Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

Voter Turnout among Younger Canadians and Visible Minority Canadians: Evidence from the Provincial Diversity Project

Share this report   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

6. Opinionation and Voter Turnout

The preceding sections aimed at identifying the characteristics of voters and of habitual non-voters among younger Canadians (those aged 18 to 24 and 25 to 34) and among visible minority Canadians. Among both socio-demographic attributes and political attitudes, many characteristics were identified. In the present section, we offer an exploration into another possibility, namely the role of opinionation or holding opinions (see Krosnick and Milburn, 1990; Delli Carpini and Keeter 1996). Holding an opinion is arguably an important step toward voting. Having an opinion as to whether or not the government cares about the people, whether we can trust public institutions, or even whether it is important to vote is potentially important in explaining why one votes. A certain number of studies examine the characteristics of who hold opinions or provide opinions to questions in political surveys (Krosnick and Milburn 1990; Rapoport 1982; Milbrath and Goel 1977; Francis and Busch 1975). Rare are the studies, however, that examine the consequences of not holding opinions.

Previous research has examined the link between knowledge and voting, but this is not what we are interested in here. Knowledge is important; it is necessary for a proper understanding of the surrounding political environment and for the proper practice of democracy (Delli Carpini and Keeter 1996). Knowledge and opinionation are surely related. It is likely that possessing a greater political knowledge facilitates the development of political opinions; people must "know what something is before they can say how they feel about it, or whether or not they like it" (Cook 1985: 1081). Knowledge and opinionation, thus, might be related, but they are nevertheless different concepts. People who do possess knowledge do not necessarily hold opinions, and conversely, people with weak knowledge can still express firm opinions. Accordingly, the present section aims at exploring whether a link exists between opinionation and the likelihood of voting.

It also appears important to study the link between opinionation and voting for methodological reasons. As reported in the analyses identifying the characteristics of habitual non-voters among younger Canadians in Table 8, only 357 Canadians aged 18 to 24 qualify to be included in the multivariate analyses while 971 are available in the overall PDP sample. Why are not all respondents aged 18 to 24 included in the multivariate analyses? There are two main reasons.

First, given the young age of these respondents, many were simply not eligible to vote in the preceding federal or provincial elections. For instance, about 19% of the 18 to 24 year olds report that they were not eligible to vote in the previous elections, compared to 4% of the 25 to 34 years olds. This reduces the sample size from 971 to 768 respondents. Nothing can be done to include these respondents; we simply cannot investigate whether or not they are habitual non-voters.

Second, and most importantly, Canadians aged 18 to 24 years old are significantly more likely to answer "I don't know" to many questions of the survey, especially those relating to politics. For instance, while about 19% of Canadians aged 18 to 24 years old answer that they don't know how much confidence they have in Elections Canada, this proportion is 11% among the 25 to 34 year olds and only 4% among those aged 35 years and older. Similarly, the proportions of respondents answering that they don't know when asked how much of an impact the federal government has on their lives are 13%, 8% and 3% respectively for the 18-24, 25-34 and 35 and older cohorts.

Table 11 presents the distribution of "don't know" responses to the following political attitude questions that were included in our analyses: feeling close to a political party (federal and provincial), politics is too complicated (federal and provincial), I would feel guilty if I did not vote (federal and provincial), people like me have no say in politics (federal and provincial), I feel my vote can make a difference, attachment to Canada and the respondent's province of residence, the impact of provincial and federal governments on respondent's life, confidence in the House of Commons, in the legislative assembly of the province they reside in, and in Elections Canada. This adds up to a total of sixteen questions.

Table 11. Opinionation among Younger Canadians and Visible Minority Canadians
  Age Groups Visible Minority Status
Number of "don't know" responses (%) 18-24 25-34 35+ Visible minority Canadians Other Canadians
0 57 68 84 72 80
1 7 9 7 6 8
2 9 9 4 7 5
3 9 5 2 7 3
4 3 2 1 2 1
5 6 2 0 2 1
6 and more 8 5 2 5 2
n= 888 2174 4698 5275 1950

Source: Provincial Diversity Project. 

