Inspire Democracy Logo
Site Menu

New Analysis of the 2015 National Youth Survey

Elections Canada commissioned the Centre for the Study of Democratic Citizenship to further analyze the data from the 2015 National Youth Survey. The result is five research papers by graduate students and young academics from McGill University, l'Université de Montréal and l'Université du Québec à Montréal.

The National Youth Election Survey Report: A Subgroup Analysis of Political and Civic Participation among Canadian Youth
Filip Kostelka and Colin Scott

This report looks at the state of Canadian youth involvement in political and civic life. What factors explain the lower voting rate of youth? Do youth differ from older adults in other forms of political and civic participation? How equal is participation among various youth subgroups? The authors take a closer look at unemployed youth, youth living in rural areas and Aboriginal youth, and the factors that may account for variations in participation.

I Don't Want To or Is It Too Difficult? The Impact of Motivational and Access Factors on Youth Turnout in the 2015 Canadian Election
Jean-François Daoust and Fernando Feitosa

Which factors have the greatest impact on youth turnout? The authors look for relationships between socio-demographic characteristics and youth opinions on 11 motivational factors and six access factors, then between those motivational/access factors and turnout. They determine that the ease of getting to the voting location and the sense of civic duty were the most important predictors of youth turnout in the 2015 Canadian federal election and offer recommendations on what should be done to foster youth turnout in the next elections

The Social and Civic Sources of Voting and Participation
Philippe Duguay and Allison Harell

The people we interact with, especially those in our immediate social network such as friends and family, can be important influences on what we think about and how we engage in politics. This report focuses on the social and civic sources of electoral engagement, with an emphasis on factors in the family, in broader social networks and in the classroom. The analysis suggests that the most effective interventions will focus not just on the individual, but on the social environments in which one finds oneself.

The Electoral Participation of Diverse Canadian Youth in the 2015 Federal Election
Valérie-Anne Mahéo and Sara Vissers

How do groups of Canadian youth differ in terms of their socio-demographic background, their social experiences and their political participation, and how do these factors help explain their electoral participation? The report compares Aboriginal youth to non-Aboriginal youth, visible minority youth to youth who are not members of a visible minority group, youth living in urban areas to youth living in rural areas, youth who are employed to youth who are unemployed and students, and finally youth with disabilities to youth who do not have a disability.

Youth participation and cynicism during the Canadian federal election of 2015
Ioana Alexandra Manoliu and Katherine V. R. Sullivan

Some have pointed to the potential importance of a “culture of cynicism” in our contemporary democratic societies. This report aims to shed light on both the predictors and the consequences of political cynicism on youth participation in Canada. Cynicism is assessed using four questions: a measure of trust in the government, “I do not think government cares much about what people like me think”; a measure of trust in political parties, “All federal parties are the same”; and two scales from 0 to 100 rating how respondents feel about politicians in general and political parties.

Inspirer la démocratie
Menu du site

Nouvelles analyses de l'Enquête nationale auprès des jeunes 2015

Élections Canada a demandé au Centre pour l'étude de la citoyenneté démocratique d'approfondir l'analyse des données recueilpes dans le cadre de l'Enquête nationale auprès des jeunes 2015. Il en a résulté cinq documents de recherche produits par des étudiants de cycle supérieur et de jeunes universitaires de l'Université McGill, de l'Université de Montréal et l'Université du Québec à Montréal.

Rapport sur l'Enquête nationale auprès des jeunes : Analyse de la participation poptique et civique de sous-groupes de jeunes Canadiens
Filip Kostelka et Colin Scott

Ce rapport examine l'état de la participation des jeunes Canadiens à la vie politique et civique. Quels sont les facteurs qui expliquent le faible taux de vote chez les jeunes? Les jeunes se distinguent‑ils des adultes plus âgés dans d'autres formes de participation politique et civique? La participation est‑elle la même pour différents sous-groupes de jeunes? Les auteurs examinent plus particulièrement les jeunes sans emploi, les jeunes vivant en milieu rural et les jeunes Autochtones, ainsi que les facteurs qui pourraient expliquer les écarts relativement à la participation.

Je ne veux pas, ou est-ce trop difficile? L'incidence des facteurs pés à la motivation et à l'accès sur la participation des jeunes à l'élection canadienne de 2015
Jean-François Daoust et Fernando Feitosa

Quels sont les facteurs qui ont la plus grande incidence sur la participation des jeunes? Les auteurs examinent les liens entre des caractéristiques sociodémographiques et les opinions des jeunes concernant 11 facteurs liés à la motivation et 6 facteurs liés à l'accès, ainsi que les liens entre ces facteurs (motivation et accès) et la participation. Ils constatent que la facilité d'accès au bureau de vote et le sens du devoir civique sont les variables explicatives les plus importantes de la participation des jeunes à l'élection générale canadienne de 2015. Ils recommandent également des mesures à prendre pour favoriser la participation des jeunes aux prochaines élections.

Sources sociales et civiques de la participation électorale et non électorale
Philippe Duguay et Allison Harell

Les personnes avec lesquelles nous interagissons, surtout celles qui font partie de notre réseau social immédiat, comme les amis et les membres de la famille, peuvent influer grandement sur ce que nous pensons et sur notre façon de participer à la politique. Ce rapport traite des sources sociales et civiques de la participation, mettant l'accent sur les facteurs liés à la famille, aux réseaux sociaux plus vastes et au milieu scolaire. Selon l'analyse, les interventions les plus efficaces sont celles qui visent non seulement la personne, mais aussi les environnements sociaux dans lesquels elle évolue.

Participation électorale de divers groupes de jeunes Canadiens à l'élection fédérale de 2015
Valérie Anne Mahéo et Sara Vissers

En quoi différents groupes de jeunes Canadiens se distinguent‑ils en ce qui a trait à leur situation sociodémographique, leurs expériences sociales et leur participation politique, et comment ces facteurs contribuent‑ils à expliquer leur participation électorale? Le rapport compare les jeunes Autochtones et les non‑Autochtones, les jeunes appartenant à une minorité visible et ceux qui ne font pas partie d'un tel groupe, les jeunes vivant en milieu urbain et ceux vivant en milieu rural, les jeunes ayant un emploi et ceux sans emploi ou aux études et, enfin, les jeunes handicapés et ceux qui n'ont pas de handicap.

Participation des jeunes à l'élection fédérale canadienne de 2015 et leur cynisme
Ioana Alexandra Manoliu et Katherine V. R. Sullivan

D'aucuns ont déjà souligné l'importance potentielle d'une « culture du cynisme » dans nos sociétés démocratiques contemporaines. Ce rapport vise à faire la lumière sur les variables explicatives et les conséquences du cynisme politique sur la participation des jeunes au Canada. Le cynisme est évalué à l'aide de quatre questions : une mesure de la confiance à l'égard du gouvernement, « Je ne pense pas que le gouvernement se soucie de ce que pensent les gens comme moi »; une mesure de la confiance à l'égard des partis politiques, « Tous les partis politiques sont du pareil au même »; et deux échelles de 0 à 100 sur la façon dont les répondants perçoivent les politiciens en général et les partis politiques.