .06 b -.04 .03
Unemployed -.83 .49 -.64 .43
Student -.79 .48 .38 .40
Married -.01 .31 -.64 .21 b
Time spent at religious inst. .69 .36 .45 .41
Immigrant (ref. Can. Born)
0-10 years
11-20 years
More than 20 years
 
1.35
-.02
.56
 
.33
.39
.33
 
a
 
 
 
.87
-.58
.28
 
1.10
1.01
.56
Regions (ref. Ontario)
Quebec
BC
Prairies
Atlantic
 
-1.12
-.10
.56
-1.77
 
.41
.29
.32
1.51
 
b
 
 
 
 
-1.92
-.04
-.25
-.52
 
.32
.27
.26
.28
 
a
 
 
 
Political Orientations and Attitudes
Interest in (fed./prov.) politics -.05 .03 -.05 .02 c
Close to party (fed./prov.) -.59 .16 a -.49 .12 a
Politics (fed./prov.) is too complicated .32 .31 .35 .19
People like me have no say in (fed./prov.) politics -.25 .30 -.23 .21
I would feel guilty if I did not vote in (fed./prov.) election -1.58 .26 a -1.85 .15 a
I feel my vote can make a difference -1.12 .41 b -1.69 .39 a
Discussed politics during youth at home .18 .43 -.32 .32
Confidence in HofC/Prov. Legis. .03 .04 .11 .03 b
Confidence in Elections Canada -.08 .08 -.17 .05 b
Attachment to (Canada/prov.) -.06 .04 -.02 .02
Impact of (fed./prov.) govt. .02 .03 -.02 .03
Social trust -.56 .30 -.21 .21
Constant 5.61 .82 a 6.19 .74 a
Number of observations 1146 3691

Source: Provincial Diversity Project. Entries report B coefficients (Binomial logistic regressions)
a: p<.001; b: p<.01; c: p<.05

Education and being married are correlates of habitual non-voting that are specific to Canadians who are not members of a visible minority group. Conversely, income and being a recent immigrant are two correlates of habitual non-voting that are specific to visible minority Canadians. Visible minority Canadians with a greater household income are less likely to be habitual non-voters. And visible minority Canadians who are recent immigrants are significantly more likely to be habitual non-voters. Our predicted probabilities indicate that while about 8% of visible minorities born in Canada are habitual non-voters, this proportion climbs to 24% among those who are recent immigrants. Habitual non-voting among visible minorities who are recent immigrants is thus substantial.

With regards to political attitudes, feeling close to a party, feeling guilty when not voting, and feeling that one's vote can make a difference are all associated with a lower likelihood of being a habitual non-voter for both groups. This also holds for interest in politics, although the relationship is significant only at the .10-level among visible minority Canadians.

Greater confidence in the legislative branch of government is associated with a greater likelihood of being a habitual non-voter, but only among Canadians who are not members of visible minority group. Conversely, greater confidence in Election Canada is associated with a lower likelihood of being a habitual non-voter and again only among Canadians who are not members of a visible minority group.

Feeling that politics is too complicated or that one does not have much say in what the government does are not correlates of habitual non-voting here, either for visible minorities or other Canadians. The same holds for discussing politics at home during one's youth, attachment to the political communities, perceived impact of government on one's life, or social trust.

Overall, the present section confirms many of the correlates identified in Tables 4, 5 and 6. Its contribution is to suggest that these correlates of voting not only relate to occasional abstention that normally takes place among the population at every election, but also to the growing and more worrisome reality of habitual non-voting (or systematic abstention across elections). Political attitudes such as feeling close to a party, feeling guilty when not voting, believing that voting can make a difference, and confidence in public institutions are key attitudes to instil in order to prevent the emergence of habitual non-voting, a behaviour that is growing and that has potentially critical consequences for the representation of many groups in our elected House of Commons and more broadly for the legitimacy of our political institutions.