Table 11 indicates that Canadians aged 18 to 24 are less likely than older Canadians to hold a substantive opinion on all sixteen questions. While 84% of Canadians aged 35 and older have provided an opinion in response to all sixteen questions, this proportion drops to 68% among those aged 25 to 34 and to 57% among those aged 18 to 24. In contrast, we observe that while less than 2% of Canadians aged 35 and older answer "I don't know" to at least six of the sixteen questions, this proportion increases to 5% among Canadians aged 25 to 34 and to more than 8% among those aged 18 to 24.Footnote 11

These numbers indicate that many Canadians aged 18 to 24 were not included in the analyses used to identify habitual non-voters because they held no opinion on one or many variables included in the model. The moment that one "don't know" response is provided, the respondent cannot be included in the analyses.Footnote 12 The data presented in Table 11 thus indicate that based on the 16 items examined, we can only keep 57% of Canadians aged 18-24, 68% of those aged 25 to 34 and 84% of those aged 35 years and older for the analyses. The rest of respondents are excluded because they provide one or more "don't know" responses.Footnote 13

Non-response, or a weak level of opinionation, is thus more prevalent among younger Canadians than older Canadians. This finding is consistent with Kronick and Milburn's conclusions (1990). This might not be too surprising given that younger Canadians have accumulated less experience interacting with and observing the Canadian political system than older Canadians have. Sears and Valentino (1997) also observe a lower level of opinination among younger Americans.

Together, the ineligibility to vote and the greater propensity to provide "don't know" responses substantially reduce the sample size available for the analysis of Canadians aged 18 to 24 (from 971 to 357 in the multivariate analysis). This has important implications not just for the sample size available, but also for the characteristics of the sample available for the analyses. As a final step to this report, we propose to examine whether there is a connection between weak opinionation and the propensity to be a habitual non-voter. By doing so, we do not only bring a novel perspective on the reasons why people vote or not, but we also extend the analyses to a group of Canadians that is very often excluded from the analyses investigating the roots of non-voting.

In order to investigate this question, the analyses presented in Table 12 examine, once again, whether or not Canadians are habitual non-voters. This time, however, we limit the investigation to socio-demographic characteristics and include our scale of opinionation that indicates the number of times respondents have selected "I don't know" in response to the sixteen political questions listed above. Because of low frequencies, scores ranging from 6 to 16 are merged together and coded as 6. The scale ranges from 0 to 6. We perform the analyses here for each of the three age categories: 18-24, 25-34, and 35 and older.

Table 12. Opinionation and Habitual Non-Voting among Younger Canadians
  Habitual non-voters (1-0)
  18-24 25-34 35+
Socio-Demographic Factors B SE B SE B SE
Age -.01 .10 .01 .03 -.07 .01 a
Woman -.02. .28 .32 .19 .03 .17
Education (ref. no high school)
Post-secondary
University
Post-graduate

-1.09
-1.84
-3.44

.35
.38
1.62

b
a
c

-.76
-1.07
-1.59

.23
.22
.39

b
a
a

-.72
-1.23
-1.55

.20
.23
.39

a
a
a
Household income -.05 .04 -.16 .03 a -.09 .04 a
Unemployed -.79 .54 .56 .28 c -.91 .43 c
Student .80 .31 c .27 .34 -1.77 1.06
Married -.23 .29 -.05 .18 -.63 .21 b
Time spent at religious inst. -.24 .42 -.84 .29 b -.31 .29
Visible minority .02 .36 .18 .31 .19 .45
Immigrant (ref. Can. Born)
0-10 years
11-20 years
More than 20 years

2.02
.63
3.51

.85
.55
1.30
 
c
 
b

2.52
1.72
.30

.50
.48
.45
 
a
a
 

1.11
-.42
.34

.56
.73
.37

c
 

Regions (ref. Ontario)
Quebec
BC
Prairies
Atlantic

-1.41
.21
.10
-.79

.36
.38
.38
.40

a
 
 
c
 
-1.07
-.44
.27
-.05
 
.24
.25
.23
.25
 
a
 
 
 
 
-1.67
.15
.04
.03
 
.33
.22
.20
.21
 
a
 
 
 
Don't know scale (0-6) .31 .09 b .38 .06 a .39 .07 a
Constant .91 2.33 00 .89 3.30 .50 a
Number of observations 488 1657 3727

Source: Provincial Diversity Project. Entries report B coefficients (Binomial logistic regressions)
a: p<.001; b: p<.01; c: p<.05.

First, it is important to highlight the sample available for the analyses. For the age group 18 to 24, our sample size is 488 as opposed to the 357 that would have been eligible if all political variables were included in the model. For the 25 to 34 year old group, the sample size is 1657 (as opposed to 1309), and for the 35 and older group, the sample size is 3727 (as opposed to 3355). The sample sizes for the 18 to 24 and 25 to 34 age groups thus increase by 37% and 27% respectively, while the sample size of those aged 35 years and older increases by only about 11%. These sample-size increases are important. They highlight the extent to which, among younger voters, we lose a substantial proportion of the sample if we exclude them on the basis of "don't know" responses.Footnote 14

Second, the findings further support the importance of "don't know" responses by showing that the scale of opinionation (or number of "don't know" responses) is significantly related to the propensity of being a habitual non-voter. The larger the number of "don't know" responses, the greater the likelihood of being a habitual non-voter. This holds among all three age groups. Figure 1 reports the predicted probabilities of being a habitual non-voter by level of "don't know" responses for each of the three age groups. The results clearly highlight the increasing probability of being a habitual non-voter among all three age groups as the number of "don't know" responses increases. Moreover, it is striking to see that the lower propensity to vote is not limited to those who provide a large number of "don't know" responses. The relationship appears linear; even a single mention of a "don't know" response increases the probability of being a habitual non-voter. Any indication of low opinionation, no matter how minor, increases the likelihood of being a habitual non-voter.Footnote 15

Figure 1: Predicted Probability of Being a Habitual Non...
Text version of "Figure 1: Predicted Probability of Being a Habitual Non.."

Is the propensity to answer "don't know" simply the reflection of a weak interest in politics?  Interest in politics negatively correlates with the propensity to provide "don't know" responses; the greater the interest in politics, the smaller the number of "don't know" responses. The correlation coefficients are -.37, -.34, and -.27 respectively for Canadians aged 18-24, 25-34 and 35 and older. We further investigated the link between "don't know" responses and interest in politics by adding the latter variable in our multivariate analyses. We do not present the full table here but Figure 2 reports the predicted probabilities of being a habitual non-voter according to the number of "don't know" responses provided by respondents once controlling for interest in politics. In contrast to Figure 1, the slopes in Figure 2 are not as steep. Including interest in politics thus accounts for a portion of the link between "don't know" responses and habitual non-voting. One of the reasons why the people who report "don't know" responses do not vote is that they are not interested in politics. But this is not the entire story; the relationship between opinionation and habitual non-voting remains significant even when controlling for interest in politics. And the effect is substantial; if we performed a simulation like the ones we performed in the previous section, setting the mean level of opinionation of younger Canadians (1.44) to that observed for older Canadians (.36), the model predicts that the level of habitual non-voting would be about 5 points lower among younger Canadians. Of course, part of the effect would likely be explained by other political attitudes presently not explained, but this nevertheless signals a non-negligible importance of the opinionation variable.

Figure 2: Predicted Probability of Being a Habitual Non...
Text version of "Figure 2: Predicted Probability of Being a Habitual Non.."

This suggests that one of the reasons that Canadians do not vote is a low level of opinionation. A significant proportion of Canadians do not appear to have developed firm opinions about their attachment to the political system, their sense of civic duty, or their evaluation of government responsiveness. For them, voting appears to be a less appealing activity. The relationship holds among all three age groups, but as demonstrated in Table 10, younger Canadians exhibit substantially lower levels of opinionation than older Canadians. It is worth emphasizing that our analyses do not control for respondents' knowledge of Canadian politics. Unfortunately, such indicators are not available in the Provincial Diversity Project. It is possible that the relationship between opinionation and habitual non-voting could be partially or fully accounted for if indicators of respondents' knowledge of politics were included in the model. Delli Carpini and Keeter argue that knowledge is even the strongest predictor of opinionation in their analyses (1996:230).