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

La participation électorale des jeunes et des membres d'une minorité visible au Canada : éclairage du Projet sur la diversité provinciale

Partager ce rapport   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

5. Caractéristiques des abstentionnistes récurrents

Dans la présente section, nous examinons les caractéristiques des abstentionnistes récurrents, c'est-à-dire, dans le cadre de notre recherche, des personnes qui disent n'avoir voté ni à la dernière élection fédérale ni à la dernière élection provinciale. Les données de notre tableau 7 ci-après indiquent, sans surprise, que les jeunes et les membres d'une minorité visible ont davantage tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents. Alors que seulement 10 % des Canadiens âgés de 35 ans et plus disent s'être abstenus de voter à la fois aux élections fédérales et provinciales, cette proportion passe à 31 % chez les 25-34 ans et à 47 % chez les 18-24 ansnote 10. Inversement, le fait d'être un votant récurrent - c'est-à-dire d'avoir voté aux deux élections - augmente avec l'âge. Tandis que 85 % des Canadiens plus âgés déclarent avoir voté à la fois aux élections fédérales et provinciales, cette proportion est de 61 % chez les 25-34 ans et de seulement 44 % chez les 18-24 ans. De même, les membres d'une minorité visible ont plus tendance que les autres Canadiens à être des abstentionnistes récurrents (29 % contre 14 %). En effet, seulement 62 % d'entre eux déclarent avoir voté aux deux élections, alors que cette proportion atteint 81 % chez les autres Canadiens. Très peu de répondants déclarent avoir voté seulement à l'une des deux élections, et la proportion des électeurs qui déclarent avoir voté à un seul des deux scrutins est partagée également entre ceux qui ont voté seulement au palier fédéral et ceux qui ont voté seulement au palier provincial (résultats non présentés).

Tableau 7. Abstentionnisme récurrent chez les jeunes et les membres d'une minorité visible
  Groupe d'âge Statut de minorité visible
  18-24 25-34 35+ Membres d'une minorité visible Autres Canadiens
A voté aux élections fédérale et provinciale (%) 44 61a 85a 62 81a
A voté à une seule des deux élections (%) 10 8 5a 8 5b
N'a voté à aucune des deux élections (%) 47 31a 10a 29 14a
n= 738 2 139 4 829 1 840 5 351

Différence avec les 18-24 ans ou les minorités visibles : a : p<,001; b : p<,01; c : p<,05.
Source : Projet sur la diversité provinciale.

Mais qui sont les abstentionnistes récurrents? Pour déterminer leurs caractéristiques, nous avons exécuté des régressions logistiques binomiales dans lesquelles la variable dépendante indique si les répondants ont voté aux deux élections. Les variables sur les attitudes politiques comprises dans le modèle diffèrent de celles utilisées dans les analyses précédentes. Dans les tableaux 4, 5 et 6 qui précèdent, nous avons associé le vote à un palier particulier (provincial ou fédéral) à une attitude politique liée à cet ordre de gouvernement. Par exemple, dans le cadre de notre enquête sur le vote au palier fédéral, nous avons examiné le lien avec l'intérêt pour la politique fédérale. De même, dans notre enquête sur le vote au palier provincial, nous avons examiné le lien avec l'intérêt pour la politique provinciale. Pour les analyses suivantes, nous avons combiné les attitudes politiques relatives aux deux ordres de gouvernement. Par exemple, le modèle comprend une variable qui mesure l'intérêt pour la politique fédérale et la politique provinciale.

5.1 Les abstentionnistes récurrents chez les jeunes

Le tableau 8 ci-après présente les résultats de la comparaison des groupes d'âge. Les analyses confirment ce qui a été observé dans les analyses précédentes. Premièrement, les personnes plus éduquées ont moins tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents, et cela dans les trois groupes d'âge. Deuxièmement, les nouveaux arrivants ont plus tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents chez les 18-24 ans et les 25-34 ans, mais pas chez les Canadiens plus âgés. L'effet d'être un nouvel arrivant est considérable. Parmi les 18-24 ans, les probabilités prévues révèlent qu'environ 23 % des Canadiens seraient des abstentionnistes récurrents, mais cette proportion franchit les 90 % chez les nouveaux arrivants. Enfin, les Québécois semblent avoir moins tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents, peu importe le groupe d'âge étudié.