Footnote 11 Whether the reality of high "don't know" response rates in the Provincial Diversity Project among the youth is something unique to this data is a possibility; investigating whether this is also the case in other political surveys like the Canadians Election Study is a task beyond the scope of this current report. The difference in the propensity for "don't know" responses between visible minorities and other Canadians is more limited. Accordingly, we limit this section of the report to the analyses of younger Canadians.

Footnote 12 Because listwise deletion method is used.

Footnote 13 Other methods can be used when conducting multivariate analyses that allow including respondents who provide non-responses such a imputing sample means for missing cases. We prefer not to use such methods. The following analyses indicate that respondents who provide don't know as a response may have a different political profile and propensity to vote, and accordingly we should treat their missing information as such instead of trying to impute a response that they did not provide. We acknowledge, however, that such a methodological decision is open for debate in the field and ultimately further analyses should be performed to better understand both the meaning of these non-responses and what kinds of implications using different methods to treat the missing information have on the results of our inferences.

Footnote 14 There are still a large numbers of missing cases because of the household income question.

Footnote 15 Other specifications were tested to verify that the relationship was indeed linear. Among visible minority Canadians, we also observe that a greater propensity to provide "don't know" responses is associated with a greater likelihood to be a habitual non-voter (results not presented).

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

La participation électorale des jeunes et des membres d'une minorité visible au Canada : éclairage du Projet sur la diversité provinciale

Partager ce rapport   Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on LinkedIn

7.  L'expression d'opinions et la participation électorale

Les sections précédentes avaient pour but de déterminer les caractéristiques des votants et des abstentionnistes récurrents chez les jeunes (18-24 ans et 25-34 ans) et les membres d'une minorité visible. De nombreuses caractéristiques ont été relevées dans les attributs sociodémographiques et les attitudes politiques. Dans la présente section, nous explorons un autre facteur possible, à savoir le fait d'avoir ou d'exprimer des opinions (voir Krosnick et Milburn 1990; Delli Carpini et Keeter 1996). On peut soutenir que le fait d'avoir une opinion constitue une étape importante de la participation électorale. Avoir une opinion sur la question de savoir si le gouvernement se soucie ou non des gens, si nous pouvons faire confiance aux institutions publiques, ou même s'il importe de voter pourrait être important pour expliquer la décision de voter. Certaines études examinent les caractéristiques des personnes qui ont des opinions ou qui expriment leurs opinions dans le cadre de sondages politiques (Krosnick et Milburn 1990; Rapport 1982; Milbrath et Goel 1977; Francis et Busch 1975). Toutefois, rares sont les études qui examinent les conséquences du fait de ne pas avoir d'opinions.

Des recherches ont montré le lien entre les connaissances et la participation électorale, mais ce n'est pas notre propos ici. Les connaissances ont de importance; elles sont nécessaires à une bonne compréhension du contexte politique et à l'exercice approprié de la démocratie (Delli Carpini et Keeter 1996). Les connaissances et l'expression d'opinions sont certes liées. Le fait d'avoir davantage de connaissances politiques aide à se faire des opinions politiques; les gens doivent savoir ce qu'est une chose avant de pouvoir dire comment ils se sentent à son égard, ou s'ils l'aiment ou non (Cook 1985, 1081). Ainsi, les connaissances et l'expression d'opinions pourraient être liées, mais sont néanmoins des concepts différents. Les gens qui ont des connaissances n'ont pas nécessairement d'opinions et, inversement, celles qui ont de faibles connaissances peuvent exprimer de fortes opinions. La présente section vise donc à déterminer s'il existe un lien entre l'expression d'opinions et la probabilité de voter.

Il semble également important d'étudier le lien entre l'expression d'opinions et le vote pour des raisons méthodologiques. Tel qu'indiqué dans les analyses établissant les caractéristiques des abstentionnistes récurrents chez les jeunes dans le tableau 8, seulement 357 jeunes de 18-24 ans remplissent les conditions pour être inclus dans les analyses à variables multiples, tandis que 971 sont disponibles dans l'échantillon global du PDP. Pourquoi tous les 18-24 ans ne sont-ils pas inclus dans les analyses à variables multiples? Pour deux raisons principales.

Premièrement, compte tenu du jeune âge de ces répondants, pluieurs n'étaient simplement pas admissibles à voter aux dernières élections fédérales ou provinciales. Par exemple, environ 19 % des 18-24 ans disent qu'ils n'étaient pas admissibles à voter aux élections précédentes, contre 4 % des 25-34 ans, ce qui ramène la taille de l'échantillon de 971 à 768 répondants. Ces répondants ne peuvent aucunement être inclus, et nous ne pouvons pas faire enquête pour savoir s'ils sont ou non des abstentionnistes récurrents.

Deuxièmement, et plus important encore, les 18-24 ans ont beaucoup plus tendance à répondre « Je ne sais pas » à beaucoup de questions du sondage, surtout celles sur la politique. Par exemple, 19 % des 18-24 ans disent ignorer à quel point ils ont confiance en Élections Canada, alors que cette proportion s'établit à 11 % chez les 25-34 ans et à seulement 4 % chez les 35 ans et plus. De même, les proportions des répondants qui disent ignorer quel est l'impact du gouvernement fédéral sur leur vie sont de 13 %, 8 % et 3 %, respectivement, pour les 18-24 ans, les 25-34 ans et les 35 ans et plus.

Le tableau 11 ci-après présente la répartition des réponses « Je ne sais pas » aux questions suivantes sur l'attitude politique comprises dans nos analyses : la proximité à un parti politique (fédéral et provincial); la politique est trop complexe (fédérale et provinciale); je me sentirais coupable de ne pas voter (fédéral et provincial); les gens comme moi n'ont pas leur mot à dire dans la politique (fédérale et provinciale); je sens que mon vote peut faire une différence; l'attachement au Canada et à la province de résidence du répondant; l'impact des gouvernements provincial et fédéral sur la vie du répondant; et la confiance envers la Chambre des communes, l'assemblée législative de la province du répondant et Élections Canada. Il y a 16 questions en tout.

Tableau 11. L'expression d'opinions chez les jeunes et les membres d'une minorité visible
  Groupe d'âge Statut de minorité visible
Nombre de réponses « Je ne sais pas » (%) 18-24 25-34 35+ Membres d'une minorité visible Autres Canadiens
0 57 68 84 72 80
1 7 9 7 6 8
2 9 9 4 7 5
3 9 5 2 7 3
4 3 2 1 2 1
5 6 2 0 2 1
6 et plus 8 5 2 5 2
n= 888 2 174 4 698 5 275 1 950

Source : Projet sur la diversité provinciale.

Le tableau 11 indique que les 18-24 ans ont moins tendance que leurs aînés à avoir une opinion de fond sur les 16 questions. Tandis que 84 % des 35 ans et plus ont donné une opinion en réponse aux 16 questions, cette proportion chute à 68 % chez les 25-34 ans et à 57 % chez les 18-24 ans. Par contre, moins de 2 % des 35 ans et plus répondent « Je ne sais pas » à au moins six des 16 questions, alors que cette proportion passe à 5 % chez les 25-34 ans et à plus de 8 % chez les 18-24 ans.note 11

Ces statistiques indiquent que de nombreux 18-24 ans n'étaient pas compris dans les analyses utilisées pour identifier les abstentionnistes récurrents parce qu'ils n'avaient pas d'opinion sur une ou plusieurs variables du modèle. Dès qu'une réponse « Je ne sais pas » est donnée, le répondant ne peut être compris dans les analyses.note 12Les données présentées dans le tableau 11 révèlent donc que sur la base des 16 éléments étudiés, nous pouvons conserver seulement 57 % des 18-24 ans, 68 % des 25-34 ans et 84 % des 35 ans et plus aux fins des analyses. Les autres répondants sont exclus parce qu'ils ont répondu « Je ne sais pas » au moins une foisnote 13.