Tableau 8. Corrélats de l'abstentionnisme récurrent chez les jeunes
  Abstentionnistes récurrents (1-0)
  18-24 25-34 35+
Facteurs sociodémographiques B ET B ET B ET
Âge -,02 ,13 ,06 ,04 -,04 ,01 a
Femme ,21 ,39 ,17 ,26 ,11 ,25
Études (réf. pas d'études secondaires)
Études postsecondaires
Études universitaires
Études supérieures
 
-1,82
-1,35
-1,13
 
,55
,47
1,09
 
a
b
 
 
-1,08
-,88
-1,52
 
,34
,33
,56
 
b
b
b
 
-,67
-1,12
-1,37
 
,29
,33
,63
 
c
b
c
Revenu du ménage -,10 ,05 c -,11 ,04 b -,01 ,05
En chômage -1,46 ,75 c ,96 ,49 c -,79 ,59
Étudiant ,80 ,40 c 1,81 ,46 a -,70 1,27
Marié -,08 ,47 -,35 ,26 -,72 ,29 c
Temps passé à une institution religieuse ,97 ,55 ,16 ,40 ,52 ,46
Minorité visible -,54 ,47 ,12 ,40 ,39 ,43
Immigrant (réf. né au Canada)
0-10 ans
11-20 ans
20+ ans
 
3,57
,10
2,92
 
,87
,71
1,12
 
a
 
c
 
2,52
2,12
,04
 
,63
,67
,56
 
a
b
 
 
,73
-1,65
,31
 
,89
1,05
,47
Régions (réf. Ontario)
Québec
C.-B.
Prairies
Atlantique
 
-1,61
,80
,37
-,80
 
,56
,54
,56
,71
 
b
 
 
 
 
-1,11
-,16
,55
-,55
 
,40
,34
,34
,38
 
b
 
 
 
 
-2,06
,03
-,15
-,42
 
,43
,30
,28
,32
 
a
 
 
 
Orientations et attitudes politiques
Intérêt pour la politique (fédérale/provinciale) -,05 ,05 -,04 ,03 -,03 ,02
Proximité avec un parti (fédéral/provincial) -,82 ,23 a -,63 ,15 a -,56 ,12 a
La politique (fédérale/provinciale) est trop complexe -,17 ,38 ,44 ,26 ,57 ,24 c
Les gens comme moi n'ont pas leur mot à dire dans la politique (fédérale/provinciale) ,34 ,41 -,13 ,27 -,23 ,27
Je me sentirais coupable de ne pas voter à une élection (fédérale/provinciale) -1,16 ,29 a -2,03 ,25 a -1,78 ,19 a
Je sens que mon vote peut faire une différence -,53 ,61 -1,02 ,47 c -1,65 ,47 a
Discussion sur la politique à la maison pendant la jeunesse -,68 ,61 -,44 ,39 -,21 ,36
Confiance envers la Chambre des communes/l'assemblée législative provinciale ,14 ,06 c ,10 ,05 c ,09 ,04 c
Confiance envers Élections Canada -,24 ,09 c -,18 ,08 c -,16 ,06 b
Attachement (au Canada/à  une province) -,08 ,05 -,02 ,03 -,06 ,03 c
Impact du gouvernement (fédéral/provincial) ,08 ,05 ,01 ,03 -,05 ,03
Confiance sociale -1,25 ,46 b -,12 ,29 -,13 ,25
Constante 4,68 3,27 1,95 1,50 6,73 ,89 a
Nombre d'observations 357 1 309 3 355

Rapport des entrées à coefficients B (régressions logistiques binomiales).
a : p<,001; b : p<,01; c : p<,05.
Source : Projet sur la diversité provinciale.

De nombreuses attitudes politiques s'avèrent être corrélées à l'abstentionnisme récurrent dans tous les groupes d'âge. La proximité avec un parti (fédéral ou provincial), le sentiment de culpabilité par rapport à l'abstentionnisme (aux élections fédérales ou provinciales) et la confiance envers Élections Canada sont tous associés à une faible propension à l'abstentionnisme récurrent. La confiance dans l'organe législatif du gouvernement est également un corrélat de l'abstentionnisme récurrent, mais comme nous l'avons déjà indiqué, il s'agit d'une corrélation inverse : une plus grande confiance envers l'organe législatif est associée à une plus faible propension à voter. Nous avons déjà traité de la signification possible de ce lien (voir « Attitudes politiques des jeunes votants » et « Attitudes politiques des votants d'une minorité visible »). Le sentiment que son vote peut faire une différence a une corrélation négative avec l'abstentionnisme récurrent, mais le lien n'est pas significatif chez les 18-24 ans.