Ainsi, l'absence de réponse, ou un faible niveau d'expression d'opinions, caractérise davantage les jeunes que leurs aînés, ce qui concorde avec les conclusions de Krosnick et Milburn (1990). Cette constatation n'a rien de très étonnant, les jeunes Canadiens ayant accumulé moins d'expérience que leurs aînés dans l'interaction avec le système politique canadien et dans l'observation de celui-ci. Sears et Valentino (1997) constatent également un faible niveau d'expression d'opinions chez les jeunes Américains.

Ensemble, l'inadmissibilité à voter et la plus grande propension à répondre « Je ne sais pas » réduisent considérablement la taille de l'échantillon disponible aux fins de l'analyse des 18-24 ans (de 971 à 357 dans l'analyse à variables multiples), ce qui a des répercussions importantes sur la taille de l'échantillon disponible, mais aussi sur les caractéristiques de l'échantillon disponible à l'analyse. Comme dernière étape de ce rapport, nous chercherons à voir s'il existe un lien entre le faible niveau d'expression d'opinions et la propension à l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Ainsi, non seulement apportons-nous un nouvel éclairage sur les raisons pour lesquelles les gens votent ou non, mais nous élargissons également l'étude à un groupe de Canadiens qui sont très souvent exclus des analyses concernant l'origine de la abstentionnisme.

Pour approfondir ce sujet, les analyses présentées dans le tableau 12 ci-après se penchent encore une fois sur la question de savoir si les Canadiens sont des abstentionnistes récurrents. Nous limitons cette fois notre étude aux caractéristiques sociodémographiques et incluons notre échelle d'expression d'opinions, qui indique combien de fois les répondants ont répondu « Je ne sais pas » aux 16 questions sur l'attitude politique énumérées précédemment. En raison de la faiblesse des fréquences, les pointages qui vont de 6 à 16 sont regroupés et codés 6. L'échelle va de 0 à 6. Nous effectuons les analyses pour chacun des trois groupes d'âge : 18-24 ans, 25-34 ans et 35 ans et plus.

Tableau 12. L'expression d'opinions et l'abstentionnisme récurrent chez les jeunes
  Abstentionnistes récurrents (1-0)
  18-24 25-34 35+
Facteurs sociodémographiques B ET B ET B ET
Âge -,01 ,10 ,01 ,03 -,07 ,01 a
Femme -,02 ,28 ,32 ,19 ,03 ,17
Scolarité (réf. pas d'études secondaires)
Études  postsecondaires
Études universitaires
Études supérieures
 
-1,09
-1,84
-3,44
 
,35
,38
1,62
 
b
a
c
 
-,76
-1,07
-1,59
 
,23
,22
,39
 
b
a
a
 
-,72
-1,23
-1,55
 
,20
,23
,39
 
a
a
a
Revenu du ménage -,05 ,04 -,16 ,03 a -,09 ,04 a
En chômage -,79 ,54 ,56 ,28 c -,91 ,43 c
Étudiant ,80 ,31 c ,27 ,34 -1,77 1,06
Marié -,23 ,29 -,05 ,18 -,63 ,21 b
Temps passé à une institution religieuse -,24 ,42 -,84 ,29 b -,31 ,29
Minorité visible ,02 ,36 ,18 ,31 ,19 ,45
Immigrant (réf. né au Canada)
0-10 ans
11-20 ans
20+ ans
 
2,02
,63
3,51
 
,85
,55
1,30
 
c
 
b
 
2,52
1,72
,30
 
,50
,48
,45
 
a
a
 
 
1,11
-,42
,34
 
,56
,73
,37
 
c
 
 
Régions (réf. Ontario)
Québec
C.-B.
Prairies
Atlantique
 
-1,41
,21
,10
-,79
 
,36
,38
,38
,40
 
a
 
 
c
 
-1,07
-,44
,27
-,05
 
,24
,25
,23
,25
 
a
 
 
 
-1,67
,15
,04
,03
 
,33
,22
,20
,21
 
a
 
 
 
Échelle « Je ne sais pas » (0-6) ,31 ,09 b ,38 ,06 a ,39 ,07 a
Constante ,91 2,33 00 ,89 3,30 ,50 a
Nombre d'observations 488 1 657 3 727

Rapport des entrées à coefficients B (régressions logistiques binomiales).
a : p<,001; b : p<,01; c : p<,05.
Source : Projet sur la diversité provinciale.

Premièrement, il importe d'expliquer quel échantillon était disponible aux fins des analyses. Pour les 18-24 ans, notre échantillon est de 488 personnes, comparativement aux 357 qui auraient été admissibles si toutes les variables politiques étaient comprises dans le modèle. Quant aux 25-34 ans, l'échantillon est de 1 657 personnes (contre 1 309), et il est de 3 727 personnes (contre 3 355) pour les 35 ans et plus. La taille des échantillons pour les 18-24 ans et les 25-34 ans augmente donc de 37 % et de 27 %, respectivement, tandis que celle du groupe des 35 ans et plus n'augmente que d'environ 11 %. Ces accroissements d'échantillons sont importants. Ils montrent bien que nous perdons, chez les jeunes votants, une proportion considérable de l'échantillon si nous les excluons en fonction des réponses « Je ne sais pas » note 14

Deuxièmement, les résultats étayent l'importance des réponses « Ne sais pas » en montrant que l'échelle d'expression d'opinions (ou le nombre de réponses « Ne sais pas ») a un lien significatif avec la propension à l'abstentionnisme récurrent. Plus le nombre des réponses « Ne sais pas » est élevé, plus la probabilité d'être un abstentionniste récurrent est grande. Cela vaut pour les trois groupes d'âge. Le graphique 1 ci-après montre la probabilité prévue d'abstentionnisme récurrent selon le niveau de réponses « Ne sais pas » pour chacun des trois groupes d'âge. On y voit nettement que la probabilité d'abstentionnisme récurrent augmente dans les trois groupes d'âge à mesure que le nombre de réponses « Ne sais pas » augmente. En outre, il est frappant de constater que la propension plus faible à voter ne se limite pas à ceux qui fournissent un grand nombre de réponses « Ne sais pas ». Le lien semble linéaire : même une seule réponse « Ne sais pas » fait augmenter la probabilité d'abstentionnisme récurrent. Par conséquent, toute indication d'un faible taux d'expression d'opinions, si mineure soit-elle, fait augmenter la probabilité d'abstentionnisme récurrent. note 15

Graphique 1 : Probabilité prédite d'être un non-votant récurrent d'après le nombre de réponses
Description du « Graphique 1 : Probabilité prédite d'être un non-votant récurrent d'après le nombre de réponses »

La propension à répondre « Ne sais pas » reflète-t-elle simplement un faible intérêt pour la politique? L'intérêt pour la politique est en corrélation négative avec la propension à répondre « Ne sais pas »; plus cet intérêt est grand, moins il y a de réponses « Ne sais pas ». Les coefficients de corrélation sont de -.37, -.34 et -.27, respectivement, pour les 18-24 ans, les 25-34 ans et les 35 ans et plus. Nous avons également approfondi le lien entre les réponses « Ne sais pas » et l'intérêt pour la politique en ajoutant cette dernière variable dans nos analyses à variables multiples. Nous ne présentons pas le tableau complet ici, mais le graphique 2 ci-après montre la probabilité prévue d'abstentionnisme récurrent selon le nombre de réponses « Ne sais pas » fournies par les répondants une fois pris en compte l'intérêt pour la politique. Les pentes du graphique 2 sont moins marquées que celles du graphique 1. L'inclusion de l'intérêt pour la politique aide donc à comprendre une partie du lien entre les réponses « Ne sais pas » et l'abstentionnisme récurrent. L'une des raisons pour lesquelles les personnes qui répondent « Ne sais pas » ne votent pas est que la politique ne les intéresse pas. Mais on note en plus que le lien entre l'expression d'opinions et l'abstentionnisme récurrent demeure important même lorsqu'on tient compte de l'intérêt pour la politique. Et l'effet est considérable : si nous faisons une simulation comme celles que nous avons effectuées dans la section précédente, en alignant le niveau moyen de l'expression d'opinions des jeunes (1,44) sur celui observé chez leurs aînés (.36), le modèle prédit que le niveau d'abstentionnisme récurrent serait d'environ 5 points plus faible chez les jeunes. Certes, une partie de l'effet serait vraisemblablement attribuable à d'autres attitudes politiques non expliquées pour l'instant, mais cela montre néanmoins l'importance non négligeable de la variable de l'expression d'opinions.