D'autres caractéristiques s'appliquent à certains groupes, mais non à d'autres. Par exemple, un revenu élevé est en corrélation négative avec l'abstentionnisme récurrent, mais seulement chez les jeunes (18-24 ans et 25-34 ans). De même, les 18-24 ans et les 25-34 ans qui sont étudiants sont plus enclins à l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Cette dernière constatation montre bien les avantages d'examiner l'abstentionnisme récurrent plutôt que seulement le vote aux élections fédérales ou provinciales séparément. Lorsqu'on examinait séparément les élections fédérales et provinciales, le statut d'étudiant n'était pas un corrélat du vote chez les 18-24 ans; dans le cas présent, il l'est.

Les constatations au sujet du statut de chômeur laissent perplexe. Si les 25-34 ans en chômage semblent être plus enclins à l'abstentionnisme récurrent, on observe le contraire chez les 18-24 ans, groupe où les chômeurs semblent avoir moins tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents. Il est très difficile de décrypter cette constatation contre-intuitive.

Quatre caractéristiques sont propres aux 35 ans et plus. Premièrement, les personnes mariées sont moins sujettes à l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Deuxièmement, les personnes plus âgées - celles dans cette tranche d'âge - sont moins sujettes à l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Troisièmement, les personnes qui jugent la politique trop complexe sont plus sujettes à l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Et quatrièmement, les personnes plus attachées au Canada et/ou à leur province sont moins sujettes à l'abstentionnisme récurrent.

5.2 Les abstentionnistes récurrents chez les membres d'une minorité visible

Le tableau 9 ci-après présente les résultats de la comparaison des membres d'une minorité visible et des autres Canadiens. L'âge et la résidence au Québec sont les deux seuls corrélats sociodémographiques de l'abstentionnisme récurrent qui sont propres à la fois aux membres des minorités visibles et aux autres Canadiens. Les personnes plus âgées et celles vivant au Québec ont moins tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents.

Tableau 9.Corrélats de l'abstentionnisme récurrent chez les membres d'une minorité visible
  Abstentionnistes récurrents (1-0)
  Membres d'une minorité visible Autres Canadiens
Facteurs sociodémographiques B ET B ET
Âge -,03 ,01 b -,04 ,01 a
Femme ,13 ,25 ,30 ,21
Scolarité (réf. pas d'études secondaires)
Études postsecondaires
Études universitaires
Études supérieures
 
-,05
-,38
-,50
 
,41
,40
,54
 
-,96
-1,21
-1,23
 
,26
,28
,44
 
a
a
b
Revenu du ménage -,16 ,06 b -,04 ,03
En chômage -,83 ,49 -,64 ,43
Étudiant -,79 ,48 ,38 ,40
Marié -,01 ,31 -,64 ,21 b
Temps passé à une institution religieuse ,69 ,36 ,45 ,41
Immigrant (réf. né au Canada)
0-10 ans
11-20 ans
20+ ans
 
1,35
-,02
,56
 
,33
,39
,33
 
a
 
 
 
,87
-,58
,28
 
1,10
1,01
,56
Régions (réf. Ontario)
Québec
C.-B.
Prairies
Atlantique
 
-1,12
-,10
,56
-1,77
 
,41
,29
,32
1,51
 
b
 
 
 
 
-1,92
-,04
-,25
-,52
 
,32
,27
,26
,28
 
a
 
 
 