 Graphique 2 : Probabilité prédite d'être un non-votant récurrent d'après le nombre de réponses « Je l'ignore » aux questions politiques (contrôle de l'intérêt pour la politique).
Description du « Graphique 2 : Probabilité prédite d'être un non-votant récurrent d'après le nombre de réponses « Je l'ignore » aux questions politiques (contrôle de l'intérêt pour la politique). »

Ces résultats donnent à penser que l'une des raisons pour lesquelles les Canadiens ne votent pas est un faible niveau d'expression d'opinions. Une proportion importante d'entre eux ne semblent pas s'être fait d'opinions fermes sur leur attachement au système politique, sur leur sens civique ou sur leur évaluation de l'action du gouvernement. À leurs yeux, le vote apparaît comme une activité peu attrayante. La corrélation vaut pour les trois groupes d'âge, mais comme le montre le tableau 10 qui précède, les jeunes affichent des niveaux beaucoup plus faibles d'expression d'opinions que leurs aînés. Il convient de signaler que nos analyses ne contrôlent pas la connaissance qu'ont les répondants de la politique canadienne. Malheureusement, de tels indicateurs ne sont pas disponibles dans le PDP. Le lien entre l'expression d'opinions et l'abstentionnisme récurrent pourrait peut-être être partiellement ou complètement pris en compte si les indicateurs de la connaissance politique étaient inclus dans le modèle. Delli Carpini et Keeter estiment même que la connaissance est le déterminant le plus fort de l'expression d'opinions dans leurs analyses (1996, 230).





note 11 Il est possible que des taux aussi élevés de réponses « Je ne sais pas » chez les jeunes dans le PDP soit propres à ces données, mais il n'entre pas dans le cadre du présent rapport de mener une enquête pour savoir si c'est également le cas dans d'autres sondages politiques comme l'Étude électorale canadienne. La différence dans la propension à répondre « Je ne sais pas » entre les minorités visibles et les autres Canadiens est plus limitée. Par conséquent, nous limitons la présente section du rapport aux analyses relatives aux jeunes.

note 12 Parce que la méthode de suppression fondée sur la liste est utilisée.

note 13 D'autres méthodes peuvent être utilisées pour effectuer des analyses à variables multiples qui permettent d'englober les répondants qui fournissent des non-réponses, comme l'imputation des moyennes de l'échantillon aux cas manquants. Nous préférons ne pas avoir recours à de telles méthodes. Les analyses qui suivent révèlent que les répondants qui donnent la réponse « Je ne sais pas » pourraient présenter un profil politique et une propension à voter qui diffèrent, et par conséquent, nous devrions traiter leurs données manquantes comme telles plutôt que de tenter de leur imputer une réponse qu'ils n'ont pas fournie. Nous reconnaissons toutefois qu'une telle décision méthodologique peut faire l'objet de débats dans le domaine et qu'en définitive, d'autres analyses devraient être effectuées pour mieux comprendre la signification de ces non-réponses et les types de répercussions que pourrait avoir l'utilisation de diverses méthodes de traitement des données manquantes sur les résultats de nos déductions.

note 14 Il y a encore de nombreux cas manquants en raison de la question sur le revenu du ménage.

note 15 D'autres éléments ont été testés pour assurer que le lien était effectivement linéaire. Chez les membres d'une minorité visible, nous avons également observé qu'une plus grande propension à fournir des réponses « Je l'ignore » est associée à une probabilité plus grande d'être un abstentionniste récurrent (résultats non présentés).