Orientations et attitudes politiques
Intérêt pour la politique (fédérale/provinciale) -,05 ,03 -,05 ,02 c
Proximité avec un parti (fédéral/provincial) -,59 ,16 a -,49 ,12 a
La politique (fédérale/provinciale) est trop complexe ,32 ,31 ,35 ,19
Les gens comme moi n'ont pas leur mot à dire dans la politique (fédérale/provinciale) -,25 ,30 -,23 ,21
Je me sentirais coupable de m'abstenir de voter à une élection (fédérale/provinciale) -1,58 ,26 a -1,85 ,15 a
Je sens que mon vote peut faire une différence -1,12 ,41 b -1,69 ,39 a
Discussions sur la politique à la maison pendant la jeunesse ,18 ,43 -,32 ,32
Confiance envers la Chambre des communes/l'assemblée législative provinciale ,03 ,04 ,11 ,03 b
Confiance envers Élections Canada -,08 ,08 -,17 ,05 b
Attachement (au Canada/à une province) -,06 ,04 -,02 ,02
Impact du gouvernement (fédéral/provincial) ,02 ,03 -,02 ,03
Confiance sociale -,56 ,30 -,21 ,21
Constante 5,61 ,82 a 6,19 ,74 a
Nombre d'observations 1 146 3 691

Rapport des entrées à coefficients B (régressions logistiques binomiales).
a : p<,001; b : p<,01; c : p<,05.
Source : Projet sur la diversité provinciale.

Le niveau de scolarité et le statut de personne mariée sont des corrélats de l'abstentionnisme récurrent propres aux non-membres d'une minorité visible. Inversement, le revenu et le statut de nouvel arrivant sont deux corrélats de l'abstentionnisme récurrent propres aux membres d'une minorité visible. Chez ces derniers, ceux dont le revenu du ménage est plus élevé ont moins tendance à être des abstentionnistes récurrents. Et les membres d'une minorité visible qui sont de nouveaux arrivants sont beaucoup plus portés à l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Nos probabilités prévues indiquent que si environ 8 % des membres d'une minorité visible nés au Canada sont des abstentionnistes récurrents, cette proportion passe à 24 % chez les membres d'une minorité visible qui sont de nouveaux arrivants. Dans ce dernier groupe, la proportion d'abstentionnistes récurrents est donc importante

Pour ce qui est des attitudes politiques, la proximité avec un parti, le sentiment de culpabilité par rapport à l'abstentionnisme et le sentiment que son vote peut faire une différence sont tous liés à une probabilité plus faible d'abstentionnisme récurrent pour les deux groupes. C'est le cas aussi de l'intérêt pour la politique, quoique le lien est significatif seulement au niveau ,10 chez les membres d'une minorité visible.

Une plus grande confiance envers l'organe législatif du gouvernement est associée à une plus grande probabilité d'abstentionnisme récurrent, mais seulement chez les non-membres d'une minorité visible. Inversement, une plus grande confiance envers Élections Canada est liée à une plus faible probabilité d'abstentionnisme récurrent, encore une fois seulement pour les non-membres d'une minorité visible.

Le sentiment que la politique est trop complexe ou qu'on n'a pas son mot à dire dans ce que fait le gouvernement n'est pas ici un corrélat de l'abstentionnisme récurrent, ni pour les minorités visibles ou pour les autres Canadiens. Il en va de même pour la discussion de la politique à la maison pendant la jeunesse, l'attachement aux communautés politiques, l'impact apparent du gouvernement sur la vie d'une personne ou la confiance sociale.

Globalement, la présente section confirme bon nombre des corrélats déjà signalés dans les tableaux 4, 5 et 6. Elle contribue à montrer que ces corrélations ont trait non seulement à l'abstention occasionnelle d'électeurs normalement constatée à chaque scrutin, mais également à la réalité de plus en plus présente et inquiétante de l'abstentionnisme récurrent (ou le non-vote systématique à l'ensemble des élections). Les attitudes politiques comme la proximité avec un parti, le sentiment de culpabilité par rapport à l'abstention, la conviction qu'un vote peut faire une différence et la confiance dans les institutions publiques sont des attitudes clés à inculquer pour empêcher l'émergence de l'abstentionnisme récurrent, un comportement en croissance qui pourrait avoir des conséquences cruciales pour la représentation de nombreux groupes au sein de notre Chambre des communes élue et, de façon plus générale, pour la légitimité de nos institutions politiques.




note 10 Il est à noter que nos analyses ne portent que sur des personnes qui étaient admissibles à voter aux deux élections